We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of Park Plaza Utrecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Utrecht
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The reason for my negative opinion was the gap between expectations and delivery.

I didn't know the Park Plaza brand, had never stayed in one. I read on the website that they are a chain of "luxury, design-led" hotels. This conjures in my mind memories of Radisson Blus, or, even better, of actual luxury design hotels: Clift, Standard, Mondrian, etc. There's also a Park Plaza near where I live (Victoria, London) whose public areas are very nice. I was hopeful.

What we found was basically a Holiday Inn. An honest 3-star hotel with a comfortable bed, a clean bland room, and an acceptable breakfast. No issue with that: I was just expecting something different. It was a business trip and I spent a total of 8 hours in the hotel, for 7 of which I slept.

My colleagues complained that the trains passing by the station woke them up multiple times. They didn't wake me, but that's a personal thing.

Someone else had booked it for me, so I learnt the price only at checkout. It was very cheap. With expectations reset by the price, it was actually OK value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear edtealdi ,

Thank you for time you took to write this review,
Our apology that although the price quality was okay it was not upto your expecttations.

We renovated the Hotel partly already, we started with the ground floor and did already 40 rooms, We hope to renovate the rest of the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here while travelling through Holland last month. Staff were perfect in all areas and let me check in slightly early, very professional and friendly. Room was well appointed but rather tired looking and the chocolate-brown, sticky carpet urgently needs replacing. Shower and bathroom were excellent and the whole place was immaculately clean. Fitness centre is small but OK. Location is good for the station and a 10-15 minute walk into town. The main problem I had was with the noise outside. While I realise the hotel can't do anything about major roadworks outside, the fact that it started at 7 on the dot was a real issue. And this isn't merely a case of the odd drill...it's major work with excavators that makes the windows actually rattle! You can be sure of a pleasant welcome, but if noise isn't your thing then maybe try elsewhere until the works are finished.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unionmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Unionmark ,

Thank you for this review!
This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services.

The location of the Hotel has lots advantages unfortunately the city center comes with some noise, our sincere apology that this was disturbing for you. The construction arround the Hotel is indeed a strugle but the surroundings will improve.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was my third business trip to Utrecht in four months and the first time in the Park Plaza. This was ideal location for train station and my office location both only minutes away. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was a little tired looking and in need of a makeover but it was very clean. Wifi was a little hit and miss but adequate. Very good selection on offer for breakfast (both cold and hot). My only gripe is the additional cost to park your car although normal at most hotels in a Holland. Taking everything into consideration I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Barneswallisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Mr. Martin S,

Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel an our staff members, we will sure share this with them.
We are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

i wasn't over impressed with the hotel itself. The room was fairly basic for the price and importantly the shower was poor. It went from extreme hot to cold and vice versa.

On the flip side, the location was convenient from the train station.

I must put a positive word in for the staff. Extremely welcoming and courteous throughout my stay; this may persuade me to return even though the hotel didn't set the world on fire.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Gary T ,

Your comments about the staff are very important to us and we will share this with them all.
Renovation of the hotel is started in 2008 with the ground floor, in 2010 the first two floors are done and in 2011 the conference floor.
We have no planning for the rest of the rooms yet but we are sure this is still to come.

Our sincere apology for the shower pressure, please inform me which room you were in so we can resolve this.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed a couple of nights at the Park Plaza in early February. The welcome from reception was excellent and that was a standard that characterised our stay. The rooms were well furnished, clean and although overlooking the station, quiet; if you listened very carefully, you might have just heard a train but pretty unlikely.
Breakfast was very good,with a wide selection on offer - fruit, cereal, cold meat, cheese, egg, bacon, sausage etc and wonderfully fresh bread.
Checkout was efficient.
To cap it all, the price (this was a weekend stay) was good value for a central hotel in a major Dutch city.
The only problem - and this was not serious or any fault of the hotel - is that in common with most Dutch towns and cities, the centre is being dug-up and this meant walking time to the restaurants, shops etc was longer than might otherwise be the case. However, we were easily able to walk into the centre withing 10-15 minutes, so no real inconvenience.
Would I stay there again? Certainly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexsaxplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Essexsaxplayer,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor!

Please be informed that our team members are always there to assist you to find the fastest way to the city.

We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed staying with us and that you would like to stay with us again. We are looking forward welcoming soon!

Kind regards, Jenny Noz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The best part of this hotel is that its walking distance from the centraal station. The floors on the lower floor has modern look. They do not have bath tub in new refurbished rooms. if you want bath tub then ask reception to give you a room with it.

Again breakfast choices are less but you can ask for eggs in various ways from Kitchen at no cost. Breakfast items got reduced since my last stay, I think they are reducing cost. Lacks veg and warm items.

Room Tip: You can order eggs for breakfast at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piyush P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Mr. or Mrs. Piyush p,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your contribution about your stay at Tripadvisor!

We are sorry to hear about the breakfast. Please let us know what was missing at the breakfast buffet. As breakfast is important to our guests and therefore to us, we do change items on a regular basis, however the variety shouldn't be less.

Mr. or Mrs. Piyush, thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again when travels bring you back to the area.

Kind regards, Jenny Noz
jnoz@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A very well located hotel as its within walking distance to the Utrecht Centraal train station. Otherwise a well kept hotel with access to free wifi. It is rather expensive as compared to other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yugz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear yugz24 ,

Thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel, this is much appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back in the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
+31 30 29 25 160

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#6 of 22 in Utrecht
708 reviews
Ibis Utrecht
#12 of 22 in Utrecht
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
896 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Utrecht

Address: Westplein 50, 3531 BL Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#5 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#8 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range: £63 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Utrecht is a four star property very centrally located; Utrecht Central Train Station, Exhibition Center 'De Jaarbeurs' and the historical city centre are situated within walking distance of the hotel. The 120 guest rooms offer all modern comfort. Free wireless internet is in the entire hotel available. Drinks and dishes of the a la carte menu can be enjoyed in the bar, brasserie or restaurant. Park Plaza Utrecht offers as well a sauna, fitness and (paid) private parking facilities. So the ideal location to stay in during your time in Utrecht! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Plaza Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Utrecht Hotel Utrecht
Utrecht Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing