We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
cordelia2512
Durham, United Kingdom

Clean, friendly, efficient

Review of NH Amersfoort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Aug 2017
The building is an unexceptional piece of modern office type development, so is unpromising from outside.It is five minutes walk from the station.
Once inside the mood lifts. Check in was friendly and efficient, care being taken to ensure that all was correct.
We had some questions of reception and they helped us with interest and humour, even though the questions has nothing to do with the hotel itself.
At breakfast the staff were equally careful and efficient.
We were delighted to find (and this seems to be NH policy generally in Holland) that soya was available at breakfast as well as milk
The hotel was spotlessly clean.
Unfortunately there was no gym, but we knew that before we booked.
The hotel is within 15 minutes walk of the old town
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rickvschijndel, General Manager at NH Amersfoort, responded to this review
Responded 28 Aug 2017
Dewar cordelia2512,

Thank you very much for your great review!

It is great to read you have had such a great time in Amersfoort and enjoyed both the modern hotel and the Ancient old town.

Kind regards
Rick

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
£79
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Booking.com
0.3 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£74
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £74
0.6 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
Amrath Berghotel Amersfoort, BW Signature Collection
£73
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Amersfoort Exterieur Pand
£64
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.5 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£80
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £80
3.0 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Nearby "Koppelpoort"
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
0.4 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £114
  • Vio.com
0.6 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.5 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £67
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from NH Amersfoort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amersfoort
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveller rating
599
549
115
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
599
549
115
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station quiet hotel business trip excellent location convenient location excellent breakfast clean rooms minute walk city wifi desk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The hotel is ideally located between the train station and the city centre. The room was clean and spacious with a large comfy bed and tv had a several English channels. The main highlight was the excellent customer service and friendly staff.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rickvschijndel, General Manager at NH Amersfoort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Bryan,

Thanks for the great review you have left us!

Great that you took the time to send us your feedback. I am happy you have enjoyed the excellent service and friendliness of the staff.

Kind regards
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Spacious room, everything we needed for our stay, including two chairs, which was nice. Very clean, too. Lovely buffet breakfast everyday with a huge variety of cooked and fresh items. Lifts work very quickly and stairways all clearly marked. Friendly and helpful reception staff with ecpxcellent English.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank chrissy_hornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rickvschijndel, General Manager at NH Amersfoort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear chrissy_hornby,

Thank you very much for a perfect score!!

I am so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us in NH Amersfoort.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Regards
rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I stayed here in July for a short family visit. This hotel is great. It's extremely convenient to the Amersfoort Centraal train station, the buses that come from there, and the downtown area. Staff was great - very caring and professional. The breakfast buffet quite excellent with good juices, lots of varieties of Dutch breakfast specialties (there is such a thing), and Jura coffee machines. It was easy to extend my two-night into a three-night reservation when a storm threatened my scheduled flight path. Definitely will be here again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pcmeadery2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rickvschijndel, General Manager at NH Amersfoort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear pcmeadery2,

Thank you very much for your review!

I am pleased to read you have enjoyed both our service and the breakfast offerings!

Looking forward welcoming you again at NH Amersfoort.

Regards
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I'll begin by saying that I am able to provide a good review of this hotel. It's centrally located, about 5 minutes walk from Amersfoort Station. The rooms, even standard ones, are comfortable with good beds and very good selection of TV channels for those who like to know these things.
The breakfast is extensive with a wide selection of hot and cold items, all of high quality.
Check-in was fine...but read on further in relation to this. Staff were generally friendly and welcoming. Like I said at the outset, a strong recommendation. I would stay here again.
Now for the concerns...the first is a particular dislike of mine. It might not be for everyone. On check-in, I was asked for a deposit of 50 Euros per night to cover incidentals. I've always associated this practice as an American one and this was the first time I've been asked for this in a European hotel. It's not a practice that I approve of. Even if hotels are able to justify this practice...they should clearly state in their terms and conditions of booking that this is an additional charge. I refused to pay the incidentals charge because I don't use room service or mini-bars which are are always overpriced and tend to offer poor quality and value for money. I also think that €50 for each night (60%) of the per night rate I received is extortionate.
My final concern is about the bathroom...the combination bath and shower are both excellent, however the high side of the bath makes getting in and out quite hazardous. I would be amazed if there hasn't been an accident, particularly as getting out was like walking on ice. Surely a health and safety risk?

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rambles1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rickvschijndel, General Manager at NH Amersfoort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Rambles1963,

Thank you very much for your extensice reaction following your stay in NH Amersfoort.

I am pleased to read you would stay with us again!

You have already mentioned te reason for hotels to charge a deposit since not all guests are as honoust as you are. It is the pollicy of the NH hotel Group to charge the deposit and is not a procedure just up to the hotel to make. It is getting more and more common in Europe as well.

Your comment regarding the health and safety aspect when showering I will discuss when a refurbischment might happen in the future.

Kind regards
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Stayed for a 1 night stopover due to the good location near train station. Cant judge on B fast as we left too early for that. Spacious room, good bathroom with tub, amenities, AC, TV, wifi; excellent staff service. Recommended!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sandya-and-Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rickvschijndel, General Manager at NH Amersfoort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Erikandsandya

Thank you very much for your review following your night in NH Amersfoort!

Thanks for recommending us!

Regards
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews