We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic old style hotel in need of renovation”
Review of Hotel De Duif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Duif
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lisse
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel to go to a wedding nearby - it was the only hotel available so we had no choice.
The setting is not good - the reception entrance is tucked away in a side street - and on entering you are taken back to 1970-something - dark colours and a very sobre un-welcoming lounge.
The room had the same style - dark and cold looking.
We were there in October and the heating was not working properly - we were pleased to get up in the morning and have a hot shower (at least the bathroom was good!).
The breakfast was very basic and we seemed to be in the way of the lady supervisor who gave us the impression we were not welcome!
Not one to return to but not easy to forget!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmsterdamNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNoordermeer, Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Neilteddy,

I appreciate you having taken the time to review our hotel.

Sorry to read that your stay did not go as you have expected.

I am sure it was not the intention of my colleague to make you feel you were not welcome during breakfast, I will discuss the matter with her.

Since a couple of months we have a new heating system, which hopefully means the problem of a cold room stays as a thing from the past.

Kind Regards,

Marieke Kleiss – Noordermeer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I must mention, the morning staff at De Duif were helpful, especially Frans, really helpful guy. The hotel is still naff. The staff have no real power over the quality of the hotel, the management/owner need to step up and spend some money. It could be lovely.. But when you have to walk up a dark alley to a neon sign that says "TEL". You start to get a feeling of dread. If you need to complain, don't do it to the staff but email the manager via the website or ask for her at reception. The breakfast was also very cheap fare indeed, or video it and post it. I am getting tired of poor quality, European hotels, if we want a quality stay, we must complain.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teach1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNoordermeer, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Peter B,

Thanks again for writing another review of Hotel de Duif.

I will certainly tell Frans that you've mentioned him in your review, I am sure he'd be happy with your compliment.

I have forwarded your review to the owner.

Despite your statement I am glad that the quality and service of the staff stood out.

Kind Regards,

Marieke Kleiss - Noordermeer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

No airco. Filthy stained curtains, no lift, parking is really bad.. Truly an ocerpriced dump. We booked months in advance, we have a dog. We are put in a room on the 2nd floor. I am here now, it is not good. You have to pay before you see your room. Please, this hotel is shameful.. Oh and the wifi sucks.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teach1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNoordermeer, Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Peter B,

I appreciate you having taken the time to write a review of Hotel de Duif.

Sorry to hear that you have experienced your stay as an overpriced dump.
The rooms are indeed without airconditioning, there is no lift and no private parking, this is mentioned on every bookingsite.

The staff is always at you service to assist you in case of any discomfort.

Kind Regards,

Marieke Kleiss - Noordermeer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night after flying all day then renting our car to drive to Lisse. I picked this hotel for the convenience of being near Keukengof which was perfect as it only took us about 10 mins to make the short walk to one of the entrances. We were able to get a parking spot in the small parking area next to the hotel almost right away and left the car there. The reception staff was friendly and our room was on the first floor near the steps and small and yes it was a little dark, bathroom was a good size but we have been in smaller rooms and managed just fine. It was pretty quiet at night for sleeping the only bothersome thing was the many school kids that just bussed in and would go in and out of the rooms letting the doors slam but once the got late it was pretty quiet. The next day we were heading to Keukenhof and the reception said it was fine to leave our car before we got on the road to our next destination. The only negative was breakfast due to the many kids in the breakfast area we and the rest of the guests were relegated to the conference room for breakfast which was a little disorganized and less desireable, it almost made me want to hurry and eat and be on our way.
The hotel is situated right next to the town, there were several restaurants and shops within in a few steps. We ate at the Italian restaurant around the corner from the hotel which was a little expensive but very good. We also found a Vodaphone whereas the guys there were friendly and very helpful and bought a microsim for our IPad to use the 3g network while on our trip in the Netherlands. If Imake it to Kuekenhof again I most likely would stay here again due to the convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbugdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNoordermeer, Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Travelbugdfw,

I appreciate you having chosen Hotel de Duif for your holidays and you having taken the time to review our hotel.

Hotel de Duif is indeed very central situated in Lisse and a short walk from Keukenhof Gardens.

I do want to apologize for giving you the feeling you had to hurry to eat your breakfast.
It was the first time we had a group of students that size. Thinking our other guests would be more comfortable eating their breakfast quiet in the conference room.
Your review has made us aware of the choice we have made and in the future we will manage this matter differently.

Hopefully you will return to visit us again in the not too distant future for some more holidays in the colourful Bollenstreek.

Kind Regards,

Marieke Noordermeer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for visiting Keukenhof - just a ten minute walk. Also, it's very central for walking to shops and restaurants.
Our room was cosy with a lovely shower and radiator in the bathroom. Just what was needed as the weather was so cold and wet.
Lighting was a little subdued though in our room and with the decor being quite dark it made it a tad gloomy. However, overall the room was clean and well- appointed.
Our two night stay was lovely, despite the weather, and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girlie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNoordermeer, Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Girlie30,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel de Duif and for having taken the time to write a review on our hotel.

Also thank you for the kind comments on our staff service.

I hope that you will return to visit us again in the not too distant future in hopehully a more sunny Lisse.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in the hotel after visiting Keukenhof gardens. Very-very nice place to stay for a couple of days. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and stylish, although quite small, but have everything you need. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oshika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNoordermeer, Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Oshika,

Thank you so much for the review.

I’m pleased to know that you were happy with our accommodation and the style we have used to decorate the rooms.

Also thank you for the kind comments on our staff service.

Hope to see you again sometime in the future in Lisse!

Kind Regards,

Marieke Noordermeer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the senior suite for two nights during our visit to Keukenhof. The room was perfect for our family of five, all kids under 5. Upstairs had a bedroom and bathroom, downstairs was a sofa bed, kitchenette and dining area. The sofa bed is a standard pullout and not necessarily comfortable for and adult but the kids were fine on it, as mentioned by another reviewer. Breakfast was included and was a terrific European style breakfast. The espresso was the best I have had.
It is a very close drive, or walk, to Keukenhof which is a great selling point. It is also very close to several restaurants in the walkplatz, try Il Mulino you will not be disappointed. Parking is available in the local shopping parking area and we had no issues finding a spot. The hotel rooms are a little older and show some signs of wear but nothing major is wrong with the room. I recommend the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giuseppe_Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNoordermeer, Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Figlio di Picerno,

I appreciate you having chosen Hotel de Duif for your holidays and you having taken the time to review our hotel.

It is good to know that you were happy with our accommodation, our breakfast and the espresso.

Hopefully you will return to visit us again in the not too distant future for some more holidays in the Bollenstreek.


Kind Regards,

Marieke Noordermeer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisse
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal
3.5 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Witte Raaf
6.9 mi away
Tulip Inn Leiderdorp
Tulip Inn Leiderdorp
#1 of 2 in Leiderdorp
112 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
#3 of 27 in Noordwijk
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Duif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Duif

Address: Westerdreef 49, 2161 EN Lisse, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Lisse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lisse
Price Range: £42 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Duif 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel De Duif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing