We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont honour bookings- beware!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Duif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Duif
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lisse
liverpool
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Dont honour bookings- beware!!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My sister booked this hotel in January for 2 nights while we visited Keurkenhoff bulb fields. our stay was brief as we were told the hotel was fully booked and we were being transferred by taxi to a 4 star hotel- Nachtergaal nearby. Beware if this happens to you and look at reviews of Nachtergaal!!!! We thought we were being sent to a better hotel - how wrong we were. We were offered coffee while we waited and interestingly a couple who came in after us were checked in to a room. The invoice we were given to take to the Nachtergaal had 2 room nunbers on, both crossed out. Whats going on is debatable. The hotel looked dark, dated and shabby. Toilets were clean and coffee was good. Dining room looked ok. Cant comment further but beware. They do not honour bookings

Room Tip: You are lucky if you get one.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NannyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    63
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
39
72
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked this hotel because of its proximity close to Keukenhof and that is the only thing to recommend this hotel. Rooms are dark and dingy; stairs are almost dangerous and there is no lift. Cleanliness not brilliant: a pair of trousers left hanging in wardrobe! Situated down a narrow, dark and dirty alley but close to town centre. Too close on Saturday night as they were celebrating King's Day until late!

Room Tip: Try to find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisse hotels

Northwest UK
Level Contributor
211 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

had a reservation here made in January via booking.com but unfortunately when we arrived this week we were told hotel was full and we were being moved to another hotel.we were moved to hotel de nachtegaal which was an absolute dump (more of that on separate review).Hotel de duif is centrally located in Lisse which was why we booked it. looked a little frayed around the edges in reception area but staff seemed pleasant enough and the coffee which we enjoyed whilst waiting for a taxi to transfer us was good. Am still trying to find out why our reservation wasn't honoured and had I been aware of "hotel" we were being moved to would have refused to go!Travellers beware if this hotel wants to move you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I don't want to write a negative review, but as said before improvements could be made. Cleanliness should be better, tired decor, thread bare carpet and overpriced. We had a suite which was cold and uninviting. There was a street party this weekend and the noise was unbearable.
Initially as you walk in it looks ok, but it is basic. We only saw three staff and they were helpful enough. For a mini break it's ok for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLT1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked this hotel largely because it was located in the centre of lisse and walking distance to Keukenhof gardens. We were on a cycle tour of the tulip fields and the staff were very helpful and provided us with safe storage for our bikes overnight. We were also able to leave them there and our panniers the following morning whilst we visited the gardens which were incredible!
The hotel is three star and we felt we paid over the odds £102(exc breakfast) probably because it was Good Friday. strangely we were unable to book direct but we were able to book through Venere.com. breakfast cost 11€ pp which we felt was overpriced for a continental breakfast.
Our room was small with twin beds and it was in the basement with a small high window. The decor was very dark with black flock wallpaper which i know is typical of Holland. But it was clean and beds comfortable and staff helpful.
Would recommend you ask for a room above ground! Lots of choices to eat in Lisse.

Room Tip: Oops I.'m on my ipad and my fingers hit on room service and swimming pool by mistake and can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked this hotel through booking.com for three nights and a visit to Keukenhof Gardens - an easy ten minute walk away. I have good and bad things to say about the hotel but my dealings with them did not begin well when they sent me two emails in Dutch apparently stating that my credit card was no good. I contacted booking.com - whom the hotel should have contacted - and they sorted it. Next, however, I discovered from my credit card account that I had been billed twice by the hotel. Contacted booking.com and my bank and sorted that out. However, I never received an apology from the hotel or any compensation for the mess.
On arrival at the hotel, we found pleasant and helpful staff. The hotel is only a three star establishment but it does have a rather shabby appearance - the hallways and corridors have worn and stained carpets and the decor is slightly reminiscent of an industrial installation. We had booked a senior suite which, as a previous reviewer has said, is a bit like a small house. The room was reasonably clean but the tv remote didn't work, light bulbs weren't all working, the stairs to the bedroom were narrow and very steep and the kitchen only had very basic facilities and we had to ask for a tea towel (which took a while to locate). I didn't find the bed particularly comfortable either. On the plus side, however, the staff were always pleasant and willing to try to help, the breakfast was an acceptable buffet and the hotel's position for visiting Keukenhof absolutely brilliant (you can go in early, come home for lunch and go back when the crowds have subsided).
For eating, we did try the restaurant attached to the hotel but found it to have poor service and very average food. We discovered a small Italian restaurant a couple of doors down (Piccolo) which was very nice - good service, nice people and tasty, well presented food.
All in all, if we were visiting Keukenhof again, I would stay at this hotel again but it is the location and the staff that make it an attractive proposition.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

stayed there 4 nights Wednesday-Sunday. Friday & Saturday night we got no sleep because of the noise from the pubs nearby. Loud music blaring and people shouting below our window till after 3am, by which time we found it impossible to sleep. Dont know if the other rooms facing the other way were more quiet. Apart from that it was very convinient for Keukenhof.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room where you cant hear the noise from the pubs/bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercure600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisse
3.5 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#1 of 1 in Kaag
48 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Restaurant De Witte Raaf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Duif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Duif

Property: Hotel De Duif
Address: Westerdreef 49, 2161 EN Lisse, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Lisse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lisse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Duif 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Duif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing