We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel B&B Utrecht City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel B&B Utrecht City Center
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Cute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This Hostel is so cute. When you are doing interrail it's the perfect spot. It's cheap and cute. Everything in the kitchen is free. So you can taste common tastes in Holland for free. Beds are comfortable and okay. The colours are warm in hostel atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    29
    14
    13
    56
See reviews for
1
8
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

First of all, I don't mind hostels. I stayed in a fair few ones all over the world, but this......? This almost left me speechless. The park right in front of it would be better value.
The room we were cooped in at was way to small for its 18 bunk beds - put in 10 and it's still overcrowded. There were no ladders for the upper beds, so prepair to be extra athletic. We didn't get any sheets for the beds at check in, so that was a bit disgusting - thu beds were covered in leather.
In the rooms were like 2 sockets, better don't have anything to recharge.
The bathroom was the 'best': That's what it has to be like in Guantanamo. A dark cold room, even with lights on it was still......dark. But maybe I didn't wanted to see anything more.
They offer breakfast. Food is in a fridge, everybody can help themselves. The only, really ONLY good thing about this hostel, was the apple pie they offered.

Do could have a cool little patio, thing is, when you look down (which you automatically will do...) you look into their waste, dirty sheets, wastewater, disgusting other things....

Avoid by any chance!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelOfIslington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Utrecht hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Ok, let's be honest. This is not the cleanest place in the world, but if you are easygoing it's worth a stay. I have stayed here a couple of times and will definitely come back if I go to Utrecht again. First of all, you meet wonderful people there (from guests to the social lovely owner). They have a great living room area, loads of computers with free internet, a really varied choice of good quality food, a kitchen where you can prepare your own meals 24/7 and last but not least: a music corner where you can just sit and play. I dropped by twice, started chatting with some guys and we played together for a while. At the end it was so fun that we didn't even go out any more.
My improvement tip concerns cleaningness of the bathrooms, but I understand it's quite logical that it's a bit messy if the building is full of backpackers needing to use the shared facilities.
Anyhow, give me this great experience, the chance of a social encounter and the sharp prices instead of a three star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biancaatje2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Good location,in the center of utrecht, friendly, helpfull staff, excellent atmosphere, like a party, i could play the grant piano during my stay,we made music with the other guests,also a magnificant breakfast with a lot of choice

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dederikddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

very good and nice place in the center of Utrecht,
fully furnished breckfast included really onest price,
there are some games outside in the court yard you can play without any charge
check out very confortable at 12.00 reallly suggested!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benturs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Unfriendly man checking us in. When we got to the rooms there werent even sheets left so you could tell it hadnt been cleaned. Shower/bathroom disgusting. No toilet roll or soap. Extremely dark and dingy. They had taken the ladders off the bunk beds in order to squeeze more in, making it very difficult to climb up to. The mattress and pillows have fake leather coverings so are very uncomfortable, especially as the room was ridiculously hot! We were told to leave the reception at 12am by another unfriendly man, so not the best place to socialise either. Oh, overpriced too. Only redeeming factors were the sugar puffs at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LudicrousCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

we stayed for a night, I would rather sleep in the park outside. It smelled awful when we went through the front door. the rooms were bare and dirty, we couldn't wait to leave. I have stayed in some awful places in my time and this may be the worst of them all. It is also very over priced for what it is. Stay somewhere else, anywhere else, just not here.

Room Tip: choose any room in a different hotel/hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Benjy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#7 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 21 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 21 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel B&B Utrecht City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel B&B Utrecht City Center

Property: Hostel B&B Utrecht City Center
Address: Lucas Bolwerk 4, 3512 EG Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel B&B Utrecht City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel B&B UTRECHT CITY CENTER is situated in the center of Utrecht. The hostel is for students, backpackers, groups, conference visitors and those who want to discover the city Utrecht, and for small and large groups. The rooms are simple and basic; on the first floor you have the reception, canteen, TV area, PCs and kitchen. All day the kitchen is open to prepare your meals - what is included in the price free breakfast, free lunch or self-made lunch bag and free dinner (we supply you cook*free coffee and tea, free juices, free internet, wifi and a lot of PCs. You can use the space is cosy and there is familiar atmosphere you feel relax. On the second third and ground floor you find different rooms simple basic rooms with own shower, toilet in the rooms on the ground and second floor; on the second third floor you find rooms where the showers are common. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel B&B Utrecht City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel b&b Utrecht City Hotel Utrecht
Hostel Bed And Breakfast Utrecht City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing