We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truely wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utrecht
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort
Ranked #12 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2012

De Vossenpoort is one of the nicest places I have stayed. Spacious rooms, many details, great hospitality and friendlyness.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

This review is a long time coming! I visited Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort in the fall of 2011. The room was great - clean, stylish, atmospheric and roomy. The owners really spared no expense as the room had a boutique feel about it. Plus its centrally located to all the action. To top it all off, Hans (the owner) took me up in his motorized glider for a tour of the region! That's right, we flew near Amsterdam and around Muiderslot castle and down south of Utrecht to check out the remnants of other castles and waterways. A whole new perspective!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We spent six nights in this B&B and every day I was more and more thankful that we had chosen it. We stayed in the Zorro - very comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom, kitchen modern and equipped (loved the coffee machine!), TV, and french doors leading out onto a little terrace. The B&B is five minutes from downtown but the room itself is very private and quiet. Hans provided a wonderful breakfast every morning and he is the ultimate Host! We enjoyed this little city more than Amsterdam - we attended a pipe organ concert at the Dom, rented bikes and rode to castles, walked the canals and there are many lovely shops in the downtown. Restaurants along the canals offered Turkish, Indonesian, Thai and many other very tasty options. This city was wonderful to visit and, honestly, staying at this B&B made our holiday perfect.

Room Tip: The Zorra has a lot of light and is beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent a long weekend at this beautiful and well presented B&B. The attention to detail cannot be faulted - from the cleverly designed storage (so well organised, a place for everything!) to the kitchen area to the bathroom - it was all so perfect. And the cleanliness was second to none. And as for our host Hans, he was friendly and informative and on hand if we needed anything. The breakfasts were something to look forward to, and I loved that Hans would hang a bag of fresh bread on our door each morning.
We went with a group of friends, so had both rooms, and I have to say that both were equally appealing (although perhaps the bedroom in the cellar just had the edge!)
The B&B is ideally situated in the centre of Utrecht, but on a quiet stretch of the canal. We loved De Vossenpoort so much that we would go back to Utrecht just so that we can stay there again. I can't recommend this place highly enough - you must stay there if you're in the area! We will certainly be going back there again.

Room Tip: REYNAERT - beautiful room, the bedroom being down some windy steps into the cellar area ZORRO - ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This bed&breakfast has everything that you could wish for! It's located in the centre of Utrecht, a stone throw away from stores, restaurants, trains, busses and taxis. The owners renovated it with a great eye for detail. We stayed in room Zorro, which is super quiet. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom modern and clean, the little kitchen fully equiped, a nice sitting area and a balcony. Hans, the owner, is very friendly and is very helpful to give you tips about the city. We can only higly recommend this place and hope to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We spent one night at De Vossenpoort last week and had a wonderful time. The atmosphere of the apartment is very welcoming and you can tell by each detail that the owners went to great lengths to furnish the place, it looks lovely and is very comfortable. We enjoyed a nice breakfast and left Utrecht well-rested and happy, thanks also to this unique B&B and its hospitable owners. If the sun had been out, we would definitely have made good use of the nice terrace, but unfortunately not all things in life can be arranged for. But whatever the owners could contribute, they have certainly put into their B&B. I would highly recommend this place and look forward to our own return visit!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We are three adults who recently spent six nights in Utrecht. We chose Utrecht - a quick thirty-one minute train ride from Schiphol airport - over Amsterdam as a base from which to explore the parts of the Netherlands we had not yet visited. The Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort is extremely well located - a relaxed ten minute walk from the train station from where it is possible to travel easily to Leiden, Haarlem, Amsterdam, Amersfoort, Rotterdam, Den Haag, and virtually every other major destination, as Utrecht is a central hub of the Dutch train system and has extensive bus service, as well. The De Vossenpoort Bed & Breakfast is a relaxing, quiet retreat from the bustling city. We stayed in the "Reynaert" unit which proved perfect for three adults. The unit is extremely spacious with its own outside patio, a full bathroom plus an additional W.C., many amenities, and a generous, delicious breakfast each morning. Our hosts, Hans and Ans, could not have been more gracious.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Hotel Mitland
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
914 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#2 of 22 in Utrecht
248 reviews
Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Mother Goose Hotel
Mother Goose Hotel
#1 of 29 in Utrecht
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
B&B Gregorius
B&B Gregorius
#2 of 29 in Utrecht
89 reviews
Lange Elisabethstraat Mariaplaats
Rosendael
Rosendael
#3 of 29 in Utrecht
44 reviews
Badhu
#6 of 29 in Utrecht
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort

Address: Oudegracht 40E, 3511 AR Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range: £75 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vossenpoort (Foxgate) is an accredited “Distinctive Bed & Breakfast” of The Netherlands, located in the heart of old Utrecht. It will surprise you as soon as you enter the tranquillity and privacy of the monumental house in the back garden. Atmosphere and design of both suites are very stylish and include all comfort and facilities. A surprising location for a relaxed and interesting stay in Utrecht, right in the heart of Holland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing