We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a Hotel - more a boarding house”
Review of Hotel Velsen

Hotel Velsen
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Velsen
Ranked #4 of 4 Ijmuiden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2013

So sparse are the facilities at this establishment it is not realistic to call it a hotel.
On the downside it has quite narrow steep stairs = difficult if you have baggage.
Some corridors are windowless & have no lighting - not good
The rooms are small to very small with nowhere to put things. The bathroom was tiny with even less room to put things.
The beds were very narrow and the mattress & bed had a poor relationship with the mattress = trying to get off the bed - with me on it.
The place is noisy being near the road and over a Greek Restaurant which seemed to remain open for hours & hours, the 'musak' penetrated the walls not helping sleep.
There was no restaurant but there was breakfast although it was a bit meagre.
There has to be an upside surely?
Yep the shower was very good.
2 stars is a bit much and the asking price a bit high for a boarding house.

Room Tip: I have no ideas on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swampy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

I nearly didn't get there... I was up the stairs and at reception literally a minute before reception closed, at 10pm. Of course, when I fished my phone out of my bag I had two voicemails asking if I needed more time, and reminding me that I was a wee bit late! I got helped up the stairs, shown around, and presented with one of the receptionist's private stash of cold drinks - I looked pretty flustered...
The room and bedroom were tiny, but bright, clean and and warm - the bathroom had a heated floor, and of course, there was free wifi. The bed was super comfy.
Yes, it's two star. Yes, there's cold stuff for breakfast only, yes there are shabby edges here and there if you look hard enough - but 5 stars is what this 2 star hotel gets, purely because of the friendliness, value for money and central location.
I shall definitely return, should I find myself in IJmuiden again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Very nice athmosphere, cosy rooms, lots of stairs but a fantastic elevator!
Also you get the friendliest welcome and tasty breakfast!
Very nice surroundings, free wifi, free public parking outside!
A very nice town ti walk around!
A greek restaurant right next to te hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank levonibranyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Low budget, no frills hotel.
Clean and tidy with friendly staff.
Limited breakfast, rooms small, shower temperature completely random.
If you are only looking for somewhere cheap and clean to sleep, then look no further.
Rooms 3 and 4 on the first floor are subject to noise from the tv/Breakfast room along with noise everytime any other guests go up or down the stairs.
Several restaurants and fast food outlets within a few minutes walk so no need to go hungry.
You get what you pay for, I would say this hotel is value for money, but you may prefer to pay more and get something more comfortable - your choice.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 are noisy. Room 3 has restricted headroom due to a sloped roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dugswab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Сергей И
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 228Svetlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Geen idee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ijmuiden hotels
1.9 mi away
Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof
Hotel Prinsenhof
#3 of 3 in Ijmuiden
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ijmuiden
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#2 of 4 in Ijmuiden
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rauw aan de Kade
Hotel Rauw aan de Kade
#1 of 4 in Ijmuiden
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Velsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Velsen

Address: Kennemerlaan 118, 1972 ES Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Ijmuiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ijmuiden
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Velsen 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Velsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing