We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food Clean but tired rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lisse
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food Clean but tired rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights as a base for visiting Keukenhof and Amsterdam. Hotel staff helpful and pleasant. Room a bit tired and reasonably clean but stains on carpet put my wife off. Room comfortable. Had dinner - excellent food cooked before your eyes. Wonderful food but a bit expensive, suppose you can't have it both ways. Good base but only average score. Possibly in need of a refit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    45
    42
    17
    20
See reviews for
29
55
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed in this hotel for two nights. I had a mixed experience.

Location wise, Hotel is in a small town (rather village) of Lisse. This means very limited public transport access. And by car, about 30 plus kilometers from Amsterdam center. If one intends to visit, Keukenhof, this would be the best choice one can make.

Ambiance wise, rooms are spacious and hotel is well constructed. It has in-house restaurant and other options are limited to a McDonalds at about 500m. On positive side, this McD opens till late mid night.

Hotel provides free parking. This is a big positive.

Staff is okay but one girl was rude. I asked help as I could not connect to WiFi but she plainly said "I provided WiFi name and password. I cannot help further". There was another incident as well -:)

Overall, I will not choose as my first option but may stay if I do not find anything else.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank punitworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel to visit Keukenhof, and the location is unbeatable for that purpose, as the park is within walking distance from the hotel (along a narrow road). My room was large, but nothing special. The room was clean and in good condition, but otherwise unremarkable. The hotel has lots of little vending machines, and a good-sized parking lot, which are both nice amenities, and is also within walking distance of downtown Lisse.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cHris78654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stay in this hotel on a regular basis due to work obligations but it would not be my personal choice. Rooms are clean but small. I always book a twin room as I have to share the room with a colleage. Lately on too many occasions we found that they booked us into a double room with mostly being told that they don't have any single rooms available anymore. If you are situated in the back rooms of the hotel you can not make use of the free WiFi as the router is set in the reception area. Too bad. Breakfast buffet at €12,50 doesn't break the bank but is not great either. It's just disappointing that in the 5 yrs I come here I noticed a downfall in service levels. But if you are into flower bulbs you couldn't choose a better location as you are in the middle of it! Nearby attraction is the Keukenhof which is open from begin April to end May.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPlants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Located 2 minutes away from the amazing Keukenhof Gardens and 5 minutes away from Bulb fields. Used by many tour companies, tour buses brought overnight guests pretty regularly. The room was spacious and efficient. Not much for decoration or style but clean and a comfortable bed. Two restaurants, reasonable prices and good food. Free internet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaliB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Ideally placed for visiting Keukenhoff and cycling around bulb fields. A very average-type hotel with large room and good bathroom. Early check out at 10:00. Breakfast excessively priced at E12 per person and, as we were rushed to check out at 10 and breakfast finished at 10, we were told as soon as we entered the dining room to take whatever we wanted straight away because all was being cleared away now! However, there was not much left to have!! Rubber eggs, a little cornflakes and some tea - for E12! Disappointing as we had had an excellent dinner the night before with excellent attentive service from the maitre d'. Reception staff v. helpful with storing luggage.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 955maryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisse
0.9 mi away
Hotel De Duif
Hotel De Duif
#1 of 2 in Lisse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.1 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
De Rustende Jager
De Rustende Jager
#1 of 1 in Nieuw-Vennep
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#1 of 1 in Kaag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal

Property: Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal
Address: Heereweg 10, 2161 AG Lisse, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Lisse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lisse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal is situated between Amsterdam and The Hague, in the centre of the bulbregion, next to Keukenhof. It's only a short distance from the beach and the sea, lakes and dunes and fascinating cities such as Amsterdam and The Hague. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the highway and 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. The hotel is an ideal starting point to go shopping or enjoy a cultural visit to one of the historical cities as Haarlem and Leiden. And our restaurant is outstanding and well known for his chef kok Chris Jager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing