We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Utrecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Plaza Utrecht
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Here
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Park Plaza is in a construction zone, which made access slightly difficult, despite its being very close to the train station. As we were there on a weekend, there wasn't much noise, but we had to detour around excavations. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Room was nice - somewhat bigger than your average European room. Bathroom was quite attractive. Other than things over which the had no control, a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank xoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny N, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Xoo,

Thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel.
We are aware of the fact that there is a lot construction around the hotel but we are sure the situation will improve so the area will be more attractive.

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    493
    269
    101
    47
See reviews for
142
339
92
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

It may seem a little isolated from the rest of the city and therefore requires some walking, the hotel was great! The walk itself, once you get the bearing, wasn't so bad, despite the awful shopping mall you may need to go through to reach town. Considering the price, I would stay there again if I return to Utrecht,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank beebahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear beebahk,

That is one impressive number of cities (and hotels) visited!
That makes it even greater that you enjoyed your stay at Park Plaza Utrecht!

Keep travelling safe and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

staff and service excellent - location blighted by roadworks at the moment - but close to the station and centre of Utrecht. I had a good/restful stay. The rest of this is just text to satisfy the ridiculous criteria of 200 words minimum to qualify for a valid review

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mark H,

We had quite a laugh here reading about the 200 word minimum. We didn't even know that actually!
Anyway, on behalf of the whole Park Plaza Utrecht team, I would like to thank you very much for your positive reply!

Kindest regards and travel safe,

Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Recently stopped for one night on a business trip. The hotel is okay, nothing special but then I wasn't really looking for anything special. The main problem at the moment is the amount of construction taking place in that area.
I flew in to Amsterdam and then got the train in to Utrecht Centraal station. I booked the Park Plaza for it's convenience and proximity to the station but trying to get from the station to the hotel was a bit of a nightmare! A lot of footpaths have been blocked off and several roads have been closed in part too. I ended up walking probably 15 minutes longer than I should which may not sound much but after a day in the office then a flight and then a train journey, it's the last thing you want.
The hotel itself is clean but a bit dated looking with a small bar area and fairly restricted menu in the restaurant. The food was fairly decent, again nothing special.
For a one night business trip it was fine but I would probably look elsewhere if staying longer.
Be prepared for a 6am wake up call for your local friendly construction workers :)

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any rooms insulated from the construction noise but probably worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Paul S,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your visit.
It's a pity to hear that the constructions in town costed you important relax time!
Please trust that we do everything in our power to keep any inconvenience caused by construction works in town to a minimum.

Hope to see you back in Utrecht soon.

Kindest regards,

Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very friendly and professional staff and accommodations like coffee/tea, bathroom consumables, fridge and air condition made our stay simply great. Unluckily, the hotel is surrounded by a big road construction site and therefore it is cumbersome to find the entrance itself. The breakfast and the overnight parking are simply overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Foreheadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Foreheadman,

Thanks for visiting (and reviewing) our hotel!
Great to hear that you enjoyed it.
Regarding the prices; please visit our website the next time you visit to get the best bed&breakfast rates available!

Hope to welcome you back in the (near) future.

Kindest regards,

Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, the staff were helpful and attentive, the restaurant menu was good and the food well presented. The room was clean. The windows were sealed and the shower wasn't very powerful. In a good location although the surrounding building work made getting in and out of the hotel difficult.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear James E,

Thanks for recommending us! Hopefully we may welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrassa, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nothing awesome, but it is not a bad hotel. This is an standar one.
Positive things:
* it is really close to the train station (2 min walking) and despite of this I heard not noise from the trains (I was on the 1st floor, same level than train rails, but there's a noise shield. I do not know in other floors).
* Gym has a fantastic view. It is on the top floor. It has also sauna but I didn't use it (it was turned off and I had not much spare time to use).

Neutral
* Room is clean and tidy, but a little small. Table to work was OK, but with a lot of stuff there that was annoying (coffee machine, bottles of wine, hotel booklets...)
* Restaurant is Ok, food was good, and waitresses were cool. But it is a little small and not very assorted for breakfast.

Negatives:
* There were some noise a first time of the morning because some street work. I hope it should be finished for my next time.
* My room was hot until I discovered the aircon was turned off and I should turn on. Not a big deal.
* Can NOT open windows to let some fresh air coming in...

Room Tip: There's a side facing to the railway. As I said, I was in the first floor and there were no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otmbarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Otmbarna,

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay! And thank you for taking the time to review.
We are working hard on being (even more) awesome, so please return any time soon to check if we are on the right track!

Kind regards,
Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 21 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#7 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Utrecht

Property: Park Plaza Utrecht
Address: Westplein 50, 3531 BL Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#5 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#6 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Utrecht is a four star property very centrally located; Utrecht Central Train Station, Exhibition Center 'De Jaarbeurs' and the historical city centre are situated within walking distance of the hotel. The 120 guest rooms offer all modern comfort. Free wireless internet is in the entire hotel available. Drinks and dishes of the a la carte menu can be enjoyed in the bar, brasserie or restaurant. Park Plaza Utrecht offers as well a sauna, fitness and (paid) private parking facilities. So the ideal location to stay in during your time in Utrecht! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Utrecht Hotel Utrecht
Utrecht Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing