We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Hoogland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hoogland
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Zandvoort
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel good value, very Dutch furnishings. The host could not do enough to ensure that the stay was pleasant. Location is brilliant, short stroll to the beach and great restaurants
No children allowed, so would recommend this for solo travellers and couples Internet is free and quick

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good if you have a lot of luggage to handle. Great internet access very quic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhondac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

You know the feeling waking up in a nondescript hotel room, and you got no clue where you are on this planet... Well, Hoogland is anything but that! When kitsch is the style and it is applied over the top all over, it almost becomes art. And I loved it.
The hotel is small and old which just adds to the atmosphere.
Our room was quite small but clean. Breakfast was plentiful with delicious warm bread rolls. Service was throughout our stay very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayVeeHaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Sorry, but the last poster just didn't get this place. We absolutely loved it. Yes there are shells and plastic things and outdated decor and complimentary cuppa soups and you eat breakfast in a recreated nature reserve (stuffed birds and all) and this is what makes it so brillant. It's quirky and random. If you like kitsch you'll love this place (the breakfast is superb too). Would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chookychook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Booked for three nights and only stayed two, this after we came back to our room only to find the proprietor of the Hotel going through my wife’s luggage! We immediately left the Hotel and booked into somewhere else local and lot nicer.
Whilst our stay was short it did not take long to work out the décor was tacky and cheap, lots of plastic animals and sea shells, the breakfast was sparse and the yoghurt was covered in dog hairs.
Furthermore there were dog hairs all over the furniture and these get all over your clothes, whilst we like dogs they do need some cleaning to keep on top of the moulting and it would have been a lot more hygienic if the dog was not allowed in the breakfast area begging for food.
The staff are generally pleasant but the owner is peculiar, what sort of guy rummages in a women’s guest suit case!!!! Creepy. The Hotel is a tad ambitious with the three star rating the resort is only three star and the hotel barely a one.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zandvoort hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Attice Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We payed 339,00 euro in total for two persons. BUT no cleanwoman enter our room to made the beds, clean and change sheets and towels. Not to meantion the trush. What is their problem????

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Was looking hotels in Zandvoort almost last minute before travel, got fast reply from Hotel Hoogland.

Don't expect trendy rooms, as rightly said below - room was quite outdatedly decorated (and bathroom as well), but everything was clean, breakfast is good, Mr Floris Faber is ironical, reception is very friendly and helpful.

If drive, go directly to city centre and water tower is your best guiding line, hotel is actually very visible and situated on the main square. Night parking in front of the hotel on big parking (7,5 EUR night).
We arrived late (well after 9pm), almost all restaurants have been closing, but Grand Cafe kindly served a hot meal, good quality (in bars/pubs/restaurants quarter, 5 mins from the hotel).

Absolutely fantastic morning walk on the beach, highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rower1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We don't like to plan too far ahead when we travel. We play it by ear, so to speak. So, like many trips before, we simply showed up in Zandvoort, and looked around for an acceptable hotel.

We'd spied Hoogland on previous trips to Zandvoort. It's right by the beach. I didn't really expect to fall in love with the place, but we were willing to take a chance.

Our room was a bit tragic, compared with places we usually stay. Everything was well-worn, and the decor was a bit outdated. However, the price was good.

The best thing about the hotel was the breakfast (which I think was included in the price of our room), and the hotel owners (or managers...can't recall). The breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The front desk folks were hilarious, and welcoming.

While I doubt we'll stay there again, I would recommend it to anyone looking for reasonably good value in Zandvoort. If you want luxury and lots of amenities, you'll have to look elsewhere, I'm afraid.

  • Liked — Convenient location for us.
  • Disliked — The interior and decor is average, at best.
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LastMinuteDecision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zandvoort hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amsterdam Beach Hotel Zandvoort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zeespiegel
Hotel Zeespiegel
#13 of 26 in Zandvoort
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Keur
Hotel Keur
#4 of 26 in Zandvoort
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#2 of 26 in Zandvoort
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Doppenberg
Hotel Doppenberg
#10 of 26 in Zandvoort
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoogland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoogland

Property: Hotel Hoogland
Address: Westerparkstraat 5, 2042 AV Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zandvoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Zandvoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hoogland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsNL, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hoogland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hoogland Zandvoort, North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing