We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Gracious staff.”
Review of Hotel Royal

Hotel Royal
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Deventer
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location. Gracious staff.”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced and is in an excellent location. The food is good. One thing I particularly liked about this hotel is that the staff are gracious and generous. I had some business to attend to unexpectedly while staying at this hotel. I was relieved that that owners and staff were accommodating with my requests and requirements.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the hub of a busy square. Rooms at the front facing the square have nice views but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    20
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
6
21
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

We, a family of 3, had diner at the hotel restaurant. The staff was polite, but did not bring wat we asked for. My son asked for steak without veggies, without sauce, and with garlic butter, but he got steak with veggies, with sauce, and without garlic butter. My wife her bottle of mineral water was taken away without us noticing while it was stil 3/4 full. The salad and patato plate was to small for three persons. Looking at the size, my son asumed it was just for him alone, but that was not the case. We decided we would not have a desert here.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deventer hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We went there for a light lunch. The food was freshly cooked and the service was good. The resturant was comfortable, and there was a good selection of food and drinks. It is in a good location within in Deventer. Well worth a stop for lunch

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniet970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

my friend and i spent a night in deventer as a surprise visit for her friend's birthday. we had to stay in royal hotel and im glad we did. clean room, good breakfast, comfortable bed. it is also right in town centre and near to train station. it's quite pricey though for the amenities and room size. i just wish i have time to look around and see more of deventer :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had dinner and started with a cappucino with little taste. Small breads for starter weren't freshly baked and main course followed within 3 minutes, we couldn't finish the supper first. The main course were steak and ribeye. Both rare and not medium like we asked for, ribeye was too fat and both plates were not warm. Vegetables were even not warmed up. It came with a tiny 'salad' and potatoes. The icetea was not cold enough aswell. It was fairly cheap but not worth the money spent.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luuk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I've been in this hotel several times for one-night stays, in different rooms. The first time, I had a room with quite a dirty carpet, the rest of the room was fine. I think they have been fixing up rooms, one at a time, since then. The other rooms I stayed in were fine: clean, good beds and modern, clean and roomy bathrooms. As in most hotels, walls are thin and quietness depends on other guests in the hotel. I think the price is mid-range for the Netherlands and price/quality is good.

Breakfast is downstairs in the restaurant. It is a decent standard buffet breakfast. You can also have dinner in the restaurant in the evening. I thought the food was good and for an average restaurant price.

On Friday and Saturday there's a market in front of the hotel, which they start building up early in the morning. You might be waking up early when you stay in rooms at the front.

Room Tip: Friday and Saturday morning: possible loud noise in the front due to market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2007

It was ok, but seemed expensive compared to other hotels in the Netherlands.
The reception/restaurant was a very smoky environment with no ventilation, we missed breakfast but I wouldn't have wanted to spend time in that fog!
The staff were lovely and the location couldn't be better.
The room was comfy but old fashioned, ageing dark bathroom, no plug socket near a mirror (for hair drying etc). Metal blinds, no curtains.
It could do with a bit of TLC

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dark old fashioned bathroom, lack of mirror near a socket for drying hair
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deventer hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton IJsselhotel Deventer
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Appartementen de Vischpoorte
1.4 mi away
Postillion Hotel Deventer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hanzestadslogement De Leeuw
0.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Gilde
Fletcher Hotel Gilde
#2 of 9 in Deventer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Boutique Hotel Huis Vermeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Brink 94, 7411 BZ, Deventer, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Deventer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Deventer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing