We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to have cocktails”
Review of Zussen

Zussen
Reserve with
Zussen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #414 of 595 Restaurants in Utrecht
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A place to have cocktails”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I've been in Zussen several times, and what I can say for sure is that the cocktails are very well made and the price for cocktails is fair. However if you want to get a glass of wine or snack to bite, this is not the best place to go in Utrecht. The quality is rather low and the service is poor.

They have time to time live elect music and the ambient is young and nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashkan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    37
    19
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok lunch but far from being my first choice”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The staff was not attentive at all. The place is a bit disco-like, which is weird for lunch. The location is good. Food was ok but nothing special but there was a bit more choice than some other places. We asked for dark bread and we got white bread...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My sister who lives in The Netherlands took me here as we are also "Sisters" as the name "Zussen" says and I loved the fact it was next door to a restaurant called "Brothers". Apparently they are related.
The service was pleasant and fairly fast. It was lunch time and there seemed to be many people in the restaurant.
I had a ceasar salad with mint tea and my sister had croquettes with coffee. The salad was quite large and very tasty. My sister also loved her croquettes.
The interior decor is very interesting and worth a look. You can also sit outside but we found it charming to be inside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not for eating”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I went with my family for lunch so I cannot comment on the cocktail options. We found the service really poor. They also made a mistake with our order and then twice with the bill! The food was suprisingly small (sandwiches) with limited choice. All in all not a place for eating. The shakes were good so maybe it is a better place for drinking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a_cheese_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Trendy interior - decent lunch...”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here for a bite to eat during a tourist wander. The darkish interior is pretty impressive (purple bathrooms and giant lampshade anyone?!) and gives the impression of a trendy cocktail bar. It seems however Zussen is moreso a lunch venue, we had a club sandwich was was really quite tasty. Nice selection of beers and good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wander_Wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zussen also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Zussen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing