We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glamorous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Huis van Bewaring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Huis van Bewaring
Ranked #1 of 1 Almelo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Glamorous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

An award winning hotel for design. Using an old prison building. The rooms are all individually designed to a high standard, if not a little unusual. The breakfast is continental, but very well executed. The dining room used to be the prison chapel, and has original stained glass windows. Hotel owners and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
Solo
0
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
167 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hidden in a old jailhouse with a lot of details kept, it's thé place to be and to stay in Almelo. Business or pleasure wise. Very nice welcome and friendly. Well decorated in the jail house style but very warm and cosy. It's breaths nostalgia, warmth and style for a affordable price. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Good use of an old prison. Locacted in the city center near bars and restaurants.
Familiar cosy atmosphere and good rooms.
Easy to find and nice staff. Good breakfast.
Will return if I have business in the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sredna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was here only for a night because I had to work early the next day. But still the experience was excellent.

A warm welcome, a reserved parking spot and the atmosphere of an old prison. A very nice cosy room with plenty of space. You can sit and relax in the luxury seats, work at the small desk or sleep of course. An extra outlet near the bed would be convenient as well as something to put the used towel on to dry.

The breakfast was ready half an hour earlier so we could experience the still warm croissants and rolls.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcovanzelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Highly recommend the Huis Van Bewaring. From the moment we entered the building we were welcomed. Shown all the facilities including the coffee machine and breakfast room. The decor is impressive and unique. The toilet with no door was easily overcome with the other person going to get a coffee. Breakfast was plentiful and by candle light who could resist it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzab333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this rather unique hotel which was formerly a prison, the owners have done a wonderful job doing it up. Our room was quite luxurious and very comfortable. The free wifi was very good and the breakfast menu more than adequate. We really appreciated the care the owners gave us, they were very helpful and considerate of our needs.
I would be very happy to stay at Huis Van Bewaring again.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. Take note there is no lift and there are stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Super warm welcome from the owner who made sure that I knew where I could help myself to coffee whenever I wanted, how to get out and back into the hotel (it really is so much more than a B&B), quick tour of the breakfast room (which was the chapel used by former inmates).

I had a super room the Italian Warden's room- large and comfy double bed with ensuite shower room, no door but travelling on my own for business so not an issue. It was very hot the night I stayed (34 deg C) and as the windows are the original prison ones they only open slightly so a fan was the only thing missing.

This place is quirky, stylish, and definitely boutique retaining so many original details (the front door and the cell doors being some of my favourite features), think this it my most favourite B&B ever.

Go and experience it for yourself if you are in Almelo, you won't regret a night in the 'house of detention'.

Great location, plenty of restaurants a few steps awayfor evening dining,

Room Tip: Go and enjoy the quirkiness of this excellent B&B Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almelo
0.7 mi away
Preston Palace Almelo
0.2 mi away
Theater Hotel Almelo
6.9 mi away
Landgoed Hotel & Restaurant Carelshaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo
8.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
5.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Jachtlust
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huis van Bewaring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis van Bewaring

Property: Huis van Bewaring
Address: Marktstraat 7, 7607 HC Almelo, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Almelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Almelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis van Bewaring 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HotelsNL, Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Huis van Bewaring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing