We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely best hotel around Utrecht”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mitland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mitland
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definitely best hotel around Utrecht”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel with our 7 months old daughter and I can say that it is pretty difficult to remember a more pleasant hotel than Mitland. Outside area of the hotel looks like a national park, inside is great peace of designer work with fire place and amazing restaurant with a view to a canal. We stayed at room 207 which benefited us due to easy access to the car park and of course the swimming pool. Gym and Swimming area was always very clean and well maintained. Parking at the hotel is very secure. Food in the restaurant in very good quality. Staff in the reception and in the restaurant were extremely helpful and willing to help. Price is cheap compared to other hotel around. We will come back this summer as we didn't have a chance to play bowling yet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Man G,

Thank you for this flattering review about your stay at our hotel. With your kind words about our facilities, location and hospitality we are very pleased to read that you are already planning to visit us again this summer. Please feel free to ask our staff for special combinations with bowling when making a reservation. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    297
    66
    20
    6
See reviews for
104
195
36
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
458 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel Mitland makes you feel welcome. Personel is helpfull and polite. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is a buffet and a la carte for all meals. With a bike from the hotel the beautifull city of Utrecht is nearby! Try the pool or the sauna and relax! Very good for seminars and meetings.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk-Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear jjonkers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with our hotel on TripAdvisor. Nice to read that you enjoyed our location, the hotelroom and our facilities. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and feel free to stay with us again when visiting Utrecht.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

A fantastic hotel.
The location is convenient, easily accessed from the ring road, town is a short bus ride or a brisk walk of 30 minutes or so.
We stayed in a Superior Room with fort view and even in winter its an interesting and peaceful view. Ducks are in the water and you can see sheep on the fort grounds. The room is very spacious, with a huge comfortable bed, tv with BBC1 & 2 if you want to watch something. The bathroom is very smart, with bath and separate shower. There is tea and coffee making and a pay mini bar. The décor is in very good condition.
Hotel guests can use the swimming pool, sauna and Turkish bath for free. Very nice after walking round town on a cold windy February day.
The restaurant is very good. We had both lunch and dinner and both meals we very good.
There is a bowling alley but we thought at €27 it was expensive. But we played an hour any way and it was good fun.
The friendly staff are very helpful. The car park is reasonably priced even with tax.

We would recommend this hotel when visiting Utrecht.

Room Tip: Superior Room with fort view, get a top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar8516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Oscar8516,

Thank you for writing this extensive review about your stay. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the facilities we offer for our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the near future when you are visiting Utrecht. We would like to thank you for recommending us.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

i was really impressed how helpful the staff are at this hotel. it was very clean. the cleaners were helpful with baby requirements. I was worried about not having enough baby milk etc but the staff were great and provided milk whenever required and heated it up. we had a family room which was more than adequate. It was very cold in Jan 14 and the room was nice and cosy.The facilities are great. We used the swimming pool and bowling alley. The bowling alley is a little expensive at 30 euros a game but it is convenient. The food at the hotel was very tasty. we had breakfast and lunch. Great hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pritty p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear pritty p,

Thank you for writing this review about your stay at our hotel. Nice to read that the whole family enjoyed our hotel and services. We have passed on your compliments to our staff. We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Ihave been staying here three times on business/conference trips to visit a nearby research institute and was never disappointed. Friendly staff and the rooms, food and service are all good price for value.
The place is easy to reach by car, and there are buses from Utrecht Central station. Taking the bus will require a short (ca.500 m) walk from the bus station, and the pedestrian route is not well indicated.
Those who have business in the city centre, however, should therefore perhaps consider booking somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stdf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear stdf62,

Thank you for your time to write about your stay at our hotel. Nice to read that you appreciate our services and our convenient location for your trips in particular. We hope to welcome you again when staying in Utrecht.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I was at the hotel to be a speaker at a Conference. My first trip to Utrecht, and this hotel has a wonderful location. As you can see from the pictures, it is situated on a large property with the feeling of being in the country. But the hotel is close to all city amenities. The room was spacious, decorated very nicely, and the bath was very modern and spacious with both a shower and a bath. The hotel service was excellent, and the food in the restaurant was also top quality. While I was here on business, I would recommend the hotel as a vacation spot.also

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear ra4fda,

Thank you for your review and your uploaded pictures of our hotel. We are pleased to read that you loved our location, our restaurant and your hotelroom. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for a weekend, the weather on November is not so nice to be able to sit outside in the hotel area, i assume it's very nice during spring and summer. Our 'lake view' room was big and light. Breakfast buffer was not so impressive, i missed some green salad or fruits. I'm not used to be called 2 times by reception to remind that i'm late to check out (we checked out 1 hour later), especially since it was a weekend and hotel was not overbooked. Spa area was quite small, or may be my German spa experience is very high in general. I think it's fair price when you stay for a weekend in this hotel, but don't expect something extraordinary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etecouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Park Plaza Utrecht
#11 of 22 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Carlton President
#6 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitland

Property: Hotel Mitland
Address: Arienslaan 1, 3573 PT Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Business Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mitland 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Utrecht near the city centre offers Hotel Mitland a wonderful view of the old De Bilt fortress. Enjoy our quiet location in a speldid park, our luxuriously furnished hotel rooms and our restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, fitness and bowlingcentre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mitland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitland Hotel Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing