We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget style hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Tabaksplant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Tabaksplant
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Amersfoort
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Budget style hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent for the one minute stroll into the city centre.
I have stayed at this hotel before in one of the cheapest rooms at the front which was very noisy due to the constant noise of pedestrians and cyclist passing during the night. This time I stayed with my family in a ''luxury room''at the back of the hotel which was more than double the price of their cheapest room. The difference between the cheapest room and one of the most expensive was merely the size of the room, a coffee machine,cooker, table and chairs.The rooms are outdated with 1980's white walls and grey painted ceiling beams and an old style grey 20 inch tv. No carpets or rugs on floors. My room was not ready at 2pm when I arrived. There was no handsoap in the room. One day I returned late at night and my room had not been cleaned.Bin not emptied, wet towels still on the floor,beds not made. On my last day breakfast was chaotic and the staff were perplexed when three people turned up for breakfst as all the tables were set up for two people. It took 10 long minutes to set our table between two staff as they continued to work in the kitchen and serve other tables which sat down after we had. The staff are clearly not trained and have no sense of urgency and would not last a day here in the Uk .I mentioned at check out about our room not being serviced and the girl sort of apologised and said she would mention it to the girls responsible for cleaning the rooms.They are basically all very nice people but not very good at running a hotel.The euro does not go as far as the pound and if you are used to premier in or Hilton you may be very dissapointed as this compares more to a youth hostel experience.The breakfast is typically Dutch.
I would stay here again purely based on the location as it's within walking disatnce where I have to be in Amersfoort.I would strongly suggest that you ask for the cheapest rooms at the back of the hotel as the front is noisy and if you can live without a coffee machine you could save yourself 60 euros per night!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a budget , economy room at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jantina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    39
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
38
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The best of this hotel is the central location. The walking streets of the city center are just around the corner. Rooms are small and have minimal furniture. In typical Dutch way the sink is in the room, not in the bathroom and there is only tiny mirror to do your make up. Breakfast is good and served to the table.

I recommend this place for warm seasons, in wintertime the room was a bit chilly. If you spend 1-2 nights it is ok, but for longer stay I would need something more.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage or difficulties in stairs, mention this when you make your reservation, si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riikka555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in the 'serviced' appartment for 3 weeks. The apartment is basic - not finished to a high standard at all eg. no soap holder in the shower, few shelves, kids beds very uncomfortable, internet connection virtually non-existent it is so slow.

Level of service was very poor - at one stage the bin was not emptied for 4 days. We repeatedly requested that the room was cleaned and even when it was done, it was done poorly with so much dust under the bed for example.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine - 3 types of bread, cheese, ham, egg, yogurt, drink. Pretty boring after 3 weeks!

Heating in the bedroom was terrible - we had to leave the door open to get heat in from the main living room

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

I paid 65 Euro's a night for my en- suite single room on the first floor at the front of the hotel.The stairscases in the hotel are very steep and some almost have just half a spiral step.
I do not have any health problems and I really had to concentrate on my step,so not suitable for the eldery , infirm or children.They do have rooms on the ground floor that look onto a lovely courtyard with garden furniture. at the back of the hotel.
My room was clean although the decor was very clinical. All the rooms have small fridges and the staff kindly gave me a jug of fresh milk for my coffee.Having a room at the front of the hotel and not being double glazed means you can hear everything that goes on outside.Overall this is a budget style hotel in a great central location very near the main shopping street in Amersfoort.The breakfast was simple and typically Dutch.
The staff were very friendly and ordered taxi's for me when I needed them.
This hotel is great for short stays and I will definatelt stay here again.

.

Room Tip: Groundfloor overlooking courtyard is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jantina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flatfish56
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed at the Logies de Tabaksplant for 6 nights in September. It's main advantage was that it was close to the centre of town. However, Amersfoort Centraal Station was approximately 25 minutes away; either by walking all the way or going to De Flint and waiting for a bus.
The room I stayed in, costing 80 euro per night, had an ensuite. The room itself was adequate with a small-screen TV. The room was at the front of the building, directly opposite Amersfoort's sex shop boasting the greatest collection of Erotica in the Netherlands!
Breakfast was OK with a boiled egg, cheese, meat, tea/coffee etc. It kept you going until lunch time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flatfish56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Hi All,
If any one is traveling to Amersfoort and is searching for a hotel to stay then your best choice will Logies de Tabaksplant.
We stayed here for a month and a little more. It is a great place to stay, it is very close to the main street.
The best about the hotel is the SERVICE. The staff there are very helpful a special mention about Maurice and Nancy and not to forget Koos. The comfort level is very good.
If i get a chance to go to Amersfoort then my choice of hotel will be undoubtedly Tabaksplant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangeetha31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

My husband and I just returned from a week in Amersfoort. What a lovely little town! Lots to see and do: museums, art, great shopping, many patio restaurants, and wonderful bike paths along the canals. The hotel is in a great location. You can walk/bike everywhere easily but you are still in the quaint old cobblestone village. We stayed in the extended stay apartments but were told by other guests that all the rooms where fairly noisy. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper like me. The staff were helpful and spoke English well. The rooms were nice and clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was the same everyday but gave us a true European experience. Overall a very nice stay. Renting bikes is a great way to see the town!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhoohooVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amersfoort hotels
Lange Jan Hotel
#4 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
NH Amersfoort
#1 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hof
Logement de Gaaper
Logement de Gaaper
#6 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Princess Hotel Amersfoort
#7 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Tabaksplant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Tabaksplant

Property: Hotel de Tabaksplant
Address: Coninckstraat 15, 3811 WD Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Amersfoort > Coninckstraat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amersfoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Tabaksplant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Logies Tabaksplant is located in several historic buildings in the age-old centre of Amersfoort. A unique and charming hotel with a city garden,De Tabaksplant has 25 comfortable rooms, each with a distinctive character,5 fully equipped apartments, for guests who would like to stay with us for a longer period of time, and 2 conference rooms.Through the whole hotel there is free WIFI available. We offer complimentary coffee and tea facilities on all our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Tabaksplant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logies De Tabaksplant Amersfoort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing