We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, with reservations.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Van Dijk Apartments
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The apartment I stayed in is a converted shop front. There is enough space in the living room/kitchen but the bedroom is cramped, having just enough space for two small-width singles and a tiny gap between them. The bathroom is small but workable; my only problem being that the shower drain was 90% blocked, leading to flooding.

The bedroom also has a TV and a closet with adequate space. One wall in the bedroom is quite scruffy and needs a good clean.

I stayed on my own and for just two nights, so the space was adequate.

It was well, if sparsely, furnished. The living room had a sofa and table and chair set. There was also a TV but the batteries in the remote were dead. Against a far wall were a half-size fridge and a cooktop stove as well as a barely adequate supply of crockery.

Because I stayed in summer, it was noticeable that no windows opened and the situation was saved only by the presence of an air-conditioner in the living room which managed to put sufficient cool air into the bedroom as well.

Location is good, being on the fringes of the inner city, about a 15 minute walk out. There are a couple of pubs and a good shopping street nearby.

Cost was good at 60 euros per night but there is an additional fee of 30 euros for cleaning up after you depart, payable up front. I thought this cost was around 3 times more than it should have been. There was a notice in the apartment asking that you clean up after yourself, so if you comply then the "cleaning fee" is something of a "gotcha".

The property is run by a small company and accepts only cash. This suited me fine but obviously would not suit everyone.

Would I stay there again? On balance, I would because it is, after all, an apartment selling at about half what others would cost.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linds4516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

Bedroom is really tiny, you can not walk between two single beds. No lock on bathroom door, heating turned off mid evening and no way to turn it on. For the price poor value. Owners were helpful, but does not make up for general lack of standard amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CulturalAttache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Bottom line: Great! Fairly central location with everything you need nearby, clean and new apartment, kitchen facilities, free internet + a cute balcony.
Only really minor problems like not enough dishes and a bit of street noise in the front room. Would stay again & definitely recommend.

In October 2010 my parents and me went to visit my brother who was going to school in Utrecht. It is really hard to find hotels in the area that sleep 3 people, or if you do find one it's often pretty pricey. Plus we wanted the convenience of being able to cook for ourselves. We found everything we needed at this apartment.

Pros
- Location! It was not right in the centre of town but it was perfect for our needs. It was only about a 15-20 minute walk right into the main centre of town, 20-25 minutes or so to the central station. And just a short walk away were many pubs, restaurants, & shops (including groceries)

- Clean and new - Sleeps 3 - 2 in twin beds in the bedroom. The 3rd person was on the futon in the living room. The futon was comfy enough, though it was a bit noisy to sleep in the front room due to the train.

- Kitchen facilities: stove top, microwave, fridge (no oven)

- Free wi-fi, reliable - Tastefully decorated in a very mod ikea kind of way. Pictures are representative

- Back patio - we didn't get to use it because it was too chilly but it would be great to have your morning coffee there

- Great big kitchen table

- Price for what you get is fair although the whole having to pay extra for linens thing is a bit weird to us

- Friendly owners - I didn't personally deal with them but my Dad said they were very friendly and helpful

- Door code made it easy for all of us to come and go as we pleased with no key

Cons
- Only 3 of every kitchen item! My brother came over for a lot of meals and there were 4 of us but then we only had 3 plates, 3 knives, etc. We made do but it would be good to have a few more dishes and utensils

- The noise from the nearby train is a bit loud in the front room if you're trying to sleep on the futon, it didn't really bother us though. It was super quiet in the bedroom if the door was shut.

- No bathroom towel rack - we were always hanging our towels on doors or piling the on the little table in the bathroom - kind of annoying. The bathroom was really cramped and inconvenient to get ready in due to lack of counter space, storage, etc. The shower was nice.

And it's not really a con, but if you don't know your way around I would suggest maybe a cab to get their the first time. My parents arrived before me and walked and apparently had a bit of trouble finding it.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley_j_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Although booked 3 months ahead, the first 2 days of our reservation were booked to another party. As a result we stayed at Bizzflats Baron d'Hanis in Antwerp for the first 3 days and loved it. Wish we had stayed the full week there! Anyway, the furniture is very uncomfortable, very small rooms, minimal cooking utensils, tiny bathroom sink with shelf mounted so you cannot easily shave or brush teeth. The nearby railroad tracks posed little noise problem for us since we kept the windows closed in November. HOWEVER, you will hear constant traffic on the indoor stairway that services the apartments on the other floors that runs above the bathroom and alongside the living room. After we had arrived, we had to make arrangements to be at the room to pay for it, so we could go nowhere for a while. When the person showed up to collect the money, he stayed to restock laundered items in some locked compartments. Oh, which reminds me there is only one closet space in the whole apartment. Stains on walls, needs paint badly. If you plan on being here in the summer you will find there are no windows that open except a small one in the kitchen. Living room/kitchen door opens directly to busy sidewalk. Reading lamp over one of the beds had a broken neck and hung down over inches over head space and was easy to hit when getting up.

Overall I would highly recommend staying clear of this apartment.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezjacque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaolaVI1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#6 of 23 in Utrecht
774 reviews
Ibis Utrecht
#13 of 23 in Utrecht
542 reviews
Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Stone Hostel Utrecht
Stone Hostel Utrecht
#9 of 28 in Utrecht
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mitland
#5 of 23 in Utrecht
960 reviews
Eye Hotel
#2 of 23 in Utrecht
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Dijk Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Dijk Apartments

Address: Pelikaanstraat 19, 3582 SC Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Utrecht
Price Range: £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Van Dijk Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing