We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purely B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great central location. But no place to meet anyone or wait for them unless on the 9th floor lounge! No bar. But with the night life of Utrecht you don't need a great hotels.
Rooms are clean and comfy. But try and get rooms on floors 7,8 away from the traffic.
No air con can compromise things.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Super centric hotel, we got a great room, prixe was fair, I really recomend this place, is like 3 minutes walk to the central station, and also near the main center. Everything was new in the room, it was quite warm when we got in the afternoon and they didnt had air conditioner but it was ok, in the night it was comfortable

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Andres Mauricio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Welcome on arrival was good. small lobby area with no facilities. Room is a single, but comfortable. I forgot they existed! Tea making facilities, but no real tea...all fruit nonsense. but noisy, single glazed, ill fitting window and paper thin walls. Bathroom clean but small and poorly laid out. Breakfast excellent, lots of fresh fruit and veg! Including orange juicer. Overall, ok but pricey won't be rushing back

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llamaman888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel for two nights while I had to be in Utrecht for business. The location is amazing. Right in the heart of the city center, walking distance from “neude” square, right at “vredeburg” square and a 5 min walk to the tracks of Utrecht Central Station.

The rooms inside are old, which surprised me because they didn’t look anything like the pictures on the site. My room was right above KFC so for the time I was in my room - all I smelled was fried chicken and french fries.

Check-in and checkout was extremely slow. Especially checkout, with the guy being on the phone for a good 10-15 minutes without reaching out to a colleague for assistance for me and other guests who were checking in / checking out.

Breakfast is 19,95 which is quite expensive for what you’re getting (especially with starbucks and bakerstreet across the street).

Other than that the bed was comfy, the room was quiet and the water was hot. I also asked them to bring some shopping bags to my room that were delivered and ignore the DND sign, which they did.

Really hope to see this hotel do an upgrade in service and rooms, because it could be so much more.

If you’re looking for a really nice hotel that’s just a few minutes further from the main city squares check out my Karel V review. I highly recommend their hotel if you can get it for the right price.

Room Tip: Get an outwards facing room. the inward facing rooms, face the KFC kitchen.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WytzeNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

in the downtown near the stores, you can walk all the old centre. The breakfest is very nice and the rooms are confortable. I have stayed fir 4 days, but do not the elevators are very small. Also it is little expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzana_er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hotel is weird with lots of stairs but the rooms are actually nice and clean. No view though. Bad thing was that there is no parking (5 minute walk to public parking which is 30 euro/day). Also the WiFi was not free (9 euro/day) and kind of complicated. After two minutes trying to get connected I gave up.
Couldn't find the remote for the TV so I pulled the plug to get the annoying music off. Having doubts to go there again.

Room Tip: If you just need a place to sleep then you will be okay.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. The strainght point is the good position in the central of city, near Central station. Weaknesses: very expensive considering the offer. Very small lift, cheap look of carpet and furniture, no free wifi or wired internet in the room, basic facilities in the bathroom (they hardly filled the shower cream), no minibar in the room, no watter otles in the room (a hot watter can, for tea or instant coffee was available), poor tv offer, 20 eur/breakfast, not included in the room cost.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lili G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Lili G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed in the hotel and that we were not able to reach your expectations. Our main goal is to offer a good value for money.
We do hope that we could welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jolanda van Nimwegen-Ruiter
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 22 in Utrecht
650 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Utrecht
#13 of 22 in Utrecht
1,342 reviews
Eye Hotel
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
166 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#2 of 22 in Utrecht
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre

Address: Vredenburg 14, 3511 BA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range: £78 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre offers modern accommodation right in the heart of Utrecht, only 300 metres from both Central Station and the historic Oudegracht canal. It features an internet lounge and 24-hour reception.All hotel rooms are equipped with a spacious bathroom, a comfortable seating area and tea facilities. They are decorated with bright colours and modern lighting. Some rooms have a panoramic view on the surrounding city scenery.Every morning, Apollo Hotel City Centre offers an extensive breakfast buffet. In-room breakfast is available as well. Guests can catch up on e-mails at the Internet & Coffee Lounge with a free cup of coffee or tea.The city of Utrecht offers characteristic canals, lovely shopping streets, a wide range of museums and the famous Dom Tower. In the surrounding area of Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre, there are many cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utrecht Apollo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing