We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel, highly recommended”
Review of Mary K Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mary K Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two different weeks in March 2014 and it was so good I am moved to write a review. The hotel is in a lovely, picturesque location in the centre of Utrecht, canalside, but five minutes walk away from the busy part. My room for each stay faced onto the canal at the front and was lovely and quiet.

The hotel is beautifully designed and decorated with careful thought given to the comfort and style of each individual room. The beds are really comfortable and there are nice touches such as Marin and Goetz toiletries provided in each room, nespresso machines, kettles, etc. Breakfast was great.

What really makes this hotel outstanding is the staff - they were all amazing, so friendly and welcoming, but not over-bearing. They work very hard to make this hotel as special as it is - again, small touches that really make a difference, such as providing me with a small jug of milk in my room each day for my cup of tea (the Dutch seem to be put creamer in everything!) and a flower in a jug with a personal message on arrival, looking up train times, and so on.

I would suggest that anyone thinking of opening a boutique hotel or B&B carry out a research visit and by staying at the Mary K to see how they do it. I'm so glad I booked here for my visit to Utrecht rather than a big corporate hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Mary K Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Such a lovely little hotel with beautifully decorated rooms with individual touches and quirky features like a mini-easel, flowers and fun toiletries. Every detail has been thought of and it was real pleasure to stay here.

I stayed here on business (choosing it myself based on reviews here, instead of the 'business' chain hotels my company recommended) and it was brilliant with free wifi access and great train connections (only 10 min walk to the station). Location was also good for restaurants and shops (only 5 min from the main restaurant area)

Be warned that there's no lift and its a (beautiful) old town house with steep stairs if you're on the top floor with lots of luggage!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After nearly 20 years of traveling to Utrecht I've finally found a place that more than goes out of its to make you feel at home and appreciated.
Stayed at nearly every hotel in this wonderful city and not a single one (including the snooty Karel V) has warm and welcoming atmosphere……enough about them.
The Mary K run by a wonderful young couple (with a baby on the way) and a very attentive staff has set the bar high in Utrecht.
They know your name when you walk in and every time they see you they stop, make eye contact and ask how thing are.
The rooms are all decorated with the individual touches of local artists and are kept to a very clean standard.
During my visit (8 days) I stayed in two different rooms on the ground floor. The room at the back has a semi-private garden and a hanging basket chair (great for couples xoxoxo). The room in the front is a bit larger and better suited to the business traveler.

For breakfast there are three choices that more than covers what you need to start your day, all ingredients are top notch.
On the weekends the cellar has a nice bar and entertainment in a historical yet hip and intimate atmosphere.
I highly recommend the Mary K

Room Tip: During my visit (8 days) I stayed in two different rooms on the ground floor. The room at the back h...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HIYADON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

From the very friendly welcome by Niels, to the personal message in my room, I can honestly say what a wonderful hotel this is.
My room called the bedstead was amazingly quirky! A super funky carpet and raised bed make the room very different and have a canal view too.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

That is a real boutique hotel. A few rooms, personalized service. Every room is different, with a lot of character. It is situated in a lovely and part of the city, right in front of the canal. About 10 min walk from the central station.

Great breakfast too! Will 100% be back next time I pass by Utrecht.

Room Tip: Can't really go wrong. Be aware that at least some rooms (incl #3) offer a fairly elevated bed w...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at Mary K Hotel for three nights with work colleagues on our recent trip to Utrecht - we all talked about going back there just to stay at the hotel again :) Personal service, great breakfast and individual rooms - only nine in total I think, saw five of them and found them all very inviting and unusual. Quiet street by a canal near the historic centre in Utrecht, close to some wonderful restaurants. Would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Greenhouse and it had direct access to the garden!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergensanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My son and I stayed for 2 nights from 1 to 3 September 2013. We were booked into the Garden Room. The room had a very stylish contemporary design plus some interesting art work in the form of a mural on the wall (quite amusing but may scare the kids). The room was very comfortable and clean and there were some nice touches like a personal welcome note from the hotel plus free coffee from one of those hard to fathom coffee machines.

The bathroom facilities consisted of an en-suite wet room which was very modern and well equipped.

The staff at this hotel are extremely welcoming and very friendly/ helpful. The only very minor criticism I would have was that the breakfast options are a little basic (typical British comment when a fry up isn't available) and the cost a little steep. However there is a multitude of alternative eateries nearby so not really an issue. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I can only vouch for the Garden Room which was very nice. Also for all you smokers out there this r...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 22 in Utrecht
650 reviews
Eye Hotel
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
540 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary K Hotel

Address: Oudegracht 25 | 3511 AB, 3511 AB Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range: £112 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary K Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mary K Hotel is a green deluxe art-hotel situated in a 18th century canal house on the well known 'Oudegracht' in downtown Utrecht. She accommodates nine rooms of various sizes and themes. We divided them in Cosy Small, Comfortable Medium and Large Deluxe. But every single one of them is totally different. For example "the Bedstead", where you can eat, sleep, read or watch television while watching the boats pass by. 'The Greenhouse", where you can rest yourself in a retro relaxed atmosphere with a sliding door towards the garden. And 'the Royal Rooftop" a suite with a beautiful canal view. Especially at night when the light come out. The whole interior of the Mary K Hotel was designed together with Utrecht based artists. Although Mary K offers you the comforts of a luxury hotel, we aim for the atmosphere to be laid-back, friendly and personal. We can safely say that we are one of the greenest hotels in Utrecht. During the development and renovation process, we have sourced our materials carefully. And now that we are up and running we do everything we can to work as environmentally friendly as possible. Just because we think that this is the only right way to run our business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mary K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing