We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely haven in beautiful historic city”
Review of Chambres-en-Ville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utrecht
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chambres-en-Ville
Ranked #20 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed one night with my daughter in this welcoming, quiet, accommodating, beautiful townhouse. All, of course, thanks to our host Mrs van der Wal. We arrived late, as planned, though this was no problem at all. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, with first rate linen, and all amenties. The real treat, however, was the breakfast in the morning! Impossible to fall upon such a hearty, elegant spread in a guest house. Mrs van der Wal had carefully taken our order the night before, though never did we imagine the delightful feast in such intimate surroundings. Chambres en Ville is a treasure that we'd love to return to, indeed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Chambres-en-Ville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

My wife and I could not have been happier with our stay at Chambres. The hostess greeted us warmly with coffee and snacks. The room was charming and well appointed without being over done. The service in general was personal and the breakfast was wonderful. The only thing to note is that the stairs inside the historic buildings are narrow and steep; the Chambres is no exception. Would recommend the place without reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamesnardella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My first night in Utrecht was in the Court Hotel. (My review of this hotel is also on Tripadvisor.) Because I didn't like the price/quality of that hotel, this time I chose B&B Chambres-en-Ville. It is very close to the Domtoren (city center) and also an easy walk from the Central Station.

I booked the big room (bathroom/bedroom/study room). Reception was very welcoming with tea and cookies. I was able to compose breakfast and received a few drinks for in my room. The hostess bend over backwards to make my stay as pleasant as possible.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I wholeheartedly agree with everything said from the previous reviewer. Ida is a wonderful host and does everything to make you feel comfortable. The breakfast if delicious and huge (really, I didn’t need lunch after eating it) and you can have anything you want at the time you want it. There is a great coffee machine in the room and a selection of teas; oh yes and sweets. I stayed in room #1 (the one with a living room) and it is really comfortable. I was with my mother who cannot walk around for a whole day without some rest and having more space was just right for us. And then the location of Chambres-en-Ville … well, you can hardly wish for a better one. It is right in the center of the city, just a few minutes walk from the Cathedral, the Canal and really convenient for reaching every place of interest in Utrecht.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slaveika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

An absolutely charming place, run by a lovely lady who offers you everything you might need. There are only two rooms so the service is excellent. The only "negative" thing could be the steep and narrow stairs - not ideal if you have lots of luggage. The room was large, wonderfully decorated and perfectly clean. The breakfast is fantastic: anything you want, at the time you want. It's in a residential area of the old town, only five minutes' walk from the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gioali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janneke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
539 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
Court Hotel City Centre Utrecht
Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Mother Goose Hotel
Mother Goose Hotel
#1 of 29 in Utrecht
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres-en-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres-en-Ville

Address: Zuilenstraat 1a, 3512 NA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht > Lange Nieuwstraat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range: £97 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Chambres-en-Ville offers comfort and a calm environment. It is located in the historical center of Utrecht: the Museumkwartier. Your hostess is Ida van der Wal. She will make sure that you enjoy your stay in one of the two guest rooms. The rooms are luxurious, but unlike most hotels we offer personal attention and an informal and friendly environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing