We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice bistro-café in the neighborhood”
Review of Parkcafe Buiten

Parkcafe Buiten
Reserve with
Parkcafe Buiten is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #325 of 607 Restaurants in Utrecht
Price range: US$15 - US$38
Cuisines: Japanese, Mediterranean, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice bistro-café in the neighborhood”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We live nearby and went for an easy lunch with my parents visiting. The food was good, the staff friendly, the café cat was sleeping on a pillow by the window next to me :). The coffee is good and the terrace is always packed on a sunny day. The club sandwich is served with chips which is a nice plus.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not the quality it used to have”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Friendly restaurant in living area. The type you can go to by yourself and still have a good time. To have drinks or snacks this restaurant is great.
We unfortunately had dinner and choose for the vegetarian options. Mine was supposed to be gnocchi with Spanish salsify (a kind of root vegetable) but it contained only 2 big gnocchi and lots of Spanish salsify. (See picture) Out of proportion and not tasty. They tried to make up for it by offering a side dish and free coffee / tea afterward which was kind. But I wouldn't eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank TessaVeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent value for money”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The perfect place to have lunch before visiting the Rietveld museum. Nice atmosphere, friendly and competent staff, good food, correct prices. The lunch combinations are very good value.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Filip_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This places has great food for lunch and I definitely recommend it. It has a nice "studenty" atmosphere, more casual. It has a nice view of the Wilhelminapark and it just feels nice and cozy. The prices are not bad considering the other food places around. Definitely worth paying a visit before/after the Rietveld house (as they are about a 3 minute walk apart).

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice lunch after having visited The Rietveld Schroder huis”
Reviewed 25 November 2009

After having visited the Rietveld Schroder huis we went for a bite in the neighbourhood. At the end of the street, just along the park we found this restaurant-bar where we were received friendly. We felt at home immediately. We did have some splendid sandwiches. At night they serve dinner, so we heard. They are mentioned in a guide called ' Special Bite' , being one of the 500 nicest spots of the Netherlands.

Helpful?
2 Thank Derrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parkcafe Buiten also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Parkcafe Buiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing