We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Mitland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mitland
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A fantastic hotel.
The location is convenient, easily accessed from the ring road, town is a short bus ride or a brisk walk of 30 minutes or so.
We stayed in a Superior Room with fort view and even in winter its an interesting and peaceful view. Ducks are in the water and you can see sheep on the fort grounds. The room is very spacious, with a huge comfortable bed, tv with BBC1 & 2 if you want to watch something. The bathroom is very smart, with bath and separate shower. There is tea and coffee making and a pay mini bar. The décor is in very good condition.
Hotel guests can use the swimming pool, sauna and Turkish bath for free. Very nice after walking round town on a cold windy February day.
The restaurant is very good. We had both lunch and dinner and both meals we very good.
There is a bowling alley but we thought at €27 it was expensive. But we played an hour any way and it was good fun.
The friendly staff are very helpful. The car park is reasonably priced even with tax.

We would recommend this hotel when visiting Utrecht.

Room Tip: Superior Room with fort view, get a top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar8516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Oscar8516,

Thank you for writing this extensive review about your stay. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the facilities we offer for our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the near future when you are visiting Utrecht. We would like to thank you for recommending us.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

i was really impressed how helpful the staff are at this hotel. it was very clean. the cleaners were helpful with baby requirements. I was worried about not having enough baby milk etc but the staff were great and provided milk whenever required and heated it up. we had a family room which was more than adequate. It was very cold in Jan 14 and the room was nice and cosy.The facilities are great. We used the swimming pool and bowling alley. The bowling alley is a little expensive at 30 euros a game but it is convenient. The food at the hotel was very tasty. we had breakfast and lunch. Great hotel!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pritty p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear pritty p,

Thank you for writing this review about your stay at our hotel. Nice to read that the whole family enjoyed our hotel and services. We have passed on your compliments to our staff. We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Ihave been staying here three times on business/conference trips to visit a nearby research institute and was never disappointed. Friendly staff and the rooms, food and service are all good price for value.
The place is easy to reach by car, and there are buses from Utrecht Central station. Taking the bus will require a short (ca.500 m) walk from the bus station, and the pedestrian route is not well indicated.
Those who have business in the city centre, however, should therefore perhaps consider booking somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stdf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear stdf62,

Thank you for your time to write about your stay at our hotel. Nice to read that you appreciate our services and our convenient location for your trips in particular. We hope to welcome you again when staying in Utrecht.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I was at the hotel to be a speaker at a Conference. My first trip to Utrecht, and this hotel has a wonderful location. As you can see from the pictures, it is situated on a large property with the feeling of being in the country. But the hotel is close to all city amenities. The room was spacious, decorated very nicely, and the bath was very modern and spacious with both a shower and a bath. The hotel service was excellent, and the food in the restaurant was also top quality. While I was here on business, I would recommend the hotel as a vacation spot.also

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ra4fda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear ra4fda,

Thank you for your review and your uploaded pictures of our hotel. We are pleased to read that you loved our location, our restaurant and your hotelroom. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for a weekend, the weather on November is not so nice to be able to sit outside in the hotel area, i assume it's very nice during spring and summer. Our 'lake view' room was big and light. Breakfast buffer was not so impressive, i missed some green salad or fruits. I'm not used to be called 2 times by reception to remind that i'm late to check out (we checked out 1 hour later), especially since it was a weekend and hotel was not overbooked. Spa area was quite small, or may be my German spa experience is very high in general. I think it's fair price when you stay for a weekend in this hotel, but don't expect something extraordinary.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etecouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is very modern and situated on the outskirts of Utrecht within easy reach of the motorway Eastern ring road. It allows access to Amersfoort as well. There is a ten minute walk to the buses into town which take 15 minutes. The hotel is difficult to find without satnav, especially at night. The interior is generous and very pleasant with a nice breakfast area overlooking a lake.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed in Mitland Hotel - just for one night, but the stay was very nice and all services provided were perfect.
We got a clean and nicely furnished room with a balcony, the bathroom was spacious and there was a bathtub as well as shower, the Internet worked perfectly.
The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice of fresh food, the coffee was also good.
This hotel has a spacious parking and it is free; it was also allowed to park our car there for the whole day even after we checked out. It was really comfortable, especially as we wanted to visit the downtown of Utrecht, and finding a spot to park the car in the city centre is always problematic, not to say expensive.
It takes around 5 minutes to go by bus to the city centre or 15 minutes to walk.
Unfortunately, we did not have enough time to try the hotel's spa facilities.

I highly recommend this hotel, great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Justina L,

Thank you for your extensive review about your stay in our hotel. Nice to read that you have enjoyed your room and our services. We would also like to thank you for recommending us. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon, so you can also try our spa facilities.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
1.8 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#6 of 23 in Utrecht
774 reviews
1 mi away
Eye Hotel
Eye Hotel
#2 of 23 in Utrecht
288 reviews
4.8 mi away
Carlton President
Carlton President
#9 of 23 in Utrecht
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
0.4 mi away
Malie Hotel
Malie Hotel
#11 of 23 in Utrecht
160 reviews
3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitland

Address: Arienslaan 1, 3573 PT Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Business Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range: £77 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mitland 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitland is situated on the outskirts of Utrecht at a five minutes' drive from the city centre and the Utrecht Industries Fair buildings. Hotel Mitland Hotel has 146 luxuriously furnished hotel rooms and is situated in a splendid park that offers a wonderful view of the old 'De Bilt fortress'. The setting and architecture of the hotel make you feel as if you’re in the middle of the countryside. You can enjoy an extensive lunch or dinner at the beautiful restaurant situated on the waters of ‘Fort de Bilt’. The attractive brasserie is perfect for a simple or quick bite. In the field of relaxation offers the hotel numerous possibilities: bowling, swimming, cycling, jogging or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mitland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitland Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing