We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overal ok, but some big mistakes made during our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in March 2014 for two nights at the Keizer Karel V hotel. The hotel is very nice, good located, parking was convenient, breakfast was very good, so is the brasserie and its terrace...
I would say it would be a perfect place if it wasn't for some mistakes they made.
I invited my mother there for a weekend. When making the booking I especially asked for a suite, so I could sit in the separate living area while my mother had some rest in the afternoons. I explicitly asked during the booking to have two separate beds, which they assured me was no issue.
When arriving in the room, there was only one big bed. After informing the reception, they indicated they wanted to add an other bed in the room, however... the suite is not THAT big and putting another bed would make it very uncomfortable. So finally, after insisting they did manage to make two small beds from the big bed. It was not really done with a lot of pleasure, I did not appreciate this attitude, as I made it clear at booking and I was promised it wouldn't be an issue.
In the evening we had some room service, food was really good.
When we went to sleep, my mother found her pillow too thick. I asked the reception if they had thinner pillows. I know the person at the reception did the best he could and really looked everywhere, but couldn't find a thin pillow. Maybe we are too spoiled, but I don't think a pillow menu or even thin pillow should be too much to ask at such a kind of hotel.
My mother got sick at night (nothing to do with the food) and made some stains on the undersheet. When leaving to visit Utrecht the next day, we clearly pulled off the sheets, so the stains would be well visible. When returning in the afternoon, we saw that housekeeping did not change the undersheet. I found this really unacceptable, as you could not have missed the stains. When calling the reception asking for houskeeping to change the sheets, they indicated we had to wait until 5pm as there was no housekeeping available at that time (I don't understand this is possible in a 5 star hotel). So again I had to insist and tell them that my mother couldn't wait for another 2 hours to get some rest.... it's not nice if you need to insist. One of the reasons why taking a suite in a 5 star hotel is to get some level of service. Finally at the end two persons from the reception came to change the sheets. But again after insisting.
I think it is really unacceptable for a 5 star hotel. You pay a high price for a nice room and good service, this is worth to me, however if you need to insist and staff makes you feel like what ever you are asking is too much you feel ripped off.... that's not why I go to a 5 star hotel. I do expect some level of service at an upscale place.
So although the hotel was nice, room was ok, food and roomservice fine, location magnificent, I would not return there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keppebolletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed over Easter and had a room in the modern wing, which was rather bland and boring but very quiet, a definite plus. The porter put our bikes in the luggage room without any quibbles and offered to help us with our bags. Dinner was in the brasserie and was beautifully cooked and served, and the service was also good. However the best bit was the breakfast, which was served in a beautiful dining room, and had a first class selection - one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had (maybe there were extras because it was Easter but there was a very wide choice of fresh food). The service at breakfast was also very good. Worth staying just for the breakfast, and we got an Easter rate as well.
Overall the hotel is well located and reasonably priced, but the high rating is mainly due to the breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the Roman wing if you want a room with character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireofDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very conveniently located with very friendly staff. Rooms are comfy, facilities are great. Food was also delicious. Wifi also reliable. Interesting old building to explore. Room is spacious. The style of the decor isn't really my style, but it's good considering that the style matches the old historical building (very classic look). Don't get me wrong, the hotel is modern, it's just that the furniture aren't particularly of my liking,

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main building (reception and dining hall are here). The hotel comprises of severa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Rooms are nice and big in the main house or in the new building. Cellar bar is fine, bistro is not my choice, no athmo. Our bed had a worn out mattress, but beside that service was very helpful, nice breakfast and great location.

Room Tip: Main building has more to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jww57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Been there for one night.
Me and the family has only excellent recommendations.
Location, atmosphere, service, rooms
Everything
I don't know if there are rooms with connecting doors, so check it
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is very nice and with a unique design and located in a quiet area very close to the beautiful Utrecht city center and many restaurants and shopping. Hotel is very old with simple over utilized furniture. The bed’s matrices are completely uncomfortable and annoying during sleep. Hotel’s staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The bed’s matrices are completely uncomfortable and annoying during sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adnan-Almuslem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a few times over the years. The hotel has a special character and style. I found the reception staff very informative, friendly and helpful. The morning shift concierge is a superb representation of the charm and individual character of the hotel.
The hotel's interior and the gardens are historically interesting and memorable, breaking the modern tradition of bland top class chain hotels.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank ZZHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Eye Hotel
#2 of 23 in Utrecht
288 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#3 of 23 in Utrecht
258 reviews
NH Utrecht
#6 of 23 in Utrecht
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Mother Goose Hotel
Mother Goose Hotel
#1 of 23 in Utrecht
254 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#5 of 23 in Utrecht
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Address: Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range: £132 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Karel V – Historical Hospitality From former monastery to a military hospital to a 5* hotel that tells its guests the story of the building’s extensive history. The monumental Napoleontic wing and modern Roman wing together boost 121 exclusive rooms and suits and offers modern facilities, such as Nespresso coffee, digital television and wellness facilities. “Taking care of you, inspired by our historical DNA” Karel 5 GASTRO · BISTRO · EVENTS – Culinary experience & Memorable events Restaurant Karel 5 represents ‘Elegant Dining’ is guided by Chef de Cuisine Vito Reekers and Maitre-Sommelier Johan Kragtwijk. Bistro Karel 5 – one of the oldest monastery kitchens in The Netherlands – is defined as ‘Casual Classic’ and offers lunch, diner and bits. The Bar & Lounge, which is a part of Bistro Karel 5, is a hot spot for a one-on-one business meeting, a cup of coffee and drinks with bites. Every day vibrant events take place at Karel 5; from intimate business socials and international congresses to weddings and family dinners. Inspiring solutions for every event at a special historical location. Situated in Utrecht city centre With a view on the Dom tower and the hotel’s 10.000 m2 of city gardens, the hotel is a green oasis in the midst of the roaring city center of Utrecht. Together with ample parking facilities and in just several minutes walking distance from Utrecht Central Station, Grand Hotel Karel V is the perfect venue to explore the city’s museums, shops and canals. The highlights of the city are, amongst others, the Dom tower, DOMunder and the Central Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing