We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice surprise.”
Review of Hotel Spaander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Rabat, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“a nice surprise.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Visiting Volendam for a couple of days made me book into this art hotel. I was surprised by the excellent caring of the stfaff at the reception and the bar and restaurant. Very nice rooms and you are right in the centre of the tiny fisherman's village of Volendam. Shops are there as are the food stalls and restaurants. Try the photo studio where you may wear the traditional Dutch Fisherman's costume. Very detailed indeed. Spaander...I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vince a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    185
    94
    32
    30
See reviews for
81
223
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I can't believe the price we paid for luxury! We stayed in a 3 bed room with en suite bathroom and I couldn't fault a single thing. Beds were so comfortable, large single beds too. Our windows opened right out onto the street. And if that wasn't enough, the sea was just behind you. Staff were so polite, and the rest of the hotel was beautifully furnished with swimming pool to boot. Hands down, the best hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We took the train from Paris to Amsterdam and then the bus to this location, really easy to get there. The bus terminal for the trip to Volendam is actually in the station and that took a while to find. However, once there and checked in at the hotel we were very pleased with the view and the room. We wrestled with a beach or city trip and with this location we received both! Headed to Amsterdam during the day for all it's charm and beauty and then back to this quaint village at night. Very relaxing and the food in the city is wonderful. This hotel does skimp on some of the normal items I have come to expect from a hotel. No lotions or hair shampoo and certainly not a lot of storage space. I would come here again in a heartbeat - we were taken by the friendly atmosphere and breathtaking views. Make sure to get a view of the lake - stunning!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located just in the lake. 2m walking from the restaurants and port

Tricky to reach by car. Better to look at the instructions beforehand, but it has a private free parking very convenient

Given the cost I took the deluxe room with lake view and it's quite big, with a nice terrace and good furniture. Really advisable

Overall, great choice for sleeping in Volendam

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FGE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Spaander  is a lovely old style hotel full of character. We reserved two connecting deluxe double rooms with a balcony and a views across the Markermeer. What a view!!!
Overall staff was polite and helpful, but unprofessional. For example, we asked for a rooms on upper floor and even received confirmation about it from hotel, but got a rooms on a lower floor :-(. The body wash dispenser was empty in one room for all our stay and during cleaning they didn't fill it. At check out the lady didn't ask how was our stay and how did we liked the hotel. There are small details, but it makes a difference and impression of the stay.
The rooms are fine, but I would have expected some tea & coffee making facilities. It's a main drawback of a rooms for my opinion.
The hotel has a pool and sauna, which are excellent.
Breakfast was expensive and we were family of four, so we didn't order it.
Access to the hotel can be tricky if you do not know what to expect. We know thanks to previous reviews and manage well. Hotel provides with perfect arrival instructions and timetable. First time we parked our car on a blue parking very close to hotel and went to check in and to get an arrival instructions.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with a balcony and view across the Markermeer are the best and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is an older building and it takes an extra effort to keep it nice. They do a pretty good job of that. We were given the infamous room 116 on our first night. They were full-up that night and we got the looser room. It was noisy over the kitchen and that night they had a big party for a banquet and reception. We were switched to the nice four person suite the next two nights and it was great and quiet (room 231). All rooms are nice and clean. Rates are reasonable. It is a solid 3 star stay. I get frustrated all the time in Europe with star inflation. This hotel lacks high end comfort bedding, toiletries and shampoos, luxury towels, large tv's, upscale lighting, free coffee, and large bathrooms that characterize a 4* hotel. But it is clean, comfy and safe. The parking is good and close. The dining room is excellent and the service superb. The desk staff is friendly, multi-lingual and efficient. I will definitely stay again as long as I do not get room 116.

Room Tip: Any room but 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airmike943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice now and I would definitely recommend. We like this hotel because of the location on the water and easy access to Amsterdam by bus. Both times we stayed in different style rooms. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is slightly expensive but we find that all food in the Netherlands tends to cost more than home. The only drawback is when driving to the hotel the access dike is only open for a short period of time so you have to plan perfect timing for parking... make sure to ask for the schedule and directions when booking.

Room Tip: Ask about access/schedule for Hotel Parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#3 of 4 in Volendam
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
0.1 mi away
Hotel van den Hogen
Hotel van den Hogen
#4 of 4 in Volendam
23 reviews
5.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
#1 of 2 in Zuidoostbeemster
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Property: Hotel Spaander
Address: Haven 15-19, 1131 EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spaander 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing