We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and food, helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Utrecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Plaza Utrecht
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great location and food, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for a few days to see family at the end of our recent European vacation. In general the hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was small but clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was sumptious, and we had lunch in the bar a couple of days and the food was outstanding. The location is quite handy to the Utrecht Central Station -- the secret to get to the train platforms is to hang a left leaving the hotel, walk down the bike path between the two construction zones which looks like an unpromising alley, follow the sign to
'Spoor 1-19', and after you turn left, you're underneath the train platforms. Just take the staircase for the platform you need, and you're ready to board your train. My wife developed a very painful knee problem during our trip, and the staff was able to track down a pair of crutches for her to use on a Sunday, no charge. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank looseleaf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Family looseleaf52,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for this revieuw about your stay in Park Plaza Utrecht. This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services.

Thank you for al your nice comments about the hotel and about out staff, this is much appreciated, we will share this with our staff.
I hope the knee of your wife is doing a litle better.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    493
    269
    101
    46
See reviews for
142
338
92
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

When we visit Utrecht we prefer Park Plaza for the good relationship between price and quality, the very helpfull staff and the fact that city centre is at walking distance. This time we had a small issue at the bar. After dinner (in Vis en Meer, by the way a very nice fish restaurant) we ordered in the bar of the hotel a half bottle Bollinger. There was no price list readily available but the person attending the bar told us that it was about 28 €. After paying the bill we noticed that it was not 28 € but 39 € ...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear jean2612,

Thank you for the time you took to write this review, it is verry important for us.
Our sincere apology for the misunderstanding about the price of the champagne.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in Park Plaza Utrecht.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Park Plaza is in itself an average brand - not a Radisson and not a Park Inn. And the hotel is average - not bad nor exceptional. Rooms are reasonable size but overlook a busy road. Hence no windows open.

Breakfast is standard and formulaic - nor bad but not outstanding either. Staff are nice. I have used the fitness room in the past and although small it does the job.

Given the local so close to a number of very large international companies I always think it must do well but the rival hotel just meters away may affect the level of investment here.

Proximity to the station is a bonus of course. Avoid the mini supermarkets in there though. Prices are so high for basic foods that it is tantamount to organised crime. And there are several of the same brand in the station. Get advice from the staff on alternatives.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear FrequentTraveller921,

Thank you for this review, although it is not nor good nor bad, it is of great importance to us.
Please note that after we renovated the ground floor a few years ago we did also renovate already 40 rooms in 2010, the conference floor in 2012 and this year (yesterday) the whole restaurant was equipped with new chairs.
We hope we can do some rooms this year.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a group en-route to Germany and the staff were absolutely fantastic, so helpful in sorting out rooms for us. They even conjured up a small cake for someone's birthday! Charming, smiling and efficient would all apply. The hotel is a newish building with good sized rooms and was spotlessly clean with wooden floors and a nice bathroom. The Park Plaza is minutes from the station in a fairly central location,
This is a brief review as my stay was brief, arriving late and leaving early but I would stay there in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soulsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Soulsville,

Thank your nice comments about our staff; we will share this with them.
We try to create a home from home for our guests, especially when somebody has his birthday travelling alone we think this is very important.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel i situated close to the central station. It was quite a bit of construction going on when I visited, so the area was a bit messy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was tired, but clean. All in all OK, but nothing special. I have stayed in much nicer four-star hotels than this.

Big minus for paid parking at 18.50 pr. day. Should be free for overnight guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridtjof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Mr. Fridtjof D,

Thank you for the time you took to write this review, this helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services.

Your comments about the staff are much appreciated and will be shared. The surroundings of the Hotel are indeed in construction but we are convinced this will improve the area.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Instead of insulating the windows free earplugs are supplied (you can find them in the drawer). When I commented in the reception about the noise I thought that I would be told that we are right next to the train station (which is a great advantage) however I was told next time to ask for a room on the quiet side which of course lead to the question why I didn't get that in the first place?!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ove S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Ove S,

Thank you for you the time you took to write this review.
The location of the Hotel has lots of advantages unfortunately the noise is not one of them if you are not used to. We always try to meet all our guest wishes.
Of course we cannot meet all wishes.

when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel very welcoming and friendly, rooms and general layout a little dated, feels a bit like 70's style. Gym is not really a gym, more of a small room with a running machine and 6 dumbells in. Easy walk from the station makes this a plus and location. Cost does not really justify the room setup.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear AdrianCTate,

We would like to thank you for this rewiew.
This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services.

Your comments about our staff being friendly and welcoming are much appreciated, thak you for that!

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 21 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#7 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Utrecht

Property: Park Plaza Utrecht
Address: Westplein 50, 3531 BL Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#5 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#6 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Utrecht is a four star property very centrally located; Utrecht Central Train Station, Exhibition Center 'De Jaarbeurs' and the historical city centre are situated within walking distance of the hotel. The 120 guest rooms offer all modern comfort. Free wireless internet is in the entire hotel available. Drinks and dishes of the a la carte menu can be enjoyed in the bar, brasserie or restaurant. Park Plaza Utrecht offers as well a sauna, fitness and (paid) private parking facilities. So the ideal location to stay in during your time in Utrecht! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Plaza Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Utrecht Hotel Utrecht
Utrecht Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing