We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair combination price and quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mitland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mitland
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fair combination price and quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for a weekend, the weather on November is not so nice to be able to sit outside in the hotel area, i assume it's very nice during spring and summer. Our 'lake view' room was big and light. Breakfast buffer was not so impressive, i missed some green salad or fruits. I'm not used to be called 2 times by reception to remind that i'm late to check out (we checked out 1 hour later), especially since it was a weekend and hotel was not overbooked. Spa area was quite small, or may be my German spa experience is very high in general. I think it's fair price when you stay for a weekend in this hotel, but don't expect something extraordinary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etecouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    297
    66
    20
    6
See reviews for
104
195
36
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is very modern and situated on the outskirts of Utrecht within easy reach of the motorway Eastern ring road. It allows access to Amersfoort as well. There is a ten minute walk to the buses into town which take 15 minutes. The hotel is difficult to find without satnav, especially at night. The interior is generous and very pleasant with a nice breakfast area overlooking a lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed in Mitland Hotel - just for one night, but the stay was very nice and all services provided were perfect.
We got a clean and nicely furnished room with a balcony, the bathroom was spacious and there was a bathtub as well as shower, the Internet worked perfectly.
The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice of fresh food, the coffee was also good.
This hotel has a spacious parking and it is free; it was also allowed to park our car there for the whole day even after we checked out. It was really comfortable, especially as we wanted to visit the downtown of Utrecht, and finding a spot to park the car in the city centre is always problematic, not to say expensive.
It takes around 5 minutes to go by bus to the city centre or 15 minutes to walk.
Unfortunately, we did not have enough time to try the hotel's spa facilities.

I highly recommend this hotel, great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Justina L,

Thank you for your extensive review about your stay in our hotel. Nice to read that you have enjoyed your room and our services. We would also like to thank you for recommending us. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon, so you can also try our spa facilities.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Was here on a business trip which I organised, very accomodating, arrived late night one and booked a taxi for 8.15am this following morning, only to discover it hadn't been booked so ended up not leaving the hotel until 8.45am which was a bit frustating, however the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you.

Breakfast was good, covered off all the basics, hot english, continential, great range of tea too.

Bedrooms, very comfortable, shower great, but would have been nice if they provided bath robe too.

Good placed for business trips, would recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were here for a conference at the University, whilst the hotel is a little out of town, Utrecht is not that huge and the public transport links are good.

Decent rooms and restaurant. There had been a maintenance issue at the hotel before we arrived, but this was handled very professionally and didn't cause us any inconvenience.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

A group of us stayed there every year between 2005 and 2011. We were visiting an event which was moved to the outskirts of Amsterdam in 2012 (from Veemarkt, Utrecht). We decided that we'd return to the Mitland despite having to drive to Amsterdam from Utrecht as we've always had a positive experience at this hotel (unlike our stay in Amsterdam last year)

It's very clean, the lake views are beautiful, staff are friendly and the restaurant is excellent. The breakfast buffet is certainly more-than-adequate.

The hotel was originally recommended to us by a friend of ours from The Netherlands.

Back in 2005, there was a slight mix-up over the rooms - but we were upgraded to the large bridal suite which was a bonus. Nothing neg to say about the place at all apart from one minor gripe - you now have to pay to park your car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzdrummer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Jazzdrummer27,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review about your experiences with our hotel. We are flattered that you decided to stay at our hotel again, despite the travel distance from Utrecht to Amsterdam. We sincerely hope to welcome you again for many years to come.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 22 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Carlton President
#6 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitland

Property: Hotel Mitland
Address: Arienslaan 1, 3573 PT Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Business Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mitland 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Utrecht near the city centre offers Hotel Mitland a wonderful view of the old De Bilt fortress. Enjoy our quiet location in a speldid park, our luxuriously furnished hotel rooms and our restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, fitness and bowlingcentre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mitland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitland Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing