We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay but .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Engel - Restaurant-Hotel-Cafe-Business &Events
Ranked #1 of 3 Lisse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed 4th and 5th April as a base for the fields and gardens. The staff are incredibly friendly and although quirky (yes there is carpet on the tables in the bar!) it had a great atmosphere. Unfortunately the rooms are above the bar and function room and on the Saturday evening there was a live band playing that continued until 2.30am. We stayed in room 4 and this room perhaps was the noisiest. If it had not been for this we would have rated 5/5. The attentiveness of the staff made up for this shortfall!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for De Engel - Restaurant-Hotel-Cafe-Business &Events
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

De Engel is a very unassuming building alongside the road near Lisse and Keukenhof gardens. After parking in the restaurant lot, behind the bus stop. I was a little unsure of what to expect However, after wandering into the bar/restaurant, I was greeted by a very friendly woman who kindly checked me in and directed me to the room. Like another reviewer mentioned, the rooms are only accessible by an outdoor staircase, which may prove difficult to manage if you have a lot of luggage. When I arrived at the room, I was very pleasantly surprised. Very modern decor in a clean, seemingly recently renovated room. A good sized bathroom, tea/coffee making supplies, mini fridge, large wardrobe -- all very nice. Only negative was that the bed frame seemed a bit flimsy, but I had a comfortable night sleep. Excellent, friendly staff made my stay that much more pleasant. Would recommend for anyone wanting a simple, yet comfortable, place to stay near Keukenhof. The dinner in the restaurant was great as well! Recommended!

Room Tip: All four rooms are above the restaurant and face the main road, but, it was not noisy at all!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musicman3277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

what a lovely little hotel with only 4 rooms . The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The restaurant was very nice, nicely decorated and modern and the food was really good.
The rooms are above the hotel and accessed by an outside metal staircase which is a bit difficult if you were older or infirm. The hotel is on a main road so if you are not a good sleeper the traffic noise can be annoying.We were there from 24th -27th march 2014 to see the gardens at keukenhof which were beautiful. There is a bus stop across the road that will take you there in approx. 10 mins and the nearby town of lisse is full of lovely shops and restaurants.All in all a lovely time in hotel de engel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livvys4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Restaurant De Engel from the 9th to 12th May 2012.
The reason for staying at this hotel was its close proximity to Keukenhof as we wanted to visit the tulip gardens.
I have to say what a jem there are only 4 rooms above the restaurant. The only downer is you have to go outside and along a narrow passage way, then climb a metal staircase which is quite steep having scaled the staircase you now walk over the roof on decking to the rooms. The whole way is very well lit but would not suit anyone who is not fit as you have to lug your suitcase the whole way.
Our room had a flat screen TV with a wardrobe table and chair the beds were two singles placed together (would have prefered a double). The bathroom had basin ( very modern but no plug) shaver point toilet and full room width shower.
The towels changed daily and beds made.
On the second night we had an evening meal in the restaurant and was very suprised at both the quality and price T Bone steak for 19.50 Euro Round steak (fillet) 17.50 Euro which was cooked to perfection so we went again the following night and had the same again (glad we could only go to the restauant twice as I am sure we would have put on stones).
The staff were all very friendly and could speak English ( sorry no dutch for us) we liked it so much that are going to stay again next year.
The rooms do over look the road and there is traffic noise which could be a problem if you need to have the window open ( it was not an issue for us as we are used to traffic noise).
The lighting in our room could have been much brighter as my wife had to apply her makup in the bathroom which did have good lighting.
You do get Wi Fi FREE and it was a very good service.
Breakast is available which we did have and consisted of sliced bread, rolls, friut rolls, cheese, ham, pork, boiled egg along with a selection of jams tea/coffee and yoghurt.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank michael_rose555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank hhoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisse
1.4 mi away
Hotel De Duif
Hotel De Duif
#2 of 2 in Lisse
186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal
2.9 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Witte Raaf
2.0 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#1 of 1 in Kaag
54 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Engel - Restaurant-Hotel-Cafe-Business &Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Engel - Restaurant-Hotel-Cafe-Business &Events

Address: Heereweg 386, 2161 DG Lisse, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Lisse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lisse
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Engel - Restaurant-Hotel-Cafe-Business &Events 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel; Hotel De Engel boasts 11 comfortable hotel rooms with a modern interior, each with a shower, toilet, television, coffee and tea facilities and WiFi. The ideal point of departure for tourists. Business & Events; Do you have something to celebrate or do you want to have an enjoyable dinner with a large group? De Engel is the right place to enjoy your lunch or dinner together. Call or mail us about your wishes, so that we can help you throw a party you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your De Engel - Restaurant-Hotel-Cafe-Business &Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing