We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alas not a palace”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Zandvoort
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Alas not a palace”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The palace days of this hotel are long gone. From a 4* hotel with matching 4* prices, I expect a more classy entrance, a nicer interior, a bathroom larger than 2 sq meters and a breakfast where the scrambled eggs are actually made from eggs and the orange juice is made from oranges... Even the service is questionable: upon our question where to park, the receptionist told us the only option was the hotel parking. We found out later there was a public parking (free at night) directly behind (we did get back the money for the hotel parking).
With major refurbishing this hotel could make a decent 3* hotel, because of its good location and view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    49
    45
    40
    31
See reviews for
26
88
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Churchill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location overlooking the beach with nice restaurants close by. Hotel itself was a bit tired and is currently being refurbished. Internet connection was poor - had to sit downstairs in reception to get a reliable signal and room was expensive for the quality - bring your own soap and shampoo as there's none provided in the room. TV reception was also a bit variable. Overall, a good situation but you'll get more for your money staying inland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the sea
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasne, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I always thought value for money in the Netherlands, was very difficult to find. But this is ridiculous!
I'm spending one night here on a business trip.. The night cost me 147 euros, no breakfast ;( .. And I think the halls and the room I'm sleeping in arr worst than a public hospital from where I come from.
I pity my colleagues whom has to stay here for several nights.
I will strongly suggest you NOT to stay a the zaanbort palace..,,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SammyinSunnyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zandvoort hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were clearly going for the seaview. We payed a lot for a flat with a view. Indeed the view, the beach and sunset were fantastic. The flat was poor in toilet ammenities. Also charging a lot for parking is also a simbol of milking money from the visitors

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for a weekend for a Party nearby and have to admit this hotel needs some real upgrades, the rooms were basic, the TV's were old, the carpet was old and the rooms smelled like cigarettes. For the price I paid I thought it was ok, but nothing that made me say I have to stay here again. For convenience it is close to the Zandvoort Train Station which made it easy to goto Haarlem and Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chryz707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I visited this hotel as part of a package booked for a cycling holiday. The hotel is showing its age, tired decor, gloomy in the dining room and a single room that barely gave me room to put my suitcase down. Bathroom was poor, the WC was a macerator type, loose on the floor and of the standard you expect to find in a B+B whcih has been badly upgraded to en suite. After my experiences of the other hotels on my tour, all 4 star, this was far from good enough. I had a sea vew over the flat roof in front of me but no compensataion. Breakfast was OK, I ate out for dinner. No complaintss over staff who were helpful its just the building thats depressing

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plowst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The location of this hotel is great. You're located directly at the beach within walking distance of all beach pavilions and the town centre. The hotel itself disappoints somewhat, especially because it's a 4 star hotel. The rooms are very small and there is no air conditioning. Even though it was only 15 degrees outside and very windy the room was very warm, so i can only image what it would be like during the summer.
The staff and the breakfast buffet are OK as well. No real complaints, but everything is just lacking of what you would expect of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zandvoort hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amsterdam Beach Hotel Zandvoort
0.1 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#2 of 26 in Zandvoort
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hoogland
Hotel Hoogland
#15 of 26 in Zandvoort
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zeespiegel
Hotel Zeespiegel
#16 of 26 in Zandvoort
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Center Parcs Park Zandvoort
Center Parcs Park Zandvoort
#22 of 26 in Zandvoort
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Burg Van Fenemaplein 2, 2042 TA Zandvoort, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zandvoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zandvoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandvoort Best Western
Best Western Zandvoort
Palace Hotel Zandvoort, North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing