We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wedding feast in Zwolle”
Review of Hanze Hotel Zwolle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanze Hotel Zwolle
Ranked #3 of 14 Zwolle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We chose the Hanze Hotel on the Rode Torenplein because it is 50 metres from our friend's wedding reception. A good choice on two counts. (1) We had no trouble finding our bed. (2) I have a new theory to prove.
My new theory: old Hansa towns are great places for a party. The Hanseatic League was started in 1159 and reached its height in the 15th century. Hansa towns have old narrow streets, historic old buildings and squares with open-air markets. This is Zwolle, to this day filled with colourful, fun-loving independent characters. This is the spirit of the Hanze Hotel. It is independent and belongs to no hotel chain. It is genuine. The breakfast room had a genuine fresh rose on the table. The food was fresh, purchased from the market outside. It was a special place to stay, the old town of Zwolle and its old hotel.
Ah yes, the wedding. Bride in white, with white umbrella. Arrived by boat (Zwolle is surrounded by a formidable moat). A colourful procession, led by a band, through the oldest past of town to the Stadhuis (town hall). Very emotional family, tears of happiness. Another procession to the reception. Party till midnight.
One thing to bear in mind. If you want a quiet, monastic experience then do what the monks did, go outside the town. Thomas à Kempis, a notable medieval monk, lived most of his life nearby.
I am now researching my theory – seeking the next Hansa town and the next party. There is a wide choice, from Novgorod in Russia to Bruges in Belgium.

Room Tip: Remember, in medieval Europe there were no lifts.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redfredc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hanze Hotel Zwolle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were really surprised with this 2 star hotel. It is very clean. The rooms are very cosy. The breakfast is good and the owner is very kind. It is in the center of this beautiful town. We were very satisfied.

Room Tip: the best rooms are those in the upper floor
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaBraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

My husband was in Zwolle for a conference and I and our two teenage sons tagged along. We booked two rooms at this hotel for 5 nights . It is a family hotel, recently remodeled, very clean, with thoughtful touches such as art work.. Our room had a huge bathroom for an older European style hotel. The beds are very comfortable The rooms are smallish--but as expected in this age hotel. The included breakfast was was just right--with fresh squeezed juice, meats cheeses, breads, cereals,boiled eggs, fresh coffee etc.. Service was great--they tolerated my two teenage sons and their usual hi-jinks with lost/missing. keys. The location is super, as is the tapas bar that it is situated above.
However that said the location is also a downfall. It sits on the city 's main square and can be quite noisy when people are staying out late dining and drinking at the outdoor cafes around the hotel.. Sunday and Thurs. nite were noisy--especially with the set up of the Friday farmers market (and the start of the world cup--I think there were more revelers than usual for a Thurs. nite). Also be warned there are steep stairs--it did not bother my 50 + aged knees but if you have mobility problems this is not the hotel for you (no elevator, no ground floor rooms). Zwolle was a charming town--much fun to explore with our group!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kapkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

this is probably the most friendly and cosy hotel i know. located right in the old historic city centre of zwolle. very friendly staff. free complementary drink for every quest. great breakfast. rooms are modern, the building itself is historic.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erikzeeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Having looked for as many places to stay in the centre of Zwolle, I was surprised that their wasn't too many places available on web sites. Having said that, it made my decision a lot easier. I booked a twin room through hotels.nl for one evening at the City Hotel and found their site very easy to use.
The hotel was very easy to find from the railway station and took no more than a 10 minute walk. The hotel sits by a canal side and is seperate from any other building. For this reason, it gives it a bit of character. The location is also perfect for shopping, eating out and nightlife, with everywhere within a small walk.
The downstairs section of the hotel is a rather trendy Tapas bar which is also used for breakfast each morning. The breakfast was more than adequate and the service was excellent.
The room we occupied was clean, comfy and had a decent toilet. The only minor things I would say is that the fittings were a little tired in the room and the carpet had seen better days. Also, anyone travelling by car to central Zwolle will find parking at a premium. This hotel doesn't offer parking places, so it's worth bearing that in mind. Over all, a very good hotel to use as a base for discovering the area and worth a shout.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nicht in den oberen Stockwerken
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank schnucki68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank ThijsMalmberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zwolle hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#3 of 9 in Zwolle
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes
3.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
#4 of 9 in Zwolle
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Restaurant Fidder
0.2 mi away
Hotel Campanile Zwolle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanze Hotel Zwolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanze Hotel Zwolle

Address: Rodetorenplein 10/11, 8011 MJ Zwolle, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Zwolle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Zwolle
Price Range: £70 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanze Hotel Zwolle 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanze Hotel Zwolle is in a monumental building in the heart of the city of Zwolle. From the terrace, you have a beautiful view of the historic city. There is free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel and there is free secure bike storage on site.The guest rooms have private facilities and a flat-screen TV. In the morning, a complimentary breakfast is served in the breakfast lounge with fresh breads, ju ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Agoda so you can book your Hanze Hotel Zwolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing