We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oorsprongpark
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“okay....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

This hotel is pretty well located between the trainstation and the university of Utrecht. The bus stop is close, but the hotel is quiet. The rooms are small and have no frills. Unfortunately, the rooms are a bit noisy, so you might hear your room neighbor talking on the phone. The rooms are equipped with a bed (pretty soft matress), small table, small closet and an old TV. Although I ordered shared bathroom, I did get my own. This might be common politics of the hotel. The breakfast is ok, but not superb. This might also be related to the lack of food culture in Holland.

Internet is available for free.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    37
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
23
21
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

I spent three nights in Utrecht, staying in the Oorsprongpark and quite liked it. Not for everyone, as it has very steep stairs to the rooms and no elevator, but it had everything I required: reliable wi-fi, a tv and ensuite bathroom.

It was a small room (I booked a single, as it was just myself), which is what I am used to in the Netherlands, and by no means the smallest I have staid in. My room faced the rear of the building and had a window and balcony (well, fire escape, actually) that overlooked a grassy park and waterway.

The hotel is in a quiet location, but easy and quick to reach by bus (which is a big plus, as I tend to get lost easily looking for Dutch addresses). The city center is an easy walk once you figure out the lay of the land, and I used public transport to get to many of the must-see attractions (Dom tower, etc)

Staff were helpful and professional, and the Euro-style breakfast is very good (cold meats, toasts, hard-boiled eggs and a good range of condiments and spreads). The dining area is pretty large, with nice tables to sit at while planning the day ahead.

The neighborhood is nice, with a park across the main road, a transit stop close by, a restaurant on the corner of the block that seems very popular (I couldn't get a table the night I tried to go, as it was packed) and a great snack stand a couple of doors down from the Oorsprongpark.

A pleasant coffeeshop called the Culture Boat is moored on a canal not far away, visitors can enjoy mellowing out while boats of sightseers and parties float by; and the whole thing is virtually in the shadow of an enormous, Gothic-looking prison which is apparently still in use. Atmospheric!

I recommend the Oorsprongpark, more for leisure travelers than business because of it distance from downtown. While it isn't the best price in the city, its reasonable, well-run and clean.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed there for a week on a business trip, mainly just dropping in to sleep. The overall feeling is like you'd be visiting somebody's home, starting from the steep curving stairs to the breakfast room. The location is quite ok, but not perfect: walking to city center is 20min or 5min by a bus leaving almost next to the hotel. The hotel has only breakfast opportunity, but there seemed to be a restaurant close by (though I didn't go there). The rooms are slightly odd shaped and small, but clean and cozy. Also, free WiFi was nice to have so it was possible to do some work also at the room. The biggest problem in the room was the bathroom: the showerhead had practically no adjustments and it sprayed all over the place.

All and all, the quality of the hotel was good for me, but the price seemed a bit high. Maybe something like 20-30% off and this would be a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjobec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perigueux
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

I enjoyed my stay here, which was for about 10 nights. The location is pretty good - near some nice parks, away from any real traffic and noise, but equally quite far from anything else too. The Dom, the museums, the shops are a good 15mins walk away, but there is a small supermarket close by and the bus stop to Utrecht Centraal is very close at hand. Everybody there spoke English very well and were always friendly. I liked the room decor with cows, windmills and tulips too. If I have any gripes, they are all fairly minor - the bathroom was a bit grotty, the stairs were real killers if you had big cases and had just arrived after a long journey and during my stay, the weather was hot so my room became stifling, even with the window open. There is no aircon, fans or fridge of any type, so I found it uncomfortably hot and I'm used to baking hot weather in the Dordogne. I would've liked a bin too and perhaps some cornflakes of some description for breakfast. All said and done, I liked it and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DordogneAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

I actually used this quite a bit during 2004 as it was the cheapest hotel i could find without going into a hostel.
It's quite far out of town but the bus stop is nearby and the staff were usually quietly friendly and nicely mannered. I also liked the breakfast, not that I like Dutch breakfasts with their lunch-like cold ham and cold eggs, but there was more variety to it than the usual dry bread and one slice of ham you get elsewhere. I asked to be served my egg while it was still hot so i could eat it like a boiled egg and asked them to toast my bread a bit longer so i'd toast which they were happy to do. at least i can get a good breakfast there. the beds are typically too skinny as all dutch beds are. and the rooms small. but they're clean and they're only to sleep in. the stairs are too steep tho when carrying heavy loads. but i'd still use this hotel again as its the cheapest, you get a peaceful sleep, its clean, the staff are normally friendly altho some grumpy, and it's poss to get into town quick by bus. i love utrecht. so i'll be back. even tho its a little pricey for what you get. but even five stars hotels in holland are basic.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renegsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

I stayed here for one night only, and I think overall 85 euros per night was a rip off. The room was not small but had a strange shape, with two beds put together. Beds were not comfortable at all, and I felt like I would fall down from the bed each time I turned around. There were musquitoes as the hotel is right next to the canal. Furthermore, I would not recommend it to old folks at all, as there are funny steps all over the room, and the stairs were very steep. The positive sides were that wifi worked well, and it was included in the price, and the breakfast was simple but ok.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bahadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Utrecht hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Oorsprongpark for two nights this month, disappointing since the reviews I had read here were very good. Ok, it's a two star hotel, but still, a single room is 95€ per night! Hair in the bathroom, and also in the bed when I arrived, yuck!!! Size of the room was ok, and having free wifi is really nice, however in case you don't bring your laptop, please note that there is no phone in the room, so you won't be able to receive calls, but there's a payphone next to the entrance. Breakfast was good with different types of bread, ham, cheese, spreads, egg, yogurt, and drinks. Some of the staff were friendly, one didn't care and every time I needed something was watching tv and looked kind of annoyed upon being asked information...so I had to insist, and eventually got some answers.
Overall...apart from the hair incident it's ok, but too expensive I think.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radiolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Malie Hotel
#12 of 22 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastion Hotel Utrecht
#16 of 22 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Carlton President
#6 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oorsprongpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oorsprongpark

Property: Hotel Oorsprongpark
Address: F.C. Dondersstraat 12, 3572 JH Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oorsprongpark 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oorsprongpark is a two star bed & breakfast hotel in Utrecht and is within walking distance of Utrecht’s lively shopping and nightlife centre.Hotel Oorsprongpark has very attractive and affordable rooms and an extensive breakfast on offer for its guests.All our prices include breakfast, tourist tax and VAT.We are also ideally positioned if your destination is outside the town centre. Utrecht University (the ‘Uithof’), the ‘Jaarbeurs’ (Exhibition Centre) and the Beatrix Theatre are all very easily and quickly accessible by public transport. The (express) buses leave from just 50 meters from the hotel virtually every 5 minutes.With its 38 rooms, Hotel Oorsprongpark is the largest two star hotel in Utrecht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oorsprongpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oorsprongpark Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing