We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and service”

Hotel Restaurant Rodenbach
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Rodenbach
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Enschede
Brugg, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel and it's service is amazing. Very friendly staff. Room was nice and clean - quite big as well! The restaurant in the hotel is of great quality and served us even after closing hours when we arrived late in the evening. Prices are more than fair of both hotel and restaurant. I have nothing bad to say about this place. It can only recommend it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jona0497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
6
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Interesting to see a previous review entitled "dinner nudged the experience to very good' or so. With us it was exactly the other way round! That is, the hotel was okay. Our room was nice, it was quiet, spacious, clean (although we did find a used chocolate wrapper) and the heating worked well. Dinner was another story.... We stayed for two nights, and the first night we decided, being quite tired, to have dinner at the restaurant. We arrived at around 7:30. First they tried to seat us - although the restaurant was not full - at a small table for two placed halfway in the corridor to the kitchen. We protested, and chose another table. After sitting down at the table we discovered that that there was glass on the table and on the butter dish. We told the waiter, and he removed some pieces of glass and put them on the table behind us, which was empty. We asked him to remove the butter dish as well, and he switched it with the one on the table behind us.... He then brought our drinks, but after this things started going really wrong... In the menu there was an item entitled (in English) 'shoot of the day', with the words 'ask your waiter'. So we asked him, and he had no idea what it was. He said he would ask the chef. After another 10 minutes the chef appeared, and he also didn't know....! After yet another 15 minutes he informed us that it was some sort of fish. Strange. In the meantime we had also ordered a carafe of water. This did not appear. After 15 minutes we asked the waiter - he said he would go and get it, but it still did not arrive. After yet another 15 minutes I went up the bar and begged one of the waiters to bring us the water, and he finally did. The food arrived after one hour and 15 minutes, at 8:45. By this time we were so hungry and tired that we would have eaten anything... This being said, the food wasn't too bad, although nothing special. I had ordered a fish and it was prepared well, with a light sauce. I did notice that the people seated at the table next to us sent a dish back - twice. Anyway, the service experience had been so terrible that we decided to forego dessert or coffee or anything like that. In fact, we never intend to go back to this restaurant again! On a final note: we couldn't bring ourselves to check the bill right after dinner (we just paid it), but when we checked it a few days later at home we found that they has charged us Euro 2,30 for the water.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mascha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Enschede hotels

Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel Rodenbach is rather focussed on its restaurant as on its hotel business. Rooms are average sized but no free-wifi (status Feb 2013) and no features as gym, pool or whatsoever. No bath tubs in the 3 rooms I have been staying so far. However, if you just need a clean & nice place to stay this is for you. The inner-city of Enschede with restaurants and bars is in 7min walking distance. Free parking infront of the restaurant/hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the same building - otherwise you need to go outside and inside again to fetch breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Along with other reviewers, I would say that the Rodenbach is very well placed if you arrive by train or visit Saxion university or want to walk in the park. (All of which applied to both my visits here). I've stayed in the annexe, where the rooms are large but can feel cold, both literally and aesthetically. Room 165 has a huge, well lit desk with such a dull view (on to the car park) that you cannot claim to be distracted. Breakfast choice seemed fine to me, with a remarkable choice of chocolate spreads, the like of which I had never seen, or even dreamt of. Dinner was a revelation; a lot of care and thought had gone into producing good food with imagination. It may sound unadventurous to serve tomato soup and creme brûlée, but to do these classics superbly and serve them thoughtfully shows great skill. Catch this young chef while you can.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

ok hotel (dont think there is much choice in Enschede!) the website akes the rooms look fantastic , modern etc. In reality the rooms (i saw three) were more like motel rooms! althougthey were clean and spacious . the rooms do have free wifi which is very important to me. the breakfast was very basic but the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancedance72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed here for a business meeting, and arrived after the drive from Rotterdam at only 11am. I asked if I could check in at that time, and of course, there was no problem, nice to see customer service isn't dead, try that at a big chain hotel.

The room was clean, well equipped and comfortable, and more than I expected. When I told my clients where I was staying, they said that the restaurant is absolutely top flight, unfortunately I never ate there, but it LOOKED first class.

It's a short (5 minute) walk into the town centre, the train and bus stations are very close to hand making it ideally located, on a quiet street, but within easy walking distance to all the bars and restaurants in town, and the Old market Square.

Breakfast in the morning was good, in true Continental style, but lots of choice at the help yourself biffet, constantly tended to and topped up with fressh fayre.

I will definately be back, and stay here agoan, when I've got more time to explore this city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Went there for 2 days on a business trip. The rooms are okay but not very big or clean either. Breakfast is only okay too. I was mostly disappointed by the service, which is pretty poor. The restaurant is, on the other end, quite good although pricey.
I did appreciate it's location, close to the train station and the city center.

All in all this hotel seems dated and needs a good refresh. The Theater Hotel in Almelo (20km away) offers, for the same money, a much better overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qiou87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enschede
City
IntercityHotel Enschede
IntercityHotel Enschede
#3 of 7 in Enschede
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Resort Bad Boekelo
#1 of 1 in Boekelo
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Rodenbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Rodenbach

Property: Hotel Restaurant Rodenbach
Address: Parkweg 35 /39, 7513 AR Enschede, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Enschede
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Enschede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Rodenbach 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Rodenbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing