We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dom
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
198 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After my recent stay and rereading the earlier reviews I understand them most accurately describe my own stay. Interesting rooms, there are several different types/styles - quiet, tasteful décor but maybe not always the most functional layout. Overall, pleasant and eye pleasing.
The staff is helpful, engaged in assuring the hotel guests good experience during the visit.
The location is very good with beautiful sites on all sides of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DASBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    30
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
45
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Hits all three of my requirements for work travel: excellent location, very stylish and ready for the business traveller. My room is beautiful with big windows and the most comfortable bed I can remember sleeping in at a hotel. The weird elevator is actually very modern and cool if slow... but there are only three stairs in the hotel. Once you get your luggage to your room just take the stairs. Utrecht is way cooler than I'd anticipated, and this hotel is in the middle of it all. Only downside is that the carillon of the Dom plays every 15 minutes all night so bring earplugs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jfg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a disappointment. We went with such excitement to this hotel and were expecting something different.
Instead, we found an abandoned what used to be intended as probably a hype hotel. At night, there was no one there, no reception, no security...we had to let ourselves in. Not to mention the lift which is a platform and is slow and terrifying.
You can tell someone tried to make something fancy here, but it failed miserably. :(
The bathtub was broke in the room, the whole place had a feel of grubby.
The breakfast was some croissants and jam, we had to ask for some eggs and butter extra...really poor.
At 200eur per night, this was quite a shock. Never again.

Only positive is location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I spent a night here recently (not my first) but it definitely reminded me of the things that I do not like about it and I will stay at another hotel in the future.

It all looks great .... But, lift very very very slow (I'll leave this as quirky) restaurant/cafe with no menu, no options, even no wine list just suggestions from a waiter which, like the hotel, looked good but really did not deliver.

The rooms are interesting but fail with, a safe that doesn't work, no water, no plug for the sink ( this drives me nuts when I am trying to shave so you end up wasting litre upon litre of hot water - not very Eco )

Positives, good location, it all looks good and great fast free internet

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed there for one night in January 2014. Looking to relax and catching up on some sleep (we are new parents) we choose this hotel for the location, good beds (they mention on their website that they have Auping beds) and bubble bath. At first the room looked great. It was clean, large and the we really liked the open plan. The first disappointment was that the bubble bath was not working (we stayed in Suite #4). We called the reception several times but there was no answer. We went to bed and found that there was a gap in the middle (my husband kept rolling to the middle). We ended up not sleeping so well which was a big disappointment. We mentioned the above to the staff the next morning and would have appreciated some sort of compensation but there was nothing. The choice for the hotel was Dom or the Court Hotel, next time will we try the latter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjing
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I must say that this niche hotel was quaint but memorable. From the weird lift that reminded me of one from an indoor construction site, through the very Dutch breakfast (which is served an hour later on weekends but nobody tells you that) to the eclectic room layout it was all very European but strangely welcoming. This hotel is comfortable and well positioned.

Room Tip: Make sure you close the door after exiting the lift or the next person ail not be able to call it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel in excellent location. The room very clean and tidy with a good selection of toiletries for free. Comfortable bed and huge TV. Breakfast was typically Dutch with cold meats, cheese, pastries & cereals on offer. I found the lift annoying since you have keep the floor button pressed throughout the assent / decent or the lift stops and it was very slow.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barneswallisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
NH Utrecht
#5 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
Court Hotel City Centre Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom

Property: Hotel Dom
Address: Domstraat 4, 3512 JB Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht > Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city centre of Utrecht, just several meters from the Dom church you could find our Boutique hotel “Hotel Dom”. In a historic monumental building from the 18th Century we found a way to combine the art and the elegance of an old building merged with modern design and interior. Hotel Dom is a four star Design hotel located in the shadow of the Dom tower.Our hotel counts eleven Suites which two of them are Executive Suites. These last two Suites include a private roof terrace. On our first floor we have four Private Lounges which are especially suited for meetings, drinks and Private Dining.On our Ground Floor we have a Restaurant and Cocktailbar named “Four”. In our Cocktailbar we welcome our guests and hotel guests. The Cocktailbar is a place to relax, meet each other and enjoy bites, great wines and good cocktails. Our restaurant counts 45 seats and views the beautiful and relaxing inside garden.Our name does not only come from the DOM tower but also stands for:Desire, of the beautiful things in life.Opportunities, seeing and creating chances in life.Modesty, the courage to try new things, always charmingly modest and without any pretention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing