We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ok for business”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

In a good location, convenient to Central station and Historic canal area. It is in walking distance to various restaurants and the Dom cathedral. The desk clerk will bombard you with do you want to upgrade to a room with airconditioning for 25.00 more per night. Wi-fi is not free in the room and neither is TV , 32.50 for a week package buys you movies, wi-fi and tv channels. A word of caution..you can only use one computer or telephone on the wireless..if you try to use two it will have to be reset by the company and there is a wait involved. You can hook up a computer to the wire and use wireless for another device. The rooms were decorated ok but dirty. The floors havent been mopped in looks like years. It was last updated in 2006. The full bed was 2 twins put together with a mattress topper ontop. I kept falling in the crack of the bed. It was much softer than other beds I have slept in here in Europe. Also the carpets in the hall were filthy and stained, the elevator was dirty. Overall I wasn't happy with the place for the price and Breakfast is 19.00 euros.We took the upgrade and the room faced the busy intersection so it was noisy until late at night.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade but try to get one not facing the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbh3ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    285
    200
    76
    39
See reviews for
72
184
66
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The staff was extremely helpful. The room was adequately sized and very clean. The bathroom was alright. There were tea and coffee in the room. Supplied Iron stand in room. They have breakfast lobby for Eur 17 and WiFi is not inclusive. There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner. However, the lcoation is brilliant. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping centres outside of the hotel. The train station is 10 minutes walk.

If I go back to Utrecht, I wills tay here again, despite a few drawbacks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saqib C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I had a tiny, dark room with old wornout furniture - there was even not a real bed but a type of sofa. no extra socket for charging a mobile and/or a computer: all sockets were occupied by TV and lamps. the shower tray was very shallow - after showering the whole tiny bath room is under water.
in wintertime the heating is very noisy.
everything has to be paid extra: for WI-FI in the rooms (free WI-FI only in the lounge), even for a bigger choice of TV-channels you have to pay, the ones you get for free are mainly dutch or low quality (trash)-TV,
breakfast is very expensive (19 euros!) but choice is average (to me uncut offered tomatoes and paprikas were nicely arranged but seemed unwashed and of poor quality, joghurt is served luke warm...).
this hotel is way too expensive for its quality! they claim to be a 4* - but I would rate it more 2*- 3*
on my upcoming next trip to Utrecht I definitely won't stay there again.

Room Tip: avoid room 810
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ingrid s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelUtrecht, Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Apollo Hotel Utrecht. We were very happy that we received parts of your feedback that is shared online during your stay. Directly after receiving your feedback our General Manager had a nice conversation with you as we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us.
I'm very sorry to read that you found the room overall felt tiny, dark and worn-out to you and also note that you found did not enjoy the facilities as provided in your room.
We are a 90 room property which was originated from 1952. We have worked hard to retain the original feeling and cosiness of the property whilst ensuring that we provide every facility and thoughtful extra that we believe that our guests will enjoy. Each and every one of our rooms is individually decorated, in the case of room 810 a special phi-ton bed has been provided for your comfort. The lay-out of each room may vary in some cases but we will always try to find the most comfortable room according to each guest's needs, preferences. Thank you for pointing out the shortage on sockets, we have informed our maintenance department about this and they are working on it as we speak.
We regularly price-check comparative hotels to ensure that we are charging a fair price for the quality of ingredients and food that we provide for breakfast so again I'm sorry to learn that you found us to be expensive. I am happy that you enjoyed our variety of fresh vegetables offered on the buffet, I am happy to inform you that we rinse the vegetables before offering it to our guests as prescribed in our Standard Operating Procedures. I have informed the kitchen staff to increase the temperature checks that are done on a daily basis to make guarantee that our products are served on the right temperature at all times.
Please accept my apologies that you found our hotel to be of less quality. Our General Manager Patrick Aarsman was very happy to get the opportunity to talk to you as our well respected guest and tried to solve you complaints as much as possible during your stay.
Please rest assured that we make a point of using any such constructive feedback in the most appropriate way.

In case there is anything else we can help you with, please feel free to contact our General Manager directly through the business card provided to you.

Kind regards
Carla Ridder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Utrecht hotels

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location is practical, near the city center and the central station. Rooms and service are average. Again, the location is excellent for whom wants to be near the historical center. As is the new custom in Dutch hotels, breakfast is expensive.

Room Tip: The 'executive rooms' are definitely better than the standard rooms and worth the extra char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buntinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent: a few steps away from the Central Station and the beautiful city centre. Friendly staff but far too expensive for its quality. Rooms are very old-fashioned with early 90s style toilets. In addition everything should be paid as an extra: TV (for real even the TV is not free of charge); internet (only available in the lounge, 9 euros per day otherwise) and breakfast (19 euros!). Given all the extras the price is non-competitive and there are far better options in Utrecht.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback following your stay with us last month.
I'm was pleased to read that you found our service friendly and enjoyed our central location. I am most concerned to read of your disappointments with regards to the extra charges during your stay. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the 21 free channels that our TV system does offer? Special digital and international channels do come with an extra charge.
I am happy to inform you that free WIFI is available in our lounge 24/7 including free coffee and tea facilities.

We regularly price-check comparative hotels to ensure that we are charging a fair price for the quality of ingredients and food that we provide during breakfast, I'm sorry to learn that you found us to be expensive.

I very much hope that we would be able to persuade you to come and visit us on a future occasion.

Kind regards and many thanks once again for your valuable feedback.
Odylle van den Houten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It is a fantastic hotel if you are travelling on business.

Best parts:

1. Bang opposite Utrecht Centraal railway station, bus stand and taxi stand
2. Next to the canal of Utrecht lined with restaurants and shops with reasonable priced food. Very close to the dome as well.
3. Rooms with balcony-for your that occasional urge to smoke
4. Helpful staff

Could be improved

1. No restaurant (you don't need one as its in the middle of sea of restaurants)
2. Some of the rooms could be extremely small even by European standards

Room Tip: Always ask for the rooms with balcony as that guarantees your rooms would be big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shata25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your valued feedback online. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our very central location. I have passed on your kind words to our helpful
team.
Our hotel features three different room types and which comes with different room sizes. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your spacious room with balcony.

We all hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards
Odylle van den Houten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in December and I was really happy with location. Room was clean and service friendly. Only minus is that there is no wi-fi in rooms. Although it was possible to use free wi-fi in lounge area. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plungebytiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I was delighted to read your comments following your stay in our hotel and that we met your expectations. I hope that you will join us once again in the near future. I have passed on your kind words to the team here at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Odylle van den Houten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 22 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre

Property: Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre
Address: Vredenburg 14, 3511 BA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre offers modern accommodation right in the heart of Utrecht, only 300 metres from both Central Station and the historic Oudegracht canal. It features an internet lounge and 24-hour reception.All hotel rooms are equipped with a spacious bathroom, a comfortable seating area and tea facilities. They are decorated with bright colours and modern lighting. Some rooms have a panoramic view on the surrounding city scenery.Every morning, Apollo Hotel City Centre offers an extensive breakfast buffet. In-room breakfast is available as well. Guests can catch up on e-mails at the Internet & Coffee Lounge with a free cup of coffee or tea.The city of Utrecht offers characteristic canals, lovely shopping streets, a wide range of museums and the famous Dom Tower. In the surrounding area of Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre, there are many cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utrecht Apollo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing