We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and good”
Review of Polman's Huis - CLOSED

Polman's Huis
Price range: US$42 - US$62
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice and good”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

In an ancient 18th century Gentlemen's club, perfectly situated in the center of the beautiful old city. Excellent clasical food, a very nice waitress. But very slow: from 8.30 to 10.30 for a 12 people party, 3 courses menu... Otherwise, worth going to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    20
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good overall meal, but disappointing main course”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Both the scallops and mushroom Dordogne were good starters. However the let down of the meal was the braised lamb shank with cinnamon and basil which we had all chosen: whilst there was plenty of good quality meat, unfortunately we could not taste either the cinnamon or the basil in the thin sauce - it tasted as if the lamb had been cooked in water. The dessert was the highlight for me; the chocoladebombe was one of the most inventive desserts I have had for a long time: frozen panna cotta with caramel oozing out of the chocolate shell.

All the previous reviewers are right in saying this is a grand setting, and the smart waiters add to the ambience. We visited at the end of the afternoon/early evening and were the first diners, but the large room was about half full by the time we left. It isn't the easiest place to find: if you're walking between the Anne Frank statue and the cathedral look out for the Douwe Egberts cafe (good for a passing coffee) and Polman's Huis is down the road behind the cafe on the right hand side.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceri393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Where are the quests?”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Found Polman's restaurant by coincidence as it is tugged away from the busy Utrecht centre. It is a fantastic place, beautifully decorated and has a rich history. Only a handful found the restaurant and that is a shame. Food is good, wines are nice, service is making the best of it. So where is everybody? Maybe it is too pretentious and the staff too used to a slow evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EUlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unique ambiance, excellent food and service”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The place used to be a ballroom, the very high ceiling combined with wide walls gives a sense of space. Acoustics are excellent for cosy chatting across the table. We went with 4 of us and had a 3-course dinner. Saltimboca s appetizer was very nicely presented and quite tasty. Main course was guinea fowl (parelhoen), also very well prepared and presented. Topped with a small cake for desert we were quite content. The service is professional an unassuming. All in all a very nice experience, definitely worth another visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad conference dinner”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We had a conference dinner at Polman's Huis on 16 November 2012 in Utrecht. I met with one of the managers two months before. The discussion was very professional. So I had a good feeling that our conference dinner is in good hand.
When we arrived with the conference participants (60 people) at the restaurants, the two waiters made an unprofessional impression. An aperitif was served at the door, so people had a difficult time to drop their jackets. But it became worse. As we sat, it was found that for about a third of the guests there was no soup. After a long time those guests got a very thin soup filled up with water. The second course was meat and fish. But the waiters did not serve table by table, they serve first the fish to all tables and then the meat, which took a very long time. So people got cold fish. In addition, the portions were very small.
As the conference participants told me, the service staff were very unfriendly when they complaint about the cold food. Furthermore, they drop dishes on the floor several times, causing some unpleasant noise.

This dinner was a nightmare for me since I was the host of it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polman's Huis also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing