We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for leasure and business trip in old downtown”
Review of Logement de Gaaper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Logement de Gaaper
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Instead of selecting a typical business hotel, I decided this time to stay under a local roof in the middle of old town. Great choice, while the location was perfect, expecially to explore at night ! It's like staying in a museum, and easy access to many bars and restaurants. Very friendly & helpfull staff. The room wasn't large, but the bud and bathroom were comfortable. Internet was operating without any problems. Find your way from the trainstation by Googlemaps on beforehand. It's 10-15 minutes walk. Shopping area all-over, if you need something. Once per week, the market is being built at night, but I did not have too much troubles with the noise. It was clearly annouced by the staff. No, nothing but positive words about this one !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingDutchmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were on a cycle tour of the area so arrived at Logement de Gaaper with our bikes. There was a food festival on in the square so there was a very lively atmosphere. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was on the top floor, at the back of the building, so although there was some noise from the street below, it was what you would expect from any centrally located hotel. We loved the location, especially as we could walk out the front door and straight into a wonderful food festival. The square itself is very picturesque and Logemement de Gaaper, like all the buildings around it, is an old, traditional building. The hotel has, however, obviously been converted at some point though so it doesn't seem to have many traditional features inside it, it seems quite modern. The room was clean and functional. Breakfast was really lovely and the breakfast area has a real cafe feel about it - it has big windows looking onto the square. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferMac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Have stayed here twice for business meetings. Its in a lovely square in the pretty town of Amersfoort, close to shops and restaurants. If the weather is nice the square is great to sit out and enjoy it. Good breakfast and its in one of those lovely old tall buildings. Downside is the steep stairs if you have luggage, though the staff will carry it up for you. The rooms are tiny but do the job for Europe. Nicely and simply furnished. Good value. The internet is limited to a short period and you will hear the church clock chiming all night... The staff are friendly and helpful, so I always enjoy staying here. It has more character.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here for one night while on a 6-day bike trip through the Netherlands. The two ladies that run the hotel could not have been more accommodating -- they even wanted to help us carry our luggage up to the very top floor where we had a huge room that was perfect for us to spread out in. They even took care of secure accommodations for our bikes. We HIGHLY recommend de Gaaper...if you want a hotel with good service and friendly staff. A nice location on the square as well -- no need to look further than outside the front door for restaurants.

Room Tip: Top floor was terrific -- a climb, but had a double bed (two twins together) plus a separate twin be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelightsInTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is absolutely charming and perfectly located in the heart of the old town.
Since it is located in the oldest building in town ( almost 1000 years old) and is very well renovated it just became juwel and it is worth to see it. Also the coffe shop connected to the hotel kept the spirit of an old pharmazeutic shop and it is beautiful to sit in there and watch live on the main square.
Rooms are a bit small ( at least mine was) but also with a very nice view on the church and main square.
Now the flip side: since many restaurants, clubs and bars are located on this main square you need either to join the party or you need to negelect the noise till late night hours. Especially during weekends.
But, definitely worth to visit and especially for couples who like to partie and also relax in romantic atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you can not stand after party noise, you rather choose a room with no view on the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_l_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This was our fourth visit to de Gaaper and again we were very happy to be there. It is conveniently located at the Market square and when the sun is shining the tables are all full of sun worshipping Dutch and their children. The rooms here are immaculate and the breakfast that is included is always fresh yogurt, juice, plus many different cheeses and meats. The coffee is hot and of course the owner, Janneke is always a pleasure to visit with.
I highly recommend this hotel for a visit. It is central to shopping - if you wish and you can even walk from the train station to the hotel.
The rooms are secure and very quiet.
We look forward to coming back next year.
Thank you again.
Janneke Smardenkas, Picton, Ontario

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs in this hotel, so if you have a problem with that, then this will not be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janneke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This hotel is attractively located on the main square, in the heart of the old town and close to the main shops. Staff are friendly and breakfast good.

The fact that the hotel was created by joining the upper floors of several adjacent old houses gives the hotel character, but also means that there is considerable variation between different rooms. We stayed there in 2008 and had a spacious room on the first floor. When we stayed again in 2011 we booked the same grade (large double); this time we were given a room that was obviously converted from a loft or attic area.

The room was fairly spacious, adequately furnished (with a very comfortable bed, though only one chair) and had good air conditioning and a nice view of the square. However, it had a number of drawbacks. Access was up three staircases, the third of which was a spiral stairway on which there was no handrail on the first few steps or the last few steps. We had to be careful to avoid hitting our heads when going to one side of the bed, as eaves restricted headroom. There was a beam above the bath, making it difficult to stand upright while taking a shower. The same beam went across the middle of the room, with the TV fixed to it – another overhead hazard we had to avoid. As the room was at roof level, the window was fairly small and recessed; much of the room was therefore on the dark side - even when the weather was bright outside.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amersfoort hotels
Coninckstraat
Hotel de Tabaksplant
Hotel de Tabaksplant
#7 of 12 in Amersfoort
117 reviews
NH Amersfoort
#1 of 12 in Amersfoort
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Jan Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amersfoort
193 reviews
Campanile Amersfoort
#10 of 12 in Amersfoort
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logement de Gaaper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logement de Gaaper

Address: Hof 39, 3811 CK Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Amersfoort > Hof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Amersfoort
Price Range: £73 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Logement de Gaaper 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Logement de Gaaper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing