We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite rooms and fabulous restaurant”
Review of Augusta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Augusta Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exquisite rooms and fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have stayed here on many occasions over the last 5 years and it never fails to delight.
Incredibly friendly but unintrusive owners, beautiful decor that compliments the art deco architecture, and superb dining experience.
Highly recommend it and try the small turn of the century theatre around the corner whilst you're here if you're lucky enough for a performance to be on

Room Tip: Choose number 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68proguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
30
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed with a group of 9 persons for 2 days.
The ambiance is art deco and enspires for a good break of normal bussy life.
The pesonnel is very friendly and the service is giving you the feeling that you are the valuable guest.
In the less impressing IJmuiden port area this is an unexpected surprise.
I recommend this for at least one dinner and an overstay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed for a week. I had room 5, which is quite small. Just as well it was just me. But one day, in a fit of nosiness, I peered into a room that was open while the cleaners were in. Palatial, tasteful, beautifully decorated. This is a real hotel, where each room is different. It's not your cookie cutter type chain, and that was refreshing.

Apart from the rooms, the service was fantastic. I arrived late afternoon and they made me up a sandwich as soon as they heard my stomach rumble. They are friendly and very helpful, and no exactly how to make your stay a good one.

Breakfast, always the seller for me, was excellent. There was no menu on the table, instead you just told them what you would like. I always opted for the Dutch breakfast, a feast of bread, cheese, yogurt, eggs, cold cuts.....this is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Hotel Augusta is part antique shop, part modern facilities. Tucked away in a housing estate its public areas are circa 1920s but up-market 20s-style. Beware of steep stairs to the bedrooms (and no lifts). Dining room obviously appeals to non-residents in the locality as generally very busy but for the casual or business traveller the menus are rather pretentious, pseudo gourmet selection. Breakfast a strange experience and (aged) waiting staff a bit weird.

Room Tip: No views to be had so request ground floor or 1st floor due to tortuous stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sc0ttishExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A wonderful stylish hotel. Comfortable and wonderful interior with art-deco furniture.
As if you are back in time and beiing able to spent time in a luxurious hotel.
And the restaurant is fantastic! Great food and service!

Room Tip: And the restaurant is fantastic! The theater in the street behind the hotel and restaurant is art-de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jozefa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flensburg
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Very charming building with very good atmosphere. I love the librabry with the fireplace where you can enjoy a glass of wine before dinner! The Restaurant is very good - high quality food! The staff is very friendly and the rooms are also really nice. I have stayed in several hotels in the area around Ijmuiden/Haarlem and this is definately the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Small, quaint, modern, deco vintage and charming. Service was personal and warm, room was beautiful, comfy beds and very spacious bathroom with nice toiletries. You do hear the seagulls from a very early hour so you may wish to bring earplugs :-)
Breakfast room very decadent and the continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful. We did not eat at restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchcatBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ijmuiden
1.3 mi away
Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach
2.4 mi away
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
#1 of 3 in Santpoort-Noord
571 reviews
2.2 mi away
Strandhotel Het Hoge Duin
Strandhotel Het Hoge Duin
#2 of 4 in Wijk aan Zee
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
1,211 reviews
2.0 mi away
PUUR ZEE Hotel Villa de Klughte
2.5 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Zeeduin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Hotel

Property: Augusta Hotel
Address: Oranjestraat 98, 1975 DD Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Ijmuiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Augusta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing