We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Zaandam
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Zaandam
warrington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

this hotel is part of best western no complaints at all, there are two buses to the centre the 391 stand C takes 20 minutes and the 392 stand D takes half hour, turn left as you walk out to the front of the station ask for cremetorium they run every 15 mins or 30 mins on sunday, you can buy a day ticket for 7euros per person, we found out on the last day that this gives travel all day not just return and check with bus man as think also covers trams and other buses,

Room Tip: we were on top floor and heard no noise at all through the whole stay for 3 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheddarcheese41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Zaandam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    61
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
20
46
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Read and heard comments regarding this hotel so wasn't sure what to expect when I booked a 3 night stay for mid-April 2013. The foyer/bar/restaurant area is good and clean and the service great. The room is a little bit lower in standard, but still clean and everything worked.
After a night a hotel you begin to notice things that can be annoying. There was a dripping noise coming from inside a vent above the room door that would occasionally get so loud as to wake me up. Also no matter how tight I closed the window I could still hear traffic from way up on the 4th floor. My room was right outside the main corridor from the lift so if anyone left early or arrived late at night I heard it or it work me up.
However, this was balanced back by a great bed, a nice and tasty breakfast and a very cheap rate. Will definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms 74-79 or 84-89 would be my choice after seeing the corridor layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Zaandam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Only stayed one night. found the room clean and tidy, however quite basic. Only very small twin beds but slept well. Reminded me of a travlodge in the uk. The lobby and dining area was very nice. The staff were extremeley helpful and pleasant. Good for a short break but not a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcourtneyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Zaandam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Freezing cold rooms with wafer thin walls.
The door slams in the corridors will wake you up early as the contractors leave for work..
Food varies between reasonable to rubbish and the service level remained at a constant low, with 45 minute wait for a sandwich at lunchtime.
The room size and layout is fine but the heating inadequate so with outside temps of zero the room leeches heat and you will be cold

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m1j1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zaandam hotels

Brentwood UK
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Hotel was just above basic, but functional. Room size was 112 sq meters. Hotel was clean and room had all the facilities I required. Toilet had a bath/shower and two sinks. Towels were fine and changed everyday despite being put back on rack. Soap and shampoo came in tiny bottles, the smallest I've ever seen.
Never found the advertised wi-fi. Some staff were very friendy and others quite curt. I asked about buses and was told to go and look at timetabele at the bus stop!
It is a decent 20 minute walk to nearest train station. Taxi was in the region of 10 euros. Taxi driver asked why on earth were we staying in Zaandam, it was only farmers staying here!
Breakfast was an extra 13 euros, but you have no nearby cafes so are limited.
Had dinner one night which for a hotel was reasonable.
Do your homework if staying here. If you have a car it is better.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor (6th) as road noise is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,

Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandam
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam
1.3 mi away
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
1.5 mi away
Best Western Zaan Inn
Best Western Zaan Inn
#2 of 5 in Zaandam
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
easyHotel Amsterdam Zaandam
6.1 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#114 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,431 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#210 of 367 in Amsterdam
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Zaandam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Zaandam

Property: Bastion Hotel Zaandam
Address: Wibautstraat 278, 1505 HR Zaandam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Zaandam 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Zaandam offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / Accessibility Bastion Hotel Zaandam is easy to be reached, by car, along the A8, exit 1. For travelers that have to be in Amsterdam, this hotel is a good choice. The centre of Amsterdam is only 20 minutes away. The famous Zaanse Schans with its beautiful Dutch windmills is only 4 km away from the hotel. Rooms The hotel has 40 comfortable deluxe rooms and 40 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, a minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The Deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are equipped with a television, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Zaandam guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bastion Hotel Zaandam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing