We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy fish & chips!”
Review of De Lunch

De Lunch
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Volendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eating and drinking at the harbour restaurant De Lunch is rarely a solitary experience. The tables always present a heady and fascinating mix of tourists hailing from all corners of the world, rubbing shoulders with formally attired business people, colleagues, students, young families, friends and even lovers.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
168 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yummy fish & chips!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great value fish & chips with a Heineken for €9.95. Good size serve totally yummy!
Place was full at dinner time, had to share a table! Very loud but everyone was in good spirits.
Fun pub atmosphere. Great place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally-1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    175
    53
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Decent enough food but nothing special”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a busy place in a busy town. The food is good but not exceptional. The grilled fish was decent but a bit over cooked. Service was adequate for a busy tourist place. We had to ask for vinegar with my fish and chips. 3.5 out of 5 would be my rating.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank airmike943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delightful little place!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The tour guide suddenly stopped in front of this restaurant and said we should all take a break here! Someone's on commission I thought! But I needed a coffee urgently - a coach tour can do that to a person!! The staff were so nice and friendly; very helpful indeed. It was still early in the morning [for me!] and even though some of the rest of the tour people were tucking into fish soup and the like, I had a wonderful ice cream and that much needed coffee. It was a shame we were on the lightning tour because I would have liked to have gone back and tasted that very nice looking fish and chips!! Next time! Very reasonably priced too. Nice surprise given the tourist prices that normally are charged everywhere else!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
393 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Good fish dishes”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

For a restaurant that's part of a tour stop, this was surprisingly good and the prices quite reasonable. Their specialty are fish dishes, with the fried kipperling and chips as the most often recommend dish. It is indeed delicious and fresh. There are also excellent fish sandwiches ranging from harring, mackarel, haddock, shrimp and eel. If you're picky about eating seafood, they also serve ribs, chicken, pancakes, among others.

There's a good deal of fish and chips with Heineken for 9.90 euros, considering it's a touristy place.

Service is quick and friendly, despite the number of guests coming in from tour groups.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hizonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice and Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had lunch in this restaurant. Quite crowded, but all staffs are very friendly and sprightly. The foods are nice and enjoyable, especially the spare ribs. The price is okay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pahala_Silalahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Lunch also viewed

Volendam, North Holland Province
Volendam, North Holland Province
 
Volendam, North Holland Province
Volendam, North Holland Province
 
Volendam, North Holland Province
Volendam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing