We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach”
Review of Zandvoort aan Zee

Zandvoort aan Zee
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Zandvoort
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The village & beach in Zandvoort are beautiful. The beach has pop up restaurants which are open from Easter to October. Each restaurant specialises in a particular cuisine - everything from fresh fish & seafood to fast food & steaks. The village itself, about a 5 minute walk from the beach, has some fantastic food shops & boutiques. Certainly worth a visit. The majority of locals speak English but they will appreciate visitors speaking a few words in Dutch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    185
    58
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
328 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Worth the trip, even in October”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

While staying in Zaandam we wanted to see something else besides Amsterdam. Who does not like a trip to the Seaside. Easy to get to as the Dutch rail is very efficient.
Beautiful sandy beach,the sea (Zee) and a pretty town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JazboOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the widest beach!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

As Im a beachlover, So, Zandvoort is one a must visit on my list. Even thought I came there on early spring so the weather still cold (around 10degree Celcius) for me as an Asian :) But its worth a visit. I didn't touch the sand and the water cause I was sure will be so freezinggg..
But I enjoyed sit in the car and saw the beautiful beach view, its one of the widest and cleanest beach I ever visited. You can enjoy and relaxing the best view of the beach from the side chair close the road or even sit in your car.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Life's a beach”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

From the Central Station in Amsterdam the beach is only a short train ride away. Excellent for a long (or shorter) walk and then a drink in of the many beach bars. They're only there in the summer though! Off season you have to walk into town and though there are many options, the centre looks kind of out dated and shabby.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
365 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Lovely beach, summer evening haunt near Amsterdam”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Zaandvoort aan Zee is one of the best beaches near Amsterdam, located near another beautiful city, Haarlem. The beach is wide and sandy and most importantly, very clean. The beach front is lined by many restaurants, many of which feature long chairs where one can stretch and relax while enjoying a beer or have fun in the water and chill afterwards. The beach is deemed safe and the water is safe to enter for at least a few feet. There are many activities being held along the beach during summer. We saw some sand sculptures near the beach front last week. Wonderful place to come down to in the spring or summer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zandvoort aan Zee also viewed

Zandvoort, North Holland Province
Lisse, South Holland Province
 
Zandvoort, North Holland Province
Zandvoort, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zandvoort aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing