We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bastion Hotel Zaandam
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam(Zaandam)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
MOXY by Marriott Amsterdam Houthavens(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Amsterdam City West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
37
70
38
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
70
38
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottled watertea coffeefree wifinice hotelclean roomsbudget hotelthe hotel staffper personamsterdam centrezaanse schansbus30minfridgealthooutskirtsmins
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

just few staff members are well trained while most of them looked bored and lazy -- no pets allowed (so our beloved dog had to sleep in the car) -- rooms are small -- surroundings are very scary in the evening (junkies messing around), so forget about relaxing walk after late meal -- restaurants are far away -- breakfast is deadly expensive and unbelievably poor -- bus stop is near -- Vijfhoekpark is right in front (water buffalo park)

Room Tip: all rooms look pretty much the same
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bad4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam and for your review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.


We regret that your dog had to sleep in the car. However it is very clear in every website that domestic animals are not allowed in our hotels.

We would like to apologize for the fact that we did not meet your expectations, hence we value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

With kind regards,

Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It's situated a bit far from Amsterdam centre. Bus costs 7 EUR for a day for an adult. Every 15 minutes comes a bus daily. It's in a half industrial an commercial part of the city. It's hardly reach any food store on foot nearby. It's easy to park in the hotel parking place. Clean rooms and baths. Our only problem was at the last departure day. The receptionists insisted that we ate one day breakfast but we didn't. She was rude to us. She spoke to us as we are burglers. Finally we didn't pay for breakfast. All the other receptionist was helpful and kind to us. The breakfast costs 14 EUR for a person which is very expensive for us. That's why we chose not to eat in the restaurant. I'm sure that something is wrong with the registering of the bills.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Lehoczki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We would like to apologize for the fact that you have experienced a bad experience during the check-out. Hence we value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

The team of the Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A few weeks ago I stayed in this hotel. It was so nice to stay here. The staff was really nice, gave me all the information I needed to make my stay the best.
I once ate in the restaurant of the hotel and it was really good! I had the steak with pepersauce. The steak was perfect, medium, just as I required. The other days I explored Amsterdam, otherwise I would have had diner at the hotel again.
The room was perfect, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was big and the shower was nice and warm.
The next time I go visit the Netherlands again, I will def go to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterP-19-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice stay in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam and free parking.

Very nice to hear that you are definitely coming back to this hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Room (luxery) room is big with a bath the bed is good and nice..big flat screen..it's clean..
Food in the hotel is very good XL hamburger is very good and the schnitzel to..security is very high so we felt very safe in the hotel..Stafe is very nice..overall this is a good hotel clean friendly safe hotel for one night or week ..

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe room
Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a Business hotel so one should not expect anything else. We found the beds comfortable, A/C satisfactory and staff friendly enough indeed. We were sadly hit by the smell of stale tobacco the moment we walked in to the hotel front door as the smoking room situated just off the reception area had its door wide open which remained the case for the two and but days we were there. The bedroom doors DO slam shut at all hours of the night which is disruptive if you are keen on your sleep but it is a hotel I imagine designed to cater for contractors and temp staff operating in the surrounding factories and shipyards........
The staff appeared to be far too few as the receptionist on both days we were there spent their time rushing between checking people in or out as well as serving breakfast and dinner! Dinner mind you surprised us as was really rather tasty and certainly plentiful. If you have business in this area the the hotel is a sensible option but it is not a Holiday destination or somewhere to stay whilst on holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews