We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Mitland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mitland
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were here for a conference at the University, whilst the hotel is a little out of town, Utrecht is not that huge and the public transport links are good.

Decent rooms and restaurant. There had been a maintenance issue at the hotel before we arrived, but this was handled very professionally and didn't cause us any inconvenience.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    346
    80
    22
    8
See reviews for
123
240
42
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A group of us stayed there every year between 2005 and 2011. We were visiting an event which was moved to the outskirts of Amsterdam in 2012 (from Veemarkt, Utrecht). We decided that we'd return to the Mitland despite having to drive to Amsterdam from Utrecht as we've always had a positive experience at this hotel (unlike our stay in Amsterdam last year)

It's very clean, the lake views are beautiful, staff are friendly and the restaurant is excellent. The breakfast buffet is certainly more-than-adequate.

The hotel was originally recommended to us by a friend of ours from The Netherlands.

Back in 2005, there was a slight mix-up over the rooms - but we were upgraded to the large bridal suite which was a bonus. Nothing neg to say about the place at all apart from one minor gripe - you now have to pay to park your car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzdrummer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Jazzdrummer27,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review about your experiences with our hotel. We are flattered that you decided to stay at our hotel again, despite the travel distance from Utrecht to Amsterdam. We sincerely hope to welcome you again for many years to come.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven:Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our second trip back to Utrecht within the last couple of months; this time to remove my son and his worldly goods over to Utrecht University. We chose the Mitland as we had brought our car and the issue of it being seemingly remote from the town didn't therefore matter With hindsight though this is the first point I would want to address. The outer edges of this lovely town all look largely the same with a preponderance of new build commercial and domestic property. It is therefore rather difficult to get your bearings at any time or, more importantly, to be able to judge distance. The point I am trying to make however longwindedly is that the Mitland may seem far out of town but in reality is a very short bus or car ride and a moderate walk. So, this being said I can wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful hotel however you choose to travel. It is an oasis of peace set by a lake and surrounded by parkland yet is a half mile from the main Utrecht ring road. The rooms are fabulous, the staff are fabulous and the restaurant elegant yet reasonably priced. And you can spend many a happy hour sitting taking coffee by the lake watching the wildlife on or around the water. My wife and I loved the Mitland and whilst our next two trips are booked for a more central hotel we look forward to revisiting this fabulous hotel many times in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a lake facing room; it really is money well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear AlistairRobertson61,

Thank you for your extensive review about your stay at our hotel. We have read your experiences regarding our location, hotelrooms and our staff with pleasure. Perhaps there is a possibility to transfer your two bookings to our hotel? Please feel free to contact us or walk in to enjoy our restaurant while staying in Utrecht. We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Had a very pleasant night at the Mitland on our tour of Europe. It's a pretty place set on the banks of an old fort's moat - lots of greenery and animals to see from the bedroom window. It's a way out of Utrecht but ok to find with sat nav.
It's a big hotel and when we stayed there, it was quite full of business groups working on the lobby or doing 'team building' in the grounds! Amusing to watch them at it!
We had coffee on the pretty waterside terrace and were very impressed with the young man who served us, who was really helpful in finding a certain cinema and Indonesian restaurant my father wanted to visit. In fact all the staff were smiley and helpful.
The rooms were a little tired - bit very clean - and we were a long walk from the lobby, which was a little awkward with cases. The hotel is very large but as long as you have cases on wheels, it's not a problem.
As others have mentioned, the room has air conditioning but our unit was noisy which made it hard to sleep. The room was very warm when you turned it off!
Bathroom was very clean, a little dated but had a nice strong shower.
My father had free parking as he's registered disabled but otherwise parking is extra. Breakfast was very tasty but also an extra €14 so we dug in and set ourselves up for the day.
It was a lovely stay in pretty and peaceful surroundings, and only a couple of small niggles with the room detracted from a very good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I just left from this hotel after a 5 night business stay. It is located outside the main centre of Utrecht in a quieter, green area and seems to be a very big complex. It is about 5 minutes to walk to the bus stop or else you will need to take a taxi to get around town. We tried walking to and from the centre one evening and it was a very pleasant 40 minute walk into town (one way).
The hotel had a lot of facilities that I was unfortunately not able to use (gym, pool, bowling lanes, etc.) due to lack of time. Overall, clean hotel and very friendly service. Breakfast always had a good variety of food and it was included in the price of the room here. We ended up having three dinners at the restaurant as well. The food was the usual fare generic fare but it was good. Some consider it a little pricey when compared to what they are used to, but I found it to be ok, especially for hotel prices. The service in the restaurant was always very good and professional and always willingly took big groups of us at the last minute.
The only criticism would be some things with the room itself. They probably need an update in the decor. It is starting to look a little dated, although everything is in good working order. The air conditioner is so incredibly loud, I couldn't sleep and stopped using it and just slept with the window open instead (which was comfortable for this time of year).
In general though, I can recommend this place if you are looking to stay somewhere quiet but still accessible into town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

For once, I selected an Utrecht hotel outside the city center. Located at the outskirt of the city center, near an old fort site, close to the freeways, this hotel was a unexpected revelation. Its restaurant and terrace overlooking the old fort's moat, are excellent places to relax and enjoy. Clean room. Friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buntinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear W B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences during your stay in our hotel. How nice to read that your choice for a hotel outside the city center has been to your liking. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Utrecht.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 22 in Utrecht
593 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eye Hotel
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
146 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitland

Property: Hotel Mitland
Address: Arienslaan 1, 3573 PT Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Business Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mitland 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Utrecht near the city centre offers Hotel Mitland a wonderful view of the old De Bilt fortress. Enjoy our quiet location in a speldid park, our luxuriously furnished hotel rooms and our restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, fitness and bowlingcentre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mitland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitland Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing