We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY expensive breakfast - rude front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“VERY expensive breakfast - rude front desk staff”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As an IHG Platinum card holder and after staying in this hotel for min. 25 - 30 times during the past 10 -12 years (on business, working for a big ferry operator). I was chocked when I had to pay EUR 20 pr. person (for my wife and me) for a VERY ordinary breakfast in a warm and "stuffed" hotel restaurant.

The previous night I paid EUR 5 pr. person for the very same breakfast!

When I tried to address the unfriendly front desk Lady about the price difference she said "that's the price for everybody" and then she refused to give me the name of the manager on duty and his / her E-mail address. Then I actually read the "Manger on duty's" name on a board behind the reception. I did ask her to please call the man, she went into a room behind the reception, she ask me to wait but he never showed up. I left after 8 minutes waiting.

I'm VERY disappointed

Room Tip: Make sure about the price for breakfast BEFORE you book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear scibb,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am concerned to read that your experience was not what you expected. I apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of service and deeply regret that you found our breakfast rates to be expensive. We always strive to deliver world class service to our elite members and I am truly sorry for falling short on our regular standards on this occasion.

As a Platinum member, your patronage is very important to our hotel. As such, your comments will be shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    194
    115
    31
    18
See reviews for
84
213
14
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel during a recent trip to Amsterdam. Not bad, but next time I will definitely stay at a hotel that's closer to the city. WiFi is fast but expensive. Good overall, it served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ademlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarten_M188596, General Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear sir, madam,

Many thanks for your stay and feedback yoy left on Tripadvisor. We will share your positive comments and points for improvement with our management team and staff.

We hope to see you soon again in the Holiday Inn IJmuiden Seaport Beach.

Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Pro: Location, location, location. Not only is this hotel close to the beach, but also right next to the mouth of the North Sea Channel linking Amsterdam with the sea. Amidst a huge dunes park. Restaurants and pubs close by, to mention is Het Zandhuis with a good atmosphere and a great barman. Back to the hotel: clean facilities, somewhat dated but okay. Staff friendly and helpful, especially Annemiek at the front desk.
Con: no pool, only a minigym, sauna and steam bath.
Conclusion: great for a week(end) at the beach, also has conference and meeting facilities

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Langex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarten_M188596, General Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear sir, madam,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the Holiday Inn IJmuiden Seaport Beach Hotel. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and good location just next to the beach.

Hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

One of the best hotels i have stayed in recently. The rooms are spacious, modern and very clean. The bathrooms however are a little old, but this was not an issue for me.
The staff was great and friendly. Had breakfast and it had a lot of variety and was delicious.
The location is great, by the habour and close to the beach. Enjoyed walking around and i was really glad that it was away from the busy places.
Didn't understand why it was so expensive for the parking though...
I would go back there soon just for the peace and quiet.
Enjoyed my stay very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the habour and with a balcony. Very beautiful view of the sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarten_M188596, General Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear madam,

Many thanks for the time that you have taken to share your experiences in our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that have had a wonderful stay.
Unfortunately the parking is not from the hotel and therefor there is a charge of € 8. On the other hand, at many beach locations the cost of parking is even higher.

Once again, many thanks for your positive feedback and we are looking forward meeting you again in the Holiday Inn IJmuiden Seaport Beach.

Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed here for one night before we caught the DFDS ferry to Newcastle. The hotel is located right on the seafront to the West of Amsterdam. If you know where you are going, it's 10-15 minutes drive from the city centre, but driving from Hamburg, we bypassed the centre and took the highway the whole way to Ijmuiden and the coast.

I wouldn't say that this would be an ideal location for those only intending to visit the centre of Amsterdam, but for anyone wanting to explore the surrounding location and for those, like us, who are taking the DFDS ferry to the UK, it's perfect. The ferry terminal is literally five minutes round the corner and you can see the ferries departing and arriving from the hotel.

Our room was great, plenty of space, modern design with light wood and lime green/chocolate soft furnishings. Everything was clean, the bathroom was OK and the bed was very comfortable.

We headed down to the bar for a few beers - very nice space, sunny, great view over the marina and good draught heineken. We ordered room service later, at around midnight and it was dreadful - two microwaved soggy bapao and a 'sandwich' which consisted of two dry slice of bread slapped together round a hard slice of cheese. Absolutely disgraceful.

Breakfast the next morning was very busy and we paid an extra EUR 15 for a late 4pm checkout which was brilliant as our ferry was at 5:30pm. We were charged EUR 8 for parking and EUR 8 for internet. Both charges are excessive given the remote location of the hotel and the lack of any alternative options.

Pros:
Spacious, clean rooms
Friendly staff
Excellent bar area
Handy location for the ferry terminal
Great late check out options

Cons:
Expensive parking
Expensive Wi-Fi
Disgraceful - and expensive - late night room service - if you can't offer something properly 24 hours then don't bother
The towels in the bathroom need renewing, they are old and thin.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We arrived a little early so room was not ready.
Spent two very enjoyable hours in bar where food and drink was of good quality and reasonably priced.
Young lady who checked us in could not have been more helpful and the same can only be said when she and a colleague checked us out this morning.
The young lady working in the bar was there both days and she was delightful along with the young man yesterday (Saturday) evening.
It is not hard to see why there is such a culture of excellent customer service - the Duty Manager (Stephan Punt) worked tirelessly, effortlessly and with sheer professionalism in every department it seemed - his sheer enthusiasm obviously driving all the staff. The way he worked and ran the breakfast room was brilliant and this buffet was more than adequate.
The rooms were immaculate and clean - in the style of Ikea. We especially liked the headboards on the beds (which were very comfortable) and the great working tables.
My only gripe would be the bathroom - rather dated and the base of bath quite slippery when the shower was running and the liquid soap mixed with the water.
All that said, would return at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarten_M188596, General Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear sir, madam,

What a delight to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
I’m very happy to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations!. I will pass on your compliments about our dutymanager and our restaurantemployees to my team!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to the Holiday Inn IJmuiden Seaport Beach in the near future!

Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for a few nights in March and had a disappointing experience on very basic things: no hot water on two out of three days (they obviously had some technical problems in some rooms), no shampoo, telephone in the room not functioning, no minibar, while reception reaction on complaints was poor. Room was decent and clean, bathroom small and rather dated, restaurant was furbished nicely and food quality was good. Location is next to the beach, but it is rather isolated, no attrations around it and the city center is few kilometers away, the walk there being through an industrial setting.

Room Tip: I had a room with a view towards the back, I'd recommend the part facing the marina, although th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Mihaela2,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ijmuiden
5.2 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
1,211 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Zeeduin
1.3 mi away
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ijmuiden
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Strandhotel Het Hoge Duin
Strandhotel Het Hoge Duin
#2 of 4 in Wijk aan Zee
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
PUUR ZEE Hotel Villa de Klughte
3.1 mi away
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
#1 of 3 in Santpoort-Noord
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach

Property: Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach
Address: Kennemerboulevard 250, 1976 EG Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Ijmuiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach is just 150 meters away from the beach and is surrounded by the Kennemermeer and the harbor. The hotel has its own sauna and steam cabine, which can be used free of charge. Restaurant Beaufort offer local fish and meat specialties and is opened for both breakfast and dinner. After dinner our guests can enjoy a drink at the fire place. The hotel has a good location, close to Amsterdam city centre which you will reach in only 25 minutes. Within 15 minutes you will reach Haarlem and Schiphol Airport is only 20 km away. Dogs are allowed (upon request) in the entire hotel. Also the beach welcomes them throughout the entire year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach Hotel Ijmuiden
Ijmuiden Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing