We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome!”
Review of De Zonnehoed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Zonnehoed
Ranked #3 of 3 Lisse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and I had read all the reviews and we were not disappointed. What a fantastic welcome. The breakfast was excellent and the location is lovely. We were able to hire bikes for the day on order to cycle around the area and visit the Keukenhof. We hope to return !

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

I have always wanted to stay in De Zonnehoed ever since I chanced upon it in Tripadvisor a year ago, after I returned from my first visit to Keukenhof Gardens in April 2012. I last stayed in a hostel in Amsterdam and decided that should I return, I want to stay in the countryside instead, where I can see the windmills, vast fields and cattle farms. So when my fiance and I decided to do our bridal photoshoot in Holland, we grabbed the chance and booked De Zonnehoed without further hesitation as we would be going to Keukenhof Gardens and tulip fields too and it was in an ideal location (just a 10 min short drive away).

Boy we were more than impressed. We were greeted by Martien, a friendly old gentleman, who drove to the bus stop to pick us up as there was no direct means of public transportation to the B&B and helped us with our luggage. Prior to our arrival, instructions on how to take the bus was communicated via email (though there was a typo in the bus number which we simply sorted out at the tourist information office at Schipol Airport). We booked a double room with en-suite toilets for 3 nights, and the room was very cozy, spacious and clean that was nicely tidied for us every day.The facilities were excellent, though we had some issues with the heater that didn't seem to work at night when it was particularly cold (it did work in the mornings though). Martien checked but found no problem, so we resorted to hiding ourselves in the thick duvet covers as much as possible instead. Because the house is located in a rather unpopulated area surrounded by fields, the winds were really strong and we could even hear the slight rattle of the roof boards in our room, but that didn't bother us very much. My fiance and I walked to the town centre of Sassenheim for dinner on the first day, which took us about 30 mins, as we didn't rent a car and the bikes were too big for us (yes we are quite petite Asians). Shopping and dining choices were quite varied and it was nice to interact with the locals without the usual crowd of tourists (which we encountered in Amsterdam last time). But we made a mistake of returning rather late one night, around 9pm, as there were no street lights along the road leading up to De Zonnehoed, and though it was not completely dark yet, it was pretty eerie and the winds were literally sweeping us off our feet!

Trees and Martien were wonderful hosts who attended to our every need during our stay. Breakfast was sumptuous and the view from the window was awesome. We got to mingle with fellow guests at the breakfast table and that made for a very nice morning chat. I had to wake up at 5am on the second day for my makeup artist to start on my makeup for the photoshoot, and initially Martien was reluctant to allow her to do it in our room as it was in close proximity to the other guests and he worried that it would be noisy. In the end, he allowed us to use a private room downstairs instead and even woke up at 4.45am to open the door for the makeup artist, and even made us breakfast and tea. That spoke so much of his willingness to go the extra mile for his guests. Trees was also kind enough to let us pose at the swing and with her pet sheep when our photographer thought it would be a nice location to do so. The sheep were really cute and we even got to feed it some bread in order to get them closer to us.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone for the wonderful hospitality and the opportunity to experience a quiet time away from the hustle and bustle of life in a place you can almost call home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank applie_bleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in April 2012 and chose it for its proximity to the Keukenhof Gardens. The hosts were charming and attentive and most helpful with local information, eating places and so on. The room we had has was en-suite, fully equipped and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, served at a table with a picture window looking across the fields to Sassenheim (the nearest town). We had 4 or 5 sorts of bread and rolls, served warm, muesli, cheese, ham, fresh fruit, yogurt, and excellent jam which tasted homemade!

I would happily stay here again and reccomend it to anyone looking for quality accommodation near Lisse

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms; one is totally en suite, the other has private facilities but they are on the lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at De Zonnehoed for three days last spring and were delighted with the room, the food, and the hosts. The location is about a 10 minute drive from Keukenhof Gardens which are the major spring attraction in the area. It was pretty close to the North Sea beaches (we spent a day at Katwijk --- about a half hour drive) and seems to be convenient to everything in central Netherlands.
The house was quite isolated and quiet, set in the middle of fields, near a canal. The only sounds were from the two sheep adjacent to the house and they were quiet at night. A walking/biking path goes right by the house and there were many bicyclists during the day. The surroundings were beautiful, peaceful, and rural with a windmill a few hundred meters away (along the path). It was a great place for walking and biking.
We stayed in the separate small house in the garden. It had a comfortable bed and other beds in a loft that we did not use. It was very nicely furnished and decorated and had a small kitchen, a dining area, a couch, and some chairs in addition to the bed. The bathroom was modern and well kept up.
The walls were decorated with lovely photographs of the surroundings and of flowers. The host is a photographer and took the pictures which were wonderful. The small garden was beautiful and well tended and almost certainly the source of the flowers in the photographs.
Each morning we were brought a generous, excellent breakfast which we ate in the dining area of the separate house.
Most of our contact was with Martien Vinkestein (we met his wife Trees). He was very friendly and helpful.
On the whole we had an excellent stay and would highly recommend De Zonnehoed. We were very surprised to find that only two Tripadvisor members had stayed there and review it. We would have thought that it would have attracted crowds.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jlightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I don't normally like B&Bs, but De Zonnehoed was fantastic: I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam or the Netherlands. I chose it specifically for its ideal location amid flower fields (3 miles from Keukenhof), but I'd happily return even after the blossom season. De Zonnehoed is spotlessly clean, with luxory hotel standards -- right down to the plush bathrobes & heated towel rack. The decor is bright & clean, and, although the proprietors are available whenever required, the rooms are well separated from their living quarters.

THE ROOMS
We stayed in the least expensive room: €75 per night, including a feast of a breakfast; it was a bargain. Every room in De Zonnehoed has a private bathroom, but ours was not en-sute: the toilet & shower were in 2 separate rooms, just outside the bedroom. I preferred this arrangement as it offered more privacy and our room felt large.

The bedroom was well equipped, with TV and coffee-making facilities (machine can be used for tea if you bring your own tea bags). It had ample closet space, a large desk, & lovely views of the countryside (see photos). We were too busy enjoying the surroundings to use the TV, but it had several English channels: 1 or 2 movie-ish stations, MTV, Animal Planet, BBC Prime, BBC World, CNN, & about 2 or 3 other English channels, one of which was like BBC 4, except the English shows had Dutch narrators and sometimes aired Dutch shows.

AREA:
De Zonnehoed is located between two charming towns (Sassenheim & Lisse), & Amsterdam is an easy day trip away (takes 40-50 mins. by bus & train). We spent one afternoon walking around the old areas of Amsterdam, and can say for sure we made the better choice to stay outside the city. The weather when we visited was mostly cold & rainy, but we still took several enchanting bike rides in the surrounding countryside, with its lovely windmills & streams (and flower fields galore!). Bicycles can be rented for €7.50 per day, and there are many dedicated bike roads, separated from car roads, in the area. The proprietor helpfully drove us to the bike shop when were arrived. Sassenheim contains the ruins of Castle Teyligen, dating from the 13th century.

FOOD:
The hearty & delicious breakfast provided (at whatever time you request) included a large selection of bread & rolls, cheese, ham & salami, 2 choices of cerial with yogert, and an egg cooked to order; plus fresh-squeezed orange juice, and truly scrumptious tea or coffee.

For dinner, you can get pizza delivered: we found "New York Pizza" online (www.NewYorkPizza.nl, or tel 0900-0102) & got a very good large pizza for €11.50 (they also have a great selection of pasta, meat, salads, wine, etc). If you want to eat out, there are many options in Sassenheim, which is an easy 5-10 minute bike ride away. You could also eat out in Lisse, though we didn't try there. There is a well-stocked grocery store in Sassenheim, where we picked up snacks and tea.

POSSIBLE DISADVANTAGES:
We found this B&B perfect, but it's worth noting 3 small issues that some people may dislike.
1. The 2 guest rooms in the main building would not suit someone with mobility problems. These two rooms are at the top of very steep stairs, which would be impossible to climb if you have trouble moving. However they have more room in a separate building, the private apartment, which is more accessible on the ground floor.
2. The room we stayed in had twin beds (super comfortable, but twin nonetheless). My husband solved this issue by simply moving the comfy matresses to the floor, where they wouldn't slide apart, and we slept soundly.
3. The bathrobes & towels provided == though good quality -- are not overly large. We didn't have any problem with this, but if you like getting lost in your hotel towel you'll be disappointed.

All said, our stay at De Zonnehoed was the perfect, relaxing & romantic getaway. It felt like we discovered a secret gem, in the ideal location, and we're already planning a return visit. Feel free to contact me if you need more information or specific directions.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MissDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: le studio offre une indépendance totale avec possibilité de manger froid (frigo et vaisselle à dispo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrapagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisse hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel De Duif
Hotel De Duif
#1 of 2 in Lisse
188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal
2.2 mi away
Bed & Breakfast De Vier Seizoenen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
De Engel - Restaurant-Hotel-Cafe-Business &Events
2.3 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Madeleine
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zonnehoed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zonnehoed

Address: 3e Poellaan 76, 2161 DN Lisse, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Lisse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lisse
Price Range: £71 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your De Zonnehoed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing