We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Rustende Jager(Nieuw-Vennep)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst(Noordwijkerhout)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$97
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Van der Valk Hotel Sassenheim-Leiden(Sassenheim)(Great Value!)
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de Koningshof Noordwijk(Noordwijk)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$123
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
29
59
49
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
59
49
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbulb fieldstulip seasonkeukenhof gardenstulip fieldsample spacethe busplace to staywould definitely stay here againrooms are smallamsterdam central stationflower bulbsshort distancecar parkpublic transportthe hotel offersschiphol airporthot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

On December 12, 2013 (!!) we booked two rooms at the front on the floor above (US second floor, UK first floor), and received a confirmation, for our 90 yo uncle who was specially coming from sunny South California to see the yearly Flower Parade on May 3rd, 2014, as this was the only hotel on the route.

When we arrived we were given different rooms, one above facing the backside with no view of the parade, another op the ground floor at the end of the corridor. When I protested I was told they had (repeatedly) changed the booking (without consulting us first), the rooms we had booked had been given to other guests who had arrived one day earlier.
The nice receptionist couldn't do anything for us, at the end gave our uncle a front room on the ground floor. On that day although sunny there was a blustery cold wind with temperatures of just 10˚ C (50˚ F) which made it impossible for him to see the Parade on the outside terrace, he retired to his room and due to the bad location wasn't able to see much of the Parade.
When we left we saw they hadn't charged us for that room...

Giving rooms booked 5 months in advance to other guests just like that is really unacceptable, and reflects the cavalier way they treat their customers. I'm done with this place.

A pity though, the superior room was quite OK: clean, large enough, although the standard room was rather small and was dimly lit; the restaurant was quite OK too, the people very friendly, but to us the booking problem outweighs all other considerations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haje1946_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were unfortunate enough to be transferred here by Hotel de Duif due to overbooking. Were informed it was a 4 star hotel and a good location near to Keukenhof. Locationwise took about 20 mins to walk to Keukenhof which was ok but not the best walk down the main road. Hotel is more like a motel. Large sign advertising a casino at main entrance.Appears to be the transit point for Arriva bus drivers as many Arriva vans and drivers in evidence. Situated on a roundabout at the convergence of 3 main roads. Is about 2km from centre of Lisse. No restaurants in immediate vicinity. 2km walk each way into Lisse if you prefer not to eat in restaurant in evening...having sampled the breakfast can't imagine dinner ould be outsatnding!Absolutely nothing near it apart from a car wash and the office headquarters of a flower bulb distributor. Smoking room (with the door wide open) located in entrance corridor so guests are met with a plume of cigarette smoke as soon as they go in. Variable reception staff. some quite pleasant and welcoming...others just carry on their conversation together and ignore the guests who unfortunately are paying to stay there! first room we were allocated was room 146 on ground floor. Dark and dismal. little natural light due to overgrown trees in garden area. Dirty walls, tired stained carpet, dirty cups on crockery tray which were stuck down onto tray, filthy kettle...oh and what looked like blood on the wall! Back to reception and changed rooms. Receptionist a little taken aback that I wished to view the next room that was offered before accepting it! relocated to room 224. cleaner but still tired and dated. Hairs in bath (still there 2 days later) limited toiletries of very cheap quality. Clean sheets but no mattress covers...sheet directly on mattress. Noisy room because of location at front of hotel and proximity to main road. ok for a couple of nights but definitely not 4 star hotel. Free wifi but drops on anyhting above ground floor.and so to breakfast........costs 12.50euro each. have posted photos to show quality of food...get there early as limited replenishment. restaurant dirty...food debris all over tables and on floor. No meet and greet...find your own table and then try to find some breakfast. coffee already made in vacuum pots. waiter not interested in clearing tables...more content to read paper by bar. small selection of cereals. fruit salad consisted of pineapple and melon only. doughnuts and waffles cut into tiny pieces. one lone mini muffin on a plate. dirty crockery etc etc. I suggest the photos speak for themselves. In short the place is a dump...why anyone would choose to stay here baffles me. its supposed to be the 2nd rated hotel in Lisse...but then there are only 2! best thing about staying here was its convenience for the airport bus stop.

Room Tip: go to another hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place "stunk". Seriously.

First, we followed the large road sign that said Hotel Casino. It took us to the back of the hotel. That was a real eye opener. Not a pretty site. Are people living back there? Once we drove around, we could see that we were supposed to pass the hotel, turn right, and then come in a different entrance. But it wasn't well marked.

As you enter the restaurant, the smoking lounge the first thing you noticed...er..smelled. The door was open to the hotel entryway.

We continued to the check in. Although we had a rollaway bed on our confirmation, the hotel was not aware of it. I showed her our confirmation. She said it would be there in a few hours-when she had time. (She was not rude about it.) On the way to our room, the closest room to the front desk had its door open with men sitting around watching TV. Someone said maybe tour bus drivers. but idk.) There were people "hanging out" there every time we went past. It was just odd. Maybe they could be provided with a conference room or something?

When we got to our room, it seemed dated, but clean enough. The bathroom was kinda gross though. The bathroom had toilet tissue stuffed in the ceiling tile where the tiles were broken in the corner. Tub old. Mirror stained. Missing a few floor tiles.

The hotel booklet in the room was out of date. It said that the indoor pool was closed until further notice, but I'm not sure because some ladies in their bathing suits said they were heading to the pool. The menu prices were definitely dated.

We got settled and asked the front desk for a tourist map of the area. Nope. Didn't have one. Come on. Your a tourist hotel. We went to the patio for a drink. It was pleasant, but three beers for 25 euro. On the ONLY plus side for the hotel, the bartender/waiter, Paul, could not have been nicer or more friendly.

The next morning, we asked front desk where we could get coffee/breakfast at 7am. "She stated she had no idea. She wasn't from around here."

Since it was a Sunday, we had to wait until 8am. We asked the restaurant if we could just get coffee. No. Only the 12.50 euro breakfast. Seriously? (There was instant coffee in the room. But it was decaf only.) The sole waitress in the restaurant was the woman who took down the room number to charge you. Eggs and bacon were put in a metal bowl with foil on top and were cold. Bread was hard. We were charged 12.50 euro. No one asked how every thing was. No one said good morning. No service what-so-ever.

On check out, we were overcharged for the pull out bed, which was noted on our Booking.com print out. She argued with me until I went out to the car and produced it. She said the price was still 25 euro / per night - but took the excess charge off. Once I had my Booking.com print out in hand, I realized the hotel had charged us 25 euro PER NIGHT over our Booking.com agreement. She argued with me about it. I showed her the agreement. Then she lowered the bill half-way, citing that the taxes were incorrect. (about 6 euro total). I looked at her booking sheet and it had the correct amount. They were just overcharging us.

We would NEVER stay here again. It felt as if the owner knows they are losing their lease or something....and is milking the property until he leaves. I just can't believe how poorly managed it was.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfamily01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel so we can be closed to Keukenhof garden which was our main trip to Amsterdam. Rooms are good, bathrooms are clean, TV and internet work very well. The hotel is also closed to tulip fields, we can walk there and take pictures. The restaurant offer great food. Keukenhof was just so amazing ! The best part for us is to rent the bicycles from the hotel and bike around the area, visiting numerous tulip fields. It was so beautiful, best place to see the tulips & spring flowers ! No complaint for the hotel, except the hotel is a bit isolated, it is far from the town of Lisse. We don't have a car so we feel a bit isolated. It would be perfect if hotel offers a shuttle bus to downtown of Lisse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thanh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was in dire need of renovation. The bathroom was not cleaned properly. TV and Internet worked well. A light sleeper would have hated it, because one can hear all the people in the corridor and the cars and people from outside. The staff is grumpy. The price steep for what you get.
The location is very good though and the restaurant had heavenly food and despite being understaffed friendly and fairly efficient service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaPetalingJaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews