We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Great Hotel”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Zandvoort
Reviewed 29 October 2008

The hotel did not get the best reviews, but it seems as though it might have been renovated recently and I was very happy with it. There was a great breakfast, nice clean updated room, big balcony overlooking the city... It was in a perfect location, across the street from Central Station, 5 minute walk to the centrum, and a couple blocks from the main beach boardwalk. Great place to stay, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank taylorstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2007

We were booked into this hotel for a night by our travel agent. I read the bad review on tripadvisor by someone ese and I was having doubts but by husband said since it's only a night it should be ok.
Well I must say the review was quite right. The hotel advertises as four star but is nowhere near a proper four star. It is on the beach but our room overlooked the car park and I believe only apartments overlook the beach. The only extras in the room was a box of tissues. The carpet was stained and the full length mirror placed in such an awkward position that there is no way you could see your self in it. I thought tea and coffee making facilities were now de rigueur in 4* hotels, obviously i was wrong.
Luckily for us it was a short stay and the pretty village/town of zandervoort offered a good escape from the room. I would not recommend it. For the same price there are sure to be better hotels. In my husband's words "this was not Best western but Worst western"

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank minilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2007

Promised a sea view by booking company. There are NO sea view rooms. Only if you book an apartment. Car parking is not secure - as promised - and expensive. No tea and coffee facilities in the room without asking for a kettle etc at reception. Cups were not washed up by room cleaner. Bed side light was broken. Bath towels the size of dusters. Rooms very small and crowded with unwanted furniture. Room were dirty and smelly (drains) BBC1 was poor reception - static. Soap dispenser not working. The hotel is advertised as 4* - it certainly is not - would struggle for 1*. Very disappointed with our 2 day stay. Not value for money and felt ripped off. Certainly would not return nor recommend. However it is close to the railway station for visit to Amsterdam.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank LondonNobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2006

After staying in some really great Best Western hotels I was horrified at the quality of the Palace in Zandvoort!.

Room smells, no non smoking rooms even when booked in advance and confirmed!

No room service or late night food for late arrivals.

Really poor service and would not recommend this to any one at all!

Stay away and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gazza328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2006

Best Western Palace Holel, Zandvoort Holland
Sept 05
Mature couple UK

Great location, but not a very nice hotel, reception staff a bit rude, checking in and out you felt as if you were interupting them from something else. The room was very small and drab but a good comfortable bed and a balcony, tiny bathroom . This hotel definately needs a refit. The reception area is better than the rest of the hotel so it lulls you into thinking it's better than it actually is. Check out time was 11.00 am and 2 minutes after 11.00 we got a call in our room telling us not very politely that we would be charged for a further nights stay if we didn't leave within 15 minutes, however the hotel was virtually empty and the cleaning staff hadn't even got to our floor. Will not be going back.

5  Thank woofwoofpusspuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2005

This is an excellent hotel for anyone visiting Zandvoort.Hotel is right by the beach, a short walk to the race circuit (15 minutes) and also a short walk to the town cetre for bars and restaurants. Hotel has nice bar and restaurant and own car park (though there is a carpark charge for guests).
Hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Our twin room on 13th floor was one of the smallest I have ever stayed in, but it was comfortable and well maintained, with a fantastic shower. There was no room air conditioning, but rooms have balconies to take in fresh air. It was ideally located for our visit to the Marlboro Masters of F3 event and was good value for money.
I would stay again and make this my first choice for the event in future.

4  Thank Wendy268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank K5780QWfrankv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zandvoort hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 25 in Zandvoort
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amsterdam Beach Hotel Zandvoort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zeespiegel
Hotel Zeespiegel
#15 of 25 in Zandvoort
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keur
Hotel Keur
#2 of 25 in Zandvoort
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel Zandvoort
Strandhotel Zandvoort
#16 of 25 in Zandvoort
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Doppenberg
Hotel Doppenberg
#9 of 25 in Zandvoort
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Burg Van Fenemaplein 2, 2042 TA Zandvoort, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zandvoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zandvoort
Price Range: £49 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandvoort Best Western
Best Western Zandvoort
Palace Hotel Zandvoort, North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing