We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Town Centre Hotel, good value”
Review of Lange Jan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lange Jan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Town Centre Hotel, good value”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This Hotel above an Irish Bar was well positioned to see this lovely town. In the town, square it fronts onto the bustling street. Our 2 rooms looked over the back and the front of the property. The room at the back was surprisingly quiet (above the bar with music). Whilst ear plugs were provided we certainly didn't need them. We had the window open with a patio area more or less beneath. This was a busy June night. Rooms were clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Staff were very helpful, we needed to change rooms due to a booking error on my part. This was no problem. We had to use the toilet in the corridor. Once again, no problem. This was clean and well serviced. Amersfoort is well worth a visit. Once you're in the old centre it is a delight. For a budget overnighter, this hotel is fine. After all, you get what you pay for. Good atmosphere in the bar with outside area and conservatory.

Room Tip: Higher floor and rear facing (canal view) is probably the best choice. Decide whether having a toile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilkoHastings_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    65
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
72
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel is clean, simple and central. Check in at the Irish Pub below. The Hotel fronts onto a large square which is surrounded by many restaurants. A more than ample breakfast is served at the rear of the hotel and coffee, snacks and meals are available in the pub. Our room was small but clean and bright, overlooking the canal. The bathroom was small but satisfactory. The staff were very friendly. We could walk a couple of minutes to the centre of town or in the other direction along picturesque streets and canals. I would recommend Lange Jan for up to three nights stay. It is not luxurious but the position makes it very desirable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel is clean and cosi. Down stairs is the irish pub. Rooms have sound proof windows. And the rooms are great. And that that for down town Amersfoort. The hotel is on a little square with good restaurants. If you come to Amersfoort.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2012

nice and cozy. unforgettable weekend in a very nice hotel. the room was very comfortable and clean. the staff very friendly. good value room. go and enjoy yourself. nice nice nice nice nice nice nice place to cut from everything and relax

Room Tip: room N8 had a very beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Needed a place to stay for a short business trip in Amerfoort Holland, and this place was recommend by a colleague.
Booked direct with the hotel, no difference in price with any of e booking agencies, but felt more secure of my booking as rooms are in short supply.
Hotel sent me directions by email on which train to get from Amsterdam, cost, and which stop to get off t.
Called them from the railway station in Amersfoort and they guided me to the hotel ( just head for the tall church spire).
Downstairs is quite a nice bar, pleasant staff and no problem heckling in even though it was late evening
The rooms generally don't have wardrobes but plenty of wall hooks so bring a couple of hangers for your gear.
Shower us clean, towels changed daily, Internet is good quality ( there are two addresses in case one is busy).
TV, only local channels available but a couple are in English, so you can catch up on the news and sport
No great noise from the square, and I slept with the windows open.
Bed was very comfortable, only issue I gad was they provided two single quilts instead of one double(?)

Breakfast is simple but good, eggs, bacon, toast, coffee, tea, juice, cereals, etc - Buffett style

All in all a peasant hotel and well recommended.

Nice place to sit outside in the evening and have a beer.

Room Tip: Room in cellar has a bath, rooms on the top floor have a great view over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stroller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere in Bavaria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

First - I'm there on business trips, but this is not a business hotel:)

Nice, family hotel in the historic center of amersfoort.
Good starting place to visit the city. Also all type of shopping, pubs and restaurants are close by.

The rooms are very small, but clean and friendly and absolutely fine.

There is an irish pub in the hotel which is always good frequented. The burgers in the pub are great.

I was here several times and always enjoy the location.
The only may be negative - as it's in the city center it's sometimes a bit noise.

All in all I can recommend the hotel - very good value for the price.

I'm there regulary every two month and it's always nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_world_is_great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Great room with modern comforts in a fabulously atmospheric space, great bathroom, although the bathroom took ages to heat up. Nice little private terrace outside our room. Good value room, breakfast was not quite as good as in other places -- they had run out of some things by the time we arrived at breakfast.
Location was not so easy from the train, but totally amazing for just stepping out and walking around the old town. Also wonderfully close to lots of good places to eat.
Service was low-key but practical -- the guy in charge carried our bags downstairs for us, which was very nice but not something we would normally expect.
The hotel is closely associated with a pub which was not at all busy when we were there. If I'd been on my own in summer, I would probably have chosen to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for the terrace room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amersfoort hotels
NH Amersfoort
#1 of 12 in Amersfoort
770 reviews
Coninckstraat
Hotel de Tabaksplant
Hotel de Tabaksplant
#8 of 12 in Amersfoort
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hof
Logement de Gaaper
Logement de Gaaper
#7 of 12 in Amersfoort
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lange Jan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lange Jan Hotel

Property: Lange Jan Hotel
Address: Krankeledenstraat 20-22, 3811 BN Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Amersfoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Amersfoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Lange Jan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A different kind of hotel in the middle of the city. You check in at the Long John's Pub and will sleep in a nice and clean room with good beds. The nice and friendly staff is willing to help you to discover the wonderful city of Amersfoort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Lange Jan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing