We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service, but hotel needs refreshing”
Review of Park Plaza Utrecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Utrecht
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great customer service, but hotel needs refreshing”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed overnight on business; easy location near the Utrecht Central Station. The reception and bar staff are real friendly and eager to help, top ratings for customer service with a smile.

However the hotel itself is somewhat worn-out, from carpets to door knobs. One major miss - its a business hotel; and work desk has 1 power outlet that goes off when you switch light off? Yes, you could unscrew the bulb; yes there is another outlet deep under the table - but this is 2014, after all.

Its not a bad hotel, but it does need renovation.

Room Tip: There is construction going on around; noise from early morning until late; if you are easily distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Norski_Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Mr. A_Norski_Rus,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for this review.
This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services.

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff, this is much appeciated and will be shared.
Indeed there is contruction arround the Hotel, we are in close contact with the City and the contructors to be able to limit the annoyance. We are sure the surroundings will improve.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    531
    287
    107
    53
See reviews for
151
355
97
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The reason for my negative opinion was the gap between expectations and delivery.

I didn't know the Park Plaza brand, had never stayed in one. I read on the website that they are a chain of "luxury, design-led" hotels. This conjures in my mind memories of Radisson Blus, or, even better, of actual luxury design hotels: Clift, Standard, Mondrian, etc. There's also a Park Plaza near where I live (Victoria, London) whose public areas are very nice. I was hopeful.

What we found was basically a Holiday Inn. An honest 3-star hotel with a comfortable bed, a clean bland room, and an acceptable breakfast. No issue with that: I was just expecting something different. It was a business trip and I spent a total of 8 hours in the hotel, for 7 of which I slept.

My colleagues complained that the trains passing by the station woke them up multiple times. They didn't wake me, but that's a personal thing.

Someone else had booked it for me, so I learnt the price only at checkout. It was very cheap. With expectations reset by the price, it was actually OK value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear edtealdi ,

Thank you for time you took to write this review,
Our apology that although the price quality was okay it was not upto your expecttations.

We renovated the Hotel partly already, we started with the ground floor and did already 40 rooms, We hope to renovate the rest of the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Utrecht hotels

Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here while travelling through Holland last month. Staff were perfect in all areas and let me check in slightly early, very professional and friendly. Room was well appointed but rather tired looking and the chocolate-brown, sticky carpet urgently needs replacing. Shower and bathroom were excellent and the whole place was immaculately clean. Fitness centre is small but OK. Location is good for the station and a 10-15 minute walk into town. The main problem I had was with the noise outside. While I realise the hotel can't do anything about major roadworks outside, the fact that it started at 7 on the dot was a real issue. And this isn't merely a case of the odd drill...it's major work with excavators that makes the windows actually rattle! You can be sure of a pleasant welcome, but if noise isn't your thing then maybe try elsewhere until the works are finished.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unionmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Unionmark ,

Thank you for this review!
This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services.

The location of the Hotel has lots advantages unfortunately the city center comes with some noise, our sincere apology that this was disturbing for you. The construction arround the Hotel is indeed a strugle but the surroundings will improve.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This was my third business trip to Utrecht in four months and the first time in the Park Plaza. This was ideal location for train station and my office location both only minutes away. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was a little tired looking and in need of a makeover but it was very clean. Wifi was a little hit and miss but adequate. Very good selection on offer for breakfast (both cold and hot). My only gripe is the additional cost to park your car although normal at most hotels in a Holland. Taking everything into consideration I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barneswallisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Mr. Martin S,

Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel an our staff members, we will sure share this with them.
We are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

i wasn't over impressed with the hotel itself. The room was fairly basic for the price and importantly the shower was poor. It went from extreme hot to cold and vice versa.

On the flip side, the location was convenient from the train station.

I must put a positive word in for the staff. Extremely welcoming and courteous throughout my stay; this may persuade me to return even though the hotel didn't set the world on fire.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Gary T ,

Your comments about the staff are very important to us and we will share this with them all.
Renovation of the hotel is started in 2008 with the ground floor, in 2010 the first two floors are done and in 2011 the conference floor.
We have no planning for the rest of the rooms yet but we are sure this is still to come.

Our sincere apology for the shower pressure, please inform me which room you were in so we can resolve this.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed a couple of nights at the Park Plaza in early February. The welcome from reception was excellent and that was a standard that characterised our stay. The rooms were well furnished, clean and although overlooking the station, quiet; if you listened very carefully, you might have just heard a train but pretty unlikely.
Breakfast was very good,with a wide selection on offer - fruit, cereal, cold meat, cheese, egg, bacon, sausage etc and wonderfully fresh bread.
Checkout was efficient.
To cap it all, the price (this was a weekend stay) was good value for a central hotel in a major Dutch city.
The only problem - and this was not serious or any fault of the hotel - is that in common with most Dutch towns and cities, the centre is being dug-up and this meant walking time to the restaurants, shops etc was longer than might otherwise be the case. However, we were easily able to walk into the centre withing 10-15 minutes, so no real inconvenience.
Would I stay there again? Certainly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexsaxplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Essexsaxplayer,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor!

Please be informed that our team members are always there to assist you to find the fastest way to the city.

We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed staying with us and that you would like to stay with us again. We are looking forward welcoming soon!

Kind regards, Jenny Noz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The best part of this hotel is that its walking distance from the centraal station. The floors on the lower floor has modern look. They do not have bath tub in new refurbished rooms. if you want bath tub then ask reception to give you a room with it.

Again breakfast choices are less but you can ask for eggs in various ways from Kitchen at no cost. Breakfast items got reduced since my last stay, I think they are reducing cost. Lacks veg and warm items.

Room Tip: You can order eggs for breakfast at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyush P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Mr. or Mrs. Piyush p,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your contribution about your stay at Tripadvisor!

We are sorry to hear about the breakfast. Please let us know what was missing at the breakfast buffet. As breakfast is important to our guests and therefore to us, we do change items on a regular basis, however the variety shouldn't be less.

Mr. or Mrs. Piyush, thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again when travels bring you back to the area.

Kind regards, Jenny Noz
jnoz@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 22 in Utrecht
593 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Utrecht
#10 of 22 in Utrecht
511 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Utrecht

Property: Park Plaza Utrecht
Address: Westplein 50, 3531 BL Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#5 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#6 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Utrecht is a four star property very centrally located; Utrecht Central Train Station, Exhibition Center 'De Jaarbeurs' and the historical city centre are situated within walking distance of the hotel. The 120 guest rooms offer all modern comfort. Free wireless internet is in the entire hotel available. Drinks and dishes of the a la carte menu can be enjoyed in the bar, brasserie or restaurant. Park Plaza Utrecht offers as well a sauna, fitness and (paid) private parking facilities. So the ideal location to stay in during your time in Utrecht! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Utrecht Hotel Utrecht
Utrecht Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing