We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, especially when you're into regional, organic and vegetarian”

De Keuken van Gastmaal
Ranked #50 of 586 Restaurants in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, especially when you're into regional, organic and vegetarian”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great restaurant in the heart of Utrecht. Superb, friendly and professional service. Delicious food. Great wineselection. De Keuken van Gastmaal (meaning: the Kitchen of Gastmaal) has a small, compact menu (which still offers you a lot!) that specializes in organic, vegetarian food and the use of regional and seasonal ingredients. Off course they serve fish and meat as well, by wich they do a great job also! Great quality but somewhat expensive though. (Try to get a table near the window overlooking the Biltstraat or one close to the open kitchen to watch your dinner being cooked!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tijs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a relatively new place on Biltstraat Avenue. After the success of Gastmaal Aan De Tafel, traiteur and caterer, this restaurant opened with the highest quality in mind .. and in the kitchen. To add to this, the service and staff are smart, fast, friendly and correct, creating the perfect experience near Utrecht-city-center.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigFurryMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We have found a diamond in Utrecht: excellent food, attentive service, warm atmosphere and optimum quality - price. We strongly recommend it. We will repeat!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaRoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had dinner here yesterday night. The starter was very good: pasta with nuts, mushrooms, etc. The main was also quite good, but a bit less interesting. The chocolate cake at the end was delicious. The dishes all came with nice wines (which were slightly expensive, to my taste). Friendly, efficient, service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohanJeuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dielheim
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“tolles Essen !”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were there with friends: very nice diner, good wine, and the waiter was really friendly.
we could choose our table when we reserved (recommended), and the formula for the menu is quite interesting.
I had Langoustine as a starter, then a cote de boeuf with fresh veggies, and a dessert (pain perdu).
You see the owner cooking in his kitchen which is opened on the restaurant main room and you are sure to eat fresh cooking.

a good restaurant to recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golfyDielheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Keuken van Gastmaal also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to De Keuken van Gastmaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing