We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel but not 5 star”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend break. The hotel is clean and pleasant. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are well appointed. Beds are comfortable. There is good wifi coverage throughout. Small gym and a spa. The grounds are well-kept. It is also pleasantly situated just a few steps of the old town. It has a car park in front, which helps in a city like Utrecht. Overall a good place to stay, very correct. However, I am surprised it is rated as five-star, as it lacks the personal touch and the attention of staff one expects in that category. So overall, a convenient and pleasant place to stop, but not quite a destination you would choose to be pampered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    207
    57
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
247
43
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend break - room was a very generous size and very comfortable. Overall decor of the hotel is classic, but feels a bit like a hospital in parts. However the grounds are very lush and spacious and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre. The breakfast is definitely worth having, with high quality produce and excellent service. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_Worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A lovely hotel set in spacious and quiet grounds and yet in the city centre. The rooms are a good size and well-equipped. But what stands out is the friendliness of the staff and the excellent service. I arrived after a minor accident at Schipol and my trousers were covered in blood. Amazingly, the night concierge manage to wash the blood out and he delivered the clean trousers for me in time for breakfast. All the staff were helpful. Breakfast was included and if you order from the menu is really good. Definitely a hotel to return to!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I had stayed at the hotel during a recent business trip to Utrecht, and i really enjoyed staying there for a couple of days. The location was nice (near to the train station), and the rooms were really spacious.
The breakfast was good, and the room service was also supportive. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th room on the old block... The rain falling on the tin makes some noise... Its all right if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asif_Abbasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel Karel V is a lovely hotel a stone's throw from the centre of Utrecht. Unfortunately I was on business and only stayed the one night but the hotel was clean, nicely decorated. The bathroom was of a high standard and the beds comfortable. The hotel bar was a big understocked (i.e. only had one brand of gin) but overall a fine place to stay. As I said, I only paid a flying visit, but it is a good hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

In general this hotel and it's stuff were very very good. Was very clean all the building (reception, breakfast area, rooms, garden etc). It had a very big and beautiful garden.
But, 3 things were not correct for my opinion. The major was that when we arrived and when we checked out the stuff in the reception didn't helped us to take our baggages and make us comfortable and then to discuss about the payment or anything else. A 5* hotel that costs quit lot of money, must first take our baggages and offer us a coffee, jus or water to relax and then do anything else. The 2nd is that the breakfast was very expensive and not so rich according it's price. The 3rd was that the people that worked in the breakfast area were not so speakable with the customers. They just did their job the best the can, but not say something to the customers, not be generous, not have a smile in their mouths. And of course they must learn NOT to take our plates before we finish our food, NOT take our coffees before we drink them at all, not bring the coffees almost always spilled on his plate.

Room Tip: the best was that when we came back in the evening, the curtains and the bed were ready at all every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalre
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Wonderful location, high class hotel. On walking distance of shopping area and restaurants, really in teh center of Utrecht. The hotel has two evry good restaurants, one more or less informal (Brasserie Goeie Louisa) and a top class (Karel V). Really good food!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SufiWaalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
NH Utrecht
#5 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 22 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Property: Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Address: Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Karel V – Historical Hospitality From former monastery to a military hospital to a 5* hotel that tells its guests the story of the building’s extensive history. The monumental Napoleontic wing and modern Roman wing together boost 121 exclusive rooms and suits and offers modern facilities, such as Nespresso coffee, digital television and wellness facilities. “Taking care of you, inspired by our historical DNA” Karel 5 GASTRO · BISTRO · EVENTS – Culinary experience & Memorable events Restaurant Karel 5 represents ‘Elegant Dining’ is guided by Chef de Cuisine Vito Reekers and Maitre-Sommelier Johan Kragtwijk. Bistro Karel 5 – one of the oldest monastery kitchens in The Netherlands – is defined as ‘Casual Classic’ and offers lunch, diner and bits. The Bar & Lounge, which is a part of Bistro Karel 5, is a hot spot for a one-on-one business meeting, a cup of coffee and drinks with bites. Every day vibrant events take place at Karel 5; from intimate business socials and international congresses to weddings and family dinners. Inspiring solutions for every event at a special historical location. Situated in Utrecht city centre With a view on the Dom tower and the hotel’s 10.000 m2 of city gardens, the hotel is a green oasis in the midst of the roaring city center of Utrecht. Together with ample parking facilities and in just several minutes walking distance from Utrecht Central Station, Grand Hotel Karel V is the perfect venue to explore the city’s museums, shops and canals. The highlights of the city are, amongst others, the Dom tower, DOMunder and the Central Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing