We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of MaS Restaurant - CLOSED

MaS Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$42 - US$84
Cuisines: French, European, Dutch, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Barcelona
Level Contributor
198 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a very nice 4 hour dinner with good food and wine, caring and unpretentious service in a pleasant rustic designed room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DASBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bit overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I went to MaS with a friend of mine in 2012. We had decided to try out MaS, which we had heard was a great place to eat out. The restaurant was not as fancy as I expected, but very cosy and warm. Our waitress was dressed quite casually, but was very friendly and polite.
The food was good, but not spectacular, in my opinion. The wine recommendations of the waitress were spot on. The best of the five small dishes I had, was the selection of cheeses. I found this a bit unfortunate, since I was really looking forward to the amazing meals I had heard so much about. Unfortunately, the visit to MaS was, to a critical visitor as I am, not that special at all. The food is very, very expensive compared to the quality. However, I was happy to pay a little bit extra for the outstanding service and the lovely atmosphere of the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

As a group of six we enjoyed our food at this small and charming restaurant. The meals are more in line for taste than volume. Offer specials, a fixed menu choice or a la carte. The service came with a smile which we appreciated. The food preparation was slow and long enough for us to notice that the next course hadn't arrived. In fact we were there for 3 hours. It wasn't particular crowded nor empty. We did book in advance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank opentrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy place but very small portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I went to MAS on a business dinner. The location is nice, in a residential area close to the city centre. The waitress was very attentive and explained the courses thoroughly. Despite that, the portions are so really small so you may feel hungry aftewards. Definitely overrated.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden behind the Oude Gracht”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Mas is a small restaurant which is somewhat hidden in the city centre of Utrecht.
The place is small and a little difficult to find, BUT definitally worth looking for.

The restaurant has a relaxed atmosphere and the way the menu is presented is somewhat different from the usual but the food on the menu is excellent.
The waiter who served us made suggestions for some good wine, he also suggested a white wine for our main course while we were having several meat dishes. I double checked if he was sure and after confirmation trusted the wine knowledge of the guy. That was a good bet, the wine was fantastic with the food.
We really enjoyed the whole evening, a place to come back for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MaS Restaurant also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing