We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy, ok for several nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oorsprongpark
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cozy, ok for several nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

when going to Netherlands on business trip during the week, I decided to go to Utrecht - nice small town just 30 min by train from Amsterdam/Schiphol airport.
chose the hotel directly on the way to Utrecht by Internet - found it best for price/feedbacks ratio.
Nice small hotel, friendly portier - however if you come for 1 or 2 nights, it's quite far from city center (30 min walk). I like walking - but if you like sightseeing, 1 hour walk from and to hotel can be a little bit dissapointing,
Ideal if you want to have a short break in a park - it's just near it.
no negatives vs room - everything working, nice view, wi-fi without problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionya24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    36
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
22
21
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel, located in a pretty vibrant area has a great breakfast, beautiful river flowing behind the hotel and nice service.
The room I was in (7) was very very small, not so clean but had all the basic necessities.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabbycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
683 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

we visited hotel ouwi for 2 nights in june 2006 with my partner as most of amsterdam hotels were booked.Reachable by public transport or you can even walk to utrecht central station,it is quite a nice walk actually,will take you about 35 mins.Lots of stairs.Room was very narrow but still felt adequate,comfy beds and everything was clean.Breakfast was OK but basic and the eggs smelt a bit off. Very friendly and helpful staff.comfy bed and decent rates,i would definitely recommend this place to anyone,as long as you dont have mobility issues and dont expect luxury,this is a solid 2 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Was in Utrecht for business and decided to go for a cheaper option as a test (and to save my company some ££$$). After reading some reviews I settled on Oorsprongpark and I'm glad I did.

LIKED:
The hotel was *spotlessly* clean. Give your cleaners a pay rise, Oorsprongpark!
I didn't so much as see a speck of dirt on the floor in my room or *any* of the common areas of the hotel.

Basic but filling breakfast. Coffee from a machine - not so nice - but lots of warm bread and (best of all!) Chocolate Hagelslag! Go Dutch! Spread some butter on the toast, pour on the sprinkles and off you go.

My room was very small but sufficient for one person. The bed was nice and I liked that there was an extra pillow in the cupboard. Shower was great, and my room had a shelf toilet (BONUS!), which I haven't seen since I lived in Eastern Europe in a post-communist flat.

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT:
I arrived late (I had warned the hotel I would - make sure you do so!) and had to ring the front doorbell three times before a just woken-up chap let me in. I am glad they have the front door locked, but just be aware you may need to ring and ring.

The wifi in my room on the second floor was very weak and virtually not useable. To do some work, I went down to the common room where it was fine.

For the price and the facilities, this is definitely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmrzlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

This hotel is pretty well located between the trainstation and the university of Utrecht. The bus stop is close, but the hotel is quiet. The rooms are small and have no frills. Unfortunately, the rooms are a bit noisy, so you might hear your room neighbor talking on the phone. The rooms are equipped with a bed (pretty soft matress), small table, small closet and an old TV. Although I ordered shared bathroom, I did get my own. This might be common politics of the hotel. The breakfast is ok, but not superb. This might also be related to the lack of food culture in Holland.

Internet is available for free.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

I spent three nights in Utrecht, staying in the Oorsprongpark and quite liked it. Not for everyone, as it has very steep stairs to the rooms and no elevator, but it had everything I required: reliable wi-fi, a tv and ensuite bathroom.

It was a small room (I booked a single, as it was just myself), which is what I am used to in the Netherlands, and by no means the smallest I have staid in. My room faced the rear of the building and had a window and balcony (well, fire escape, actually) that overlooked a grassy park and waterway.

The hotel is in a quiet location, but easy and quick to reach by bus (which is a big plus, as I tend to get lost easily looking for Dutch addresses). The city center is an easy walk once you figure out the lay of the land, and I used public transport to get to many of the must-see attractions (Dom tower, etc)

Staff were helpful and professional, and the Euro-style breakfast is very good (cold meats, toasts, hard-boiled eggs and a good range of condiments and spreads). The dining area is pretty large, with nice tables to sit at while planning the day ahead.

The neighborhood is nice, with a park across the main road, a transit stop close by, a restaurant on the corner of the block that seems very popular (I couldn't get a table the night I tried to go, as it was packed) and a great snack stand a couple of doors down from the Oorsprongpark.

A pleasant coffeeshop called the Culture Boat is moored on a canal not far away, visitors can enjoy mellowing out while boats of sightseers and parties float by; and the whole thing is virtually in the shadow of an enormous, Gothic-looking prison which is apparently still in use. Atmospheric!

I recommend the Oorsprongpark, more for leisure travelers than business because of it distance from downtown. While it isn't the best price in the city, its reasonable, well-run and clean.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed there for a week on a business trip, mainly just dropping in to sleep. The overall feeling is like you'd be visiting somebody's home, starting from the steep curving stairs to the breakfast room. The location is quite ok, but not perfect: walking to city center is 20min or 5min by a bus leaving almost next to the hotel. The hotel has only breakfast opportunity, but there seemed to be a restaurant close by (though I didn't go there). The rooms are slightly odd shaped and small, but clean and cozy. Also, free WiFi was nice to have so it was possible to do some work also at the room. The biggest problem in the room was the bathroom: the showerhead had practically no adjustments and it sprayed all over the place.

All and all, the quality of the hotel was good for me, but the price seemed a bit high. Maybe something like 20-30% off and this would be a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjobec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Malie Hotel
#12 of 22 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastion Hotel Utrecht
#16 of 22 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Carlton President
#6 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oorsprongpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oorsprongpark

Property: Hotel Oorsprongpark
Address: F.C. Dondersstraat 12, 3572 JH Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oorsprongpark 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oorsprongpark is a two star bed & breakfast hotel in Utrecht and is within walking distance of Utrecht’s lively shopping and nightlife centre.Hotel Oorsprongpark has very attractive and affordable rooms and an extensive breakfast on offer for its guests.All our prices include breakfast, tourist tax and VAT.We are also ideally positioned if your destination is outside the town centre. Utrecht University (the ‘Uithof’), the ‘Jaarbeurs’ (Exhibition Centre) and the Beatrix Theatre are all very easily and quickly accessible by public transport. The (express) buses leave from just 50 meters from the hotel virtually every 5 minutes.With its 38 rooms, Hotel Oorsprongpark is the largest two star hotel in Utrecht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oorsprongpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oorsprongpark Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing